Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waskom Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 344 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2010

I love, love, this school. The teachers care and take the time to help each child succeed. My children are flourishing and happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

I love this school. My son just finished the first grade and is reading on a 3rd grade level. His Math skills have impressed me tremendously. He knows quite a bit about fractions and even basic multiplication. He is not a child who I would have ever thought would enjoy school, but he loves it here. Both his Kindergarten and First Grade teachers were awesome. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

My child is in the 3rd grade and has been in Waskom since 1st grade. She came from a private catholic school making good grades. However the education and teaching she had received in Waskom far out ways the private tution that I use to pay. She was on a 2nd grade reading level in the middle of 1st grade. Excelled greatly in 2nd. Three months into 3rd grade was tested and she was on a 4th grade reading level and 5th grade level in Math. Any parent that has a child Waskom should feel honored that there are teachers that do care and students that really do learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I think the school is a great school. I love the small town feel and atmosphere. I wish they had a PTA set up though, that is my only regret.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

My child just finished 1st grade and has far exceeded my expectations of 1st grade knowledge. She is reading on a 3rd grade level,learned basic multiplication, and fractions the list does go on... We also had wonderfull experiences in Head Start and Kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

I have had 2 children go thru the Head Start Program. I can only say AWESOME! Everything about the teachers, aids, and staff far exceeded my expectation as a parent. I do have high expectaions for my children and their teachers. I am pleased with all that I have seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2004

My kids were in this school for several years. I have never seen teachers act so poorly with kids. They will point out any kids who don't fit their mold and make thier school year a horrible one. The princaple couldn't remeber her own lies and stood behind her teachers, even when she knew they were in the wrong. There was also too many cover ups. Take heed, take your kids to E.F.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2004

I have been thorougly impressed with the fourth and fifth grade teachers! They have the 'whatever it takes' attitude to provide our children with the best education possible. In fact, my child has had the most incredible year in fifth grade! I, nor my child, will ever forget the field trip to Houston, the luau, and how much his 3 teachers cared for him. The principal is a wonderful educator that does what is right for kids. Thank you Waskom Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2004

The teachers and the principle are very cooperative, with a little push. They are doing the best they can, I belive, with what they have. Some teachers are disorganized. Many that have been there a few years are getting short with the children. The classrooms (the building) are small. The teacher/student ratio is good. The 'extras' such as speech, etc. are not top priority. I believe with additional funds, and a new, more spacious building, the school would thrive. Most of the children are happy, overall, with their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2004

I find the teacher to be not trustworthy and a principle who stand by their lies. They are to military like for a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

63 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

63 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

57 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

58 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

54 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female100%
Male89%
Black or African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black or African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female74%
Male96%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female90%
Male89%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)73%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students93%
Female90%
Male96%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female85%
Male87%
Black or African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)73%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students68%
Female67%
Male70%
Black or African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special educationn/a
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)55%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted65%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Female78%
Male64%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students46%
Female46%
Male46%
Black or African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracial40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Special educationn/a
Not special education47%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted43%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students71%
Female85%
Male56%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracial60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 29%
Hispanic 28% 52%
Black 16% 13%
Two or more races 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 18%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • RANDALL YOUNGBLOOD
Fax number
  • (903) 687-3377

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P O Box 748
Waskom, TX 75692
Website: Click here
Phone: (903) 687-3361

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT