Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Valley View High School 4

Posted October 30, 2012
- a parent
My children attend Valley View schools. One is in high school. They have wonderful teachers, there is probably none better than Mr. Andrews. Academic opportunities are available with dual credit being a wonderful option. However the administration, IE the principal leaves much to be desired. Instead of providing an encouraging atmosphere, he does just the opposite. He seems to be focused on making up his own rules without school board approval and enforcing them as he wishes to torment the students. He has seem to forgotten there is a school handbook in force that provides guidelines not only for the students but the administration. As such the students from day to day do not know what the rules are. The school board is either unaware or does not care. The high school will not be able to move forward or thrive until the principal is removed.

Valley View High School 5

Posted February 14, 2012
- a community member
I graduated from here and it is a great school. There was a few teachers that relied a little more on the book than lectures, but regardless of that if you wanted to learn you would. Valley View has a great athletics dpt and the administration was great. I took some college courses for free with the dual enrollment program and had a lot of spanish college credits because of the opportunities that Valley View provided.


Valley View High School 1

Posted November 13, 2008
- a student
This school has bad food, bullys, and almost all the students are harsh. But the teachers are willing to help... well almost all of them but a few

Valley View High School 5

Posted April 21, 2006
- a administrator
Valley View High School offers a student opportunities to excel academically. Dual credit courses allow those who are college bound to obtain college credit before graduation. It is a rigorous school academically.

Valley View High School 3

Posted October 20, 2005
- a parent
So many of the best teachers are now gone. It hurts to see what used to be a good school just a place people end up when they can't find a job anywhere else. The administration is terrible. Definite lack of leadership here.


Valley View High School 2

Posted September 27, 2005
- a former student
The teachers don't care about what the students learn. They hand the students a worksheet and tell them to do it...they don't teach. They also show favorites. The availability of extra curricular activities is minimal. The school is focused on football and basketball. I was part of the drill team (when it was good), and we were invited to perform at many places across the United States and we were not allowed because the school thought it was unfair to the other teams because they never got the chance to go anywhere. We earned the right and they shot us down. I would have to say that the level of parent involvement is mediocre. If the parents wish to be involved they can be.

Valley View High School 4

Posted May 27, 2005
- a student
The UIL programs are good, but since our councilor is chnaging schools this year I'm not sure how next year will be. The sports are pretty good! The main focus tho is track and football, after all it is Texas...The parent involvment is excellent. All the parents are willing to be involved with raising money and helping out the booster club. Overall its a pretty nice school.

Valley View High School 3

Posted July 21, 2004
- a staff
The previous reviewer does not know what he/she is talking about. Turnover has been due to financial woes within the district and mirrors what is happening in numerous other districts of Valley View's size. There are good teachers in Valley View, and positive changes are being made. Lack of parental support is evident, and so this would be a positive change. More parents should support school policy and procedure rather than fight it every chance they get. Not all parents fall into this category, but it is a significant problem within the district.


Valley View High School 2

Posted July 12, 2004
- a parent
Inconsistant in dicipline very high drop out rate. My child is constantly bored due to the lack of extracurricular activities. Instead of improving the school they have kept teachers who are just their to retire and get rid of young and energetic teachers that the students respect and listen to what they have to say. They had an award winning dance team and got rid of the drill team director and the whole team fell apart. My daughter was apart of this team and it was the best thing that ever happen to her. She became repectvul and her grades improved 3 fold, now I'm afraid she will begin to get into trouble again because the only thing she cared about this sorry school got rid of because of jealousy, it was the only good program left in the school. I would move out of the district if I could.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Valley View High School
106 Newton, Valley View, TX  76272
(940) 726-3522
Last modified Valley View High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Valley View High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top