Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


University High School 1

Posted January 30, 2012
- a community member
I think i agree with some of the comments in the top. This school focuses more in graduating students than teching them. I think is oe of the worst schools in the districts of Waco, the education levels are really low and most of the students barely graduate. The couselors dont even help people and some of the teachers dont even care about their students. If you are moving to waco wih kids try to move to the west side of waco (woodway and hewitt) to the Midway school district Its the #1 district in Waco. If people tell you its expensive it is a lie you can always find something pretty and affordable. Think about the future of your kids.

University High School 5

Posted May 13, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


University High School 1

Posted January 21, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

University High School 4

Posted March 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

University High School 1

Posted February 26, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


University High School 0
no rating

Posted May 27, 2008
- a student
Unless you take athens classes you are pretty much out of luck in the learning department, and even still when you do take those Athens and AP classes you are still well behind other schools in TEXAS, and that is in comparison to other schools regular Academic classes. I felt like a genius when I came to University from another school in Plano, I was so far ahead I ended up tutoring a lot of the failing Juniors and Seniors (I WAS A SOPHOMORE)! I went from working hard for a grade in an Academic class, to not even trying for all A's in AP classes....Sorry to say this but WACOISD needs to step the game up!

University High School 2

Posted May 29, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

University High School 4

Posted April 08, 2006
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


University High School 2

Posted June 14, 2005
- a student
At university High there are many opportunities for extracurricular activities, but not enough focus on preparing students for higher education. The level of education is very low compared to other school districts. University focuses way too much on getting the student graduated rather than teaching the student. There is some parent involvement, but not enough.

University High School 4

Posted April 01, 2005
- a parent
Both my daughters had always been in Catholic School, so I was a bit apprehensive about my youngest daughter attending public school her freshman year. The faculty and staff at University High School have been great to my daughter. They welcomed her with open arms. I have always been able to contact her instructors by email and have always gotten a response. She has had the opportunity to take dual credit classes, advanced placement classes and athens classes. She has done very well and has made some great friends. She enjoys the pride the school takes in the its accomplishments. Mr. Correa, the principal has been a great asset to the school. He takes great pride in the school and students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

University High School
3201 South New Road, Waco, TX  76706
(254) 756-1843
Last modified University High School is a Public school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
University High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top