Advertisement
Advertisement

Nazareth Academy Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 300 students

Our school is best known for graduating students prepared to learn and serve.

 
 

Living in Victoria

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $93,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 15, 2013

Our daughter has attended Nazareth Academy for 4 years and we couldn't be more pleased with the quality of education she is receiving, as well as the positive environment in which she is learning. The faculty have been attentive and caring and have communicated with us regularly about our child's progress. We could not imagine sending her anywhere else. Go Jets!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2013

Nazareth Academy not only focuses on quality education but also builds on traditions, values, and providing service to others. The teachers and administration go above and beyond. They care for each student as if they are part of one big family. Great school. Great teachers. Great place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

We are a new family at Nazareth Academy and are very pleased with the school. What a fantastic facility!!! Our children are challenged by the curriculum and have many choices for athletics and extracurricular activities. The teachers and staff are friendly and professional. The principal, Sister Evelyn is outstanding! We would highly recommend Nazareth Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2010

If you do not share catholic politics (abortion is a sin, sex education is bad, women cannot lead the church or community) then this school is not for you. The class size is huge -- an astonishment since the tuition is high and comparable to big city catholic schools. The teachers absolutely rely on a parent volunteer to maintain order. Some parents are better at this than others and the fate of your kid's learning experience depends on this random variable. The school is next to the county jail -- I worried about this every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

We have two children attending Nazareth Academy and have been very pleased with the scholastic and religious education they have received. The faculty and staff are very committed to the success of the students. The principal is very caring and devoted to the students and also very approachable and communicates well with the parents. We are very confident that Nazareth Academy is giving our children a strong spiritual and academic foundation that they will need to succeed in the future. Jets for Jesus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2008

Our daughter attends Nazareth Academy and is in her last year of Jr. High. She has met great success academically, for which we atribute to Nazareth Academy teachers raising the bar and exceeding academic standards in their curriculum. Most importantly, we have watched our daughter grow spiritually, and become a steward of service to others. Nazareth Academy has prepared our daughter for her future. Her love of learning is exceptional, and her educational foundation is rock solid. Our daughter loves Nazareth Academy, and will be a life long 'Jet for Jesus.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

My children have attended Nazareth Academy and its preschool for seven years. We have had a wonderful experience. We have seen our children grow academically and spiritually. The teachers and administration have both shown a personal interest in our children. Although academics are very important and the students excel (Last year students placed at the state level in academic competitions, and every year multiple students qualify to take the SAT through Duke University.), the real strength of the school is in how they live out their mission statement: To teach, to build, to serve in the spirit of Christ. We make financial sacrifices for our children to attend, but feel as though it is money well spent to prepare them in all ways for the future. We're proud to be Jets for Jesus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2007

Great education with an emphasis on kindness and Christian values. I'm pleased to be part of the NA family. The money is a great investment for our children
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 37%
Hispanic 28% 47%
Black 3% 14%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Sister Evelyn Korenek
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (361) 573-1829

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Victoria
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. Joseph High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

206 W Convent St
Victoria, TX 77901
Website: Click here
Phone: (361) 573-6651

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT