Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Vanguard College Preparatory School

Private | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Waco

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $97,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2012

Vanguard is a wonderful school. As the parent of a student on a needs-based scholarship, I can promise you that my son has never been made to feel like he is not as important as his peers; rather, teachers, coaches and admin go out of their way to help all of their students. My son is in the 7th grade, and the essays that he wrote this year on The Odyssey and The Lost Books of the Odyssey were creative, interesting and analytical (in the 7th grade!), and the work that he did on To Kill a Mockingbird was equally thoughtful. If you are interested in Latin, this is the school for you, too - the 12-grade Latin class translates The Aeneid and they are planning to offer AP Latin soon. Vanguard has more National Merit Finalists than any other central Texas school and the AP pass rate is phenomenal. There are also lots of wonderful traditions - the mud pit during field day, the Senior Haunted House, spring trips to Italy - the list goes on. If you are interested in this school, you are warmly encouraged to visit. I recommend that you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

Both my kids graduated from this school. They not only loved it, but they got great preparation for college. My daughter received a generous four year merit scholarship and my son had scholarship offers, but elected to go to his first choice (that didn't offer one). Each of them felt very well prepared in the college classroom and really appreciatede Vanguard when they saw the other kids struggling. I don't know where all the back-stabbing comments come from. Both my kids attended public schools before Vanguard and found Vanguard remarkably friendly, tolerant, and clique-free -- a welcome change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

I am a graduate of Vanguard and had a wonderful experience academically and socially. I found classes to be engaging - the teachers encourage discussion and give assignments that are creative and challenging. I felt well-prepared at my liberal arts college, and I know it's because of the strong study habits I learned at Vanguard. The school is a close-knit community, supportive of each student's diverse talents and interests.


Posted September 10, 2011

This school is overrated. The education is rigorous, but the school confuses quality with quantity. They assign ridiculous amounts of meaningless homework but very few intellectually stimulating assignments. The students are very cliqueish and exclude and bully others. The teachers and administration play favorites among the students, often favoring those whose families are particularly involved or have made recent donations. It is, sadly, one of the better schools in Waco, but it is by no means an excellent option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

Vanguard is the best thing that could have happened to my daughter. She was in a public high school (Coolidge ISD) and the teachers had to spend so much time dealing with behaviors they did not have time to teach. Vanguard students are like one huge family no matter your income or your race. The teachers teach at a higher level of learning on a strict basis so that the students are well prepared for college. The headmaster is outside every morning greeting the students, you would not see a public schools superintendant doing that. The older students mentor the younger students so they always have someone to ask questions to if they need it. Mr. Borg, Mrs. George, Mrs. Graves are simply the best as is all of the teachers and staff. If you are serious about your childs education then Vanguard is the place your child needs to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2010

First and foremost, I am a graduate of Vanguard and would not recommend Vanguard to anyone in Waco. While I think it is a great school in terms of having the visual appeal, and the administration will certainly make it look amazing, the school should not meet any normal parent's expections. The social scene is very weird. The girls are mean and backstabing, but worse than public school. Although there are not physical fights, there are plenty of social fights. If you do not have a lot of money, you will not fit in at Vanguard. And if you are a boy, You must be a wonderful athlete to be excepted. The guys make fun of people who don't play sports even if they are very smart. If you want to go to Vanguard because of the academics, fine. But don't expect to be happy. Graduate of 2008
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2009

Our daughter has been at Vanguard since the 7th grade. When we were looking at schools, I remember seeing Vanguard's tuition and thought there was no way I would spend that kind of money. We thought we would go by and see the school anyway and as soon as we did, we knew that was the learning environment we wanted our daughter to be in. I would pay double the tuition to keep her there. There isn't an education experience like it and I feel very fortunate that she is able to be a part of it. It has taken away the normal worries of your child being in school. The students are incredible about welcoming someone new and making them feel as it they are a part immediately. The head of school is an incredible individual who takes care of business the way it should be. Thanks Vanguard! Terry Strickland
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

I am working on my graduating my third child from Vanguard. Vanguard will have your child ready for College. My first has now graduated from Baylor and said Vanguard had perpared her well for the time management that is required to do well in college. Vanguard tuition is high but I consider it an investment with a reture of a college scholorship. Vanguard does offers financial aid to assist families who otherwise would not be able to meet school costs. In the last 5 years, Vanguard has had 10 National Merit Finalists, 21 Commended and 3 Hispanic Scholars. Scoring well above the state and national averages on the SAT, Vanguard students have consistently made impressive results on the nation's most influential college acceptance exam.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

Vanguard provides a solid, rigourous education for grades 7-12. Classes are small and students receive individual attention. Students are able to participate in athletics, orchestra, band, art, debate, and other activities. Vanguard programs do very well against other programs. Parents are involved in school lunches, booster clubs, and organizing other events such as arranging class schedules for teachers at Christmas so that they can take a day off for shopping.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2004

Vanguard provides a quality education and maintains the highest standards while encouraging an attitude of respect and responsibility toward others. My child has grown so much here, not only academically but as a person as well. We could not be more pleased with the school and it's outstanding faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2004

Wow! What a great school. Our daughter is not just excelling academically in this environment, but is having the time of her life. From academics to sports, Vanguard has the best balance we've seen
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 37%
Black 3% 14%
Hispanic 3% 47%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (254) 772-8263

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2517 Mount Carmel Dr
Waco, TX 76710
Phone: (254) 772-8111

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lake Air Int
Waco, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT