Advertisement
Advertisement

Texas Christian Academy

Private | K-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Waco

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $97,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2014

TCA is a great school with a high education. The school has top rated teachers and faculty.It has a very safe environment with one on one learning.


Posted July 6, 2011

Registrar refused to mail me an admissions packet :( I told them we just moved and printer is packed away and busy unpacking to make it to SUMMER office hrs with a 45 min drive one way to get there. I contacted other christian schools in area and they said they'd have no problem mailing me a packet. I'm picky as to where my kids go to school so if this Christian school can't even work with a prospective students parent how do they act if they are enrolled and you've paid their fees and tuition.?! Sorry, but very disappointed and not a good first impression, so looking elsewhere to send my kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

This school is on a downward spiral and has been for years. We know many families who have sent their children there in the past, paid a lot of money to send them, and they've been pleased. Now they are sending their kids to other schools because all the great teachers who were there for years have left. Classes are being combined because the number of students going there has gone down so much. Parents of kids who go there tell us there is way too much fundraising. They are not very organized and don't communicate very well. We wanted to send our child because of the smaller class sizes, but have decided against it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2011

My sister and I have been at this school for 3 years. The teachers are nice and helpful in everything. Almost everyone is really nice (there's always those bad eggs). There aren't as many academic opportunities as other schools, but socially, it's the best.


Posted March 14, 2009

I <3 TCA here it is soo friendly and nice and i like it here cause everything is great the teacheres are awsome and they really care about the students here and i love how we have chapel once a week and how we have latin and drama and spanish and art and chior and orcastra i just love it! I dont want to go any were else ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2005

I love TCA. My children love TCA. Academics are rigorous. Vocal music and orchestra program are great. TCA sports are the best in Central Texas. I cannot say enough good things about this school. We have been a part of TCA since it began in 2000 and would not have our children any where else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2004

We currently have 3 sons at TCA, and one son graduated last year and is now at Mary-Hardin Baylor. We are very impressed with the level of education; each year it gets better. We are pleased that Latin and logic are available, as well as honors classes and dual credit courses. The athletic program is outstanding, with wonderful, encouraging coaches and we usually have winning seasons in most sports. Most impressive, however, is the commitment of each teacher and coach to impart Christian values to the kids. This is not a Christian school in name only, as some Christian schools are. The opportunity to live out their faith is definitely available. My children have absolutely flourished here. I also appreciate that this is not a 'rich kids only' private school; financial aid is available to all who qualify.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (254) 772-4485
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4600 Sanger Avenue
Waco, TX 76710
Phone: (254) 772-5474

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT