Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Nazareth Academy Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 300 students

Our school is best known for graduating students prepared to learn and serve.

 
 

Living in Victoria

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $93,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 23 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

Nazareth Academy continues to give my son a nurturing, Christian environment. Most of all, they have encouraged my son while teaching him self-discipline and respect. I must stress that they are positive and have built up my son and his confidence. The teachers and staff are positive and exceptional to our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

The best Private Catholic School around! I wouldn't choose any other school for my child. The teachers care about the kids. It is nice to be apart of a school that is so close knit and willing to help at anytime!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Nazareth Academy is a wonderful Christian environment where a child can learn and thrive! In the short year that our daughter has attended, it has been the most amazing journey. She was having trouble as young 4k'er and the teachers recognized immediately that she needed additional help and suggested she go to a program during a portion of her class time to get individualized attention, since then she has excelled and is ready for Kindergarten! She is excited about school and loves to show us all that she is learning. The staff makes sure to greet you when you enter the building and the parents of other students are equally friendly and welcoming. The overall atmosphere is welcoming and allows you to feel a sense of calm as you leave your child in their care for the day. The leadership at Nazareth is second to none, the administrative staff is kind with just the right amount of authority to help our young people grow into respectable adults. My husband and I believe this is the right place for our family and we are thankful every day to be a part of the Nazareth Academy Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

GREAT school coupled with a GREAT staff! My child is fortunate to be a Jet for Jesus. He loves NA and has a family he can call his own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

My school is great in academic performance and providing the needs for our students! Needs improvement in one-to-one relationships. New teachers come in and aren't aware of the personal relations that the students have with the "faithful" teachers and they don't develop the one-to-one relationship which is greatly needed in order for all to be successful! Preparing for High School is a plus but a bit too much with the new teachers! Students are definitely well informed and knowledgeable in every subject; A+ rating!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

I feel it's only right to say my child has totally bloomed this year in his pre-k class & he loves his teacher. I'd recommend this school and it's staff. They give me a feeling of peace & security being this is my sons first year in school. Thank you Nazareth Academy !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Nazareth Academy is a wonderful school! My child has gone there for 4 yrs and I've enjoyed working with the staff in developing my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Great school where classmates know each other and each others parents. Also parents know classmates parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Nazareth has been a tradition in both my husband and my family. We have been very pleased with the education that our children have received and will continue to send our children to this excellent school where God is always present!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

BEST Catholic school in Victoria, TX! NA is strong in curriculum with religion being a vital role across academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

Fabulous school with great teachers. I have been more than impressed with the advancement of my son's academics. Teachers keep him on task. My son looks forward to school in the mornings :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

I believe Nazareth Academy is a great school. My child went there and learned so much. Not only did she learn academics, she learned to be compassionate and loving. She also gained lifetime friends. I like the way the school gets the parents involved and keeps them posted on how the children are doing in school. Nazareth Academy prepared my child to enter into High School with confidence and the ability to succeed in all of her studies. Thanks Nazareth!


Posted April 23, 2014

I value the curriculum and religious education my children get at NA. The standards of learning and expectations are high when compared to that of public school. The teachers truly care for their students and take the time needed to help them. Christian values are truly implemented at NA. The respect and morals my children are learning there go hand in hand in what I'm teaching them at home. NA also offers extra curricular activities such as choir and sports. I feel NA is a safe and loving environment for my children to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

We can't imagine our child going anywhere else but Nazareth Academy! Not only do they provide the top classes available but they also teach morals and acceptable behavior to help students grow to be an upstanding and productive member of society. It is a more intimate environment where students and parents feel welcome and truly cared for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

Nazareth Academy is a great school! My son has been there for 2 years now and we just finished enrollment for next year. My brother and myself also attended school there when we were younger. The teachers are great the atmosphere is great! They teach the students manners, religion also offer mass every week. Even when I was younger kids that were not catholic attended the school because their parents loved the education and environment the school offered. I would definitely recommend the school to anyone thinking about it. I would do whatever I could just to send my children there so they can have the best education and mentors in town!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

Nazareth Academy, under the direction of Sr. Evelyn Korenek is set to soar to even greater heights. My child is challenged academically, guided morally, and fostered spiritually. I challenge other Nazareth parents to become involved and donate their time as often as they can; this is the only area that I think we need improvement in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

Our experience with Nazareth Academy has been wonderful. My son has thrived in this close knit environment. The teachers and staff are caring individuals. It is a school that makes you WANT to be involved as a parent. The weekly mass is a shining example of the students good behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

Nazareth Academy is an outstanding school! Our daughter is finishing her second year at NA and we couldn't be happier with the school. We love the teachers and the administration. We believe that our child is receiving the best education in town. She attends Mass and religion class regularly and is encouraged to learn about, pray to and thank God for everything. I strongly recommend this school for any child PK3 - 8th grade! Go Jets for Jesus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

Former Student I attended Nazareth Academy from pre-k up until the eighth grade. It was probably one of the best decisions my parents could have made for me. I decided to attend a public high school (which I'm sure terrified my parents), but all went well. With the academic background I received from NA, along with the morals and discipline that was drilled into me.. I breezed through high school, graduated from college, and now have great job as a nurse! I do not have children of my own yet, but when the time comes, I will definitely not have to think twice about sending them to Nazareth Academy!!


Posted April 22, 2014

Nazareth Academy is one of the best schools in Victoria, Texas. The teaching is top notch, expectations are high and students there thrive!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 31%
Hispanic 27% 51%
Two or more races 17% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Sister Evelyn Korenek
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (361) 573-1829

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Victoria
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. Joseph High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

206 W Convent St
Victoria, TX 77901
Website: Click here
Phone: (361) 573-6651

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Smith El
Victoria, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT