Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gholson School 2

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
Does nothing to stop bullying other than encouraging others to ignore and isolate a bullied child. My child comes home every day in tears, talking with the school is useless. We will be seeking a more encouraging learning environment before our straight A student receives anymore necessary neglect from peers and staff.

Gholson School 5

Posted July 09, 2005
- a parent
Great teachers always an opportunity for parent involvement


Gholson School 5

Posted April 24, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Gholson School 5

Posted April 21, 2004
- a parent
My children came to Gholson from a neighboring district. The teachers and administrators at Gholson truly care about the students and are responsive to parents. I am very pleased with the academics and the safety of the school. The school is much more caring than others we have been in and we are lucky to be here.

Gholson School 5

Posted April 21, 2004
- a parent
Gholson ISD approaches each learning style and behavior situation with the highest degree of professionalism and consistency we have experienced as a family with young children. The staff always continues to work with a situation until the most appropriate resolution is achieved. Gholson continues to be rated either Exemplary or Recognized (the two top ratings from Texas Education Agency), demonstrating the degree of excellence placed on learning at our school. Strict discipline procedures are closely and immediately followed in every situation. We know this to be true because our children have been both reprimanded when appropriate, and given assistance with peer problems when needed. The individual education and nuturing our children receive at Gholson will keep us in this community for many years to come.


Gholson School 1

Posted November 06, 2003
- a parent
We put our children in a private school years ago. They were not receiving a quality education at Gholson. A lot of school offer Spanish in the lower grades but not Gholson. Kids are allowed to bully other kids with no fear of punishment.The school should have been merged with another one years ago for the sake of the children.

Gholson School 1

Posted October 14, 2003
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Gholson School 1

Posted October 14, 2003
- a parent
We also were very disappointed in the Gholson School System and moved the first chance we got. We also would never would have left our home town for Gholson if we had been made aware, ahead of time, of how poor of a school Gholson is.


Gholson School 2

Posted October 13, 2003
- a community member
My daughter recently pulled her child out of the Gholson school and is going to homeschool her. They moved to Gholson when we did and if we had known about the school we would not have moved here. They do not enforce any discipline and do not practice zero tolerance. It does no good to speak to anyone in charge as we have tried.The children are also behind in learning as compared with other schools. It's a great school if you don't want your child to learn or get respect.

Gholson School 5

Posted August 26, 2003
- a former student
The values and dedication at Gholson school are unlike any other.The staff and support staff really care about the children and take time to help each day any way they can.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gholson School
137 Hamilton Drive, Waco, TX  76705
(254) 829-1528
Last modified Gholson School is a Public school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gholson School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top