Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Harvest Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 325 students

HCA provides a great balance between academics and spiritual discipleship.

 

Living in Watauga

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $90,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2010

My child attended HCA the past school after having attended a different private Christian school for his entire school career. We have been so pleased with HCA. Our child is an excellent student, and HCA has been more academically challenging and rigorous, which we very much appreciate. We have been pleased with the open communication from the administration. It is difficult to adjust to change sometimes, and HCA is making changes to some of it's staff and curriculum for the upcoming school year. The new curriculum is not some wild ride, but in use in many private Christian schools. It is sad to see some teachers leave since they were good teachers. However, in setting higher standards for certifications and qualifications, change is required. I feel that my child is receiving an excellent education in a respectful Christian environment. We also love the many extracurricular opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

Harvest has had 3 Headmasters, 2 Interim Headmasters, and 3 Principals. The school is constantly changing direction. It is doing it again this year. They have decided to let go of many fantastic long-term teachers and replace them with new teachers for "change" sake. Some teachers are even resigning. The headmaster and principal are trying a new unproven teaching technique next year. Parents and students are upset and families are leaving the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

As a former parent at Harvest Christian Academy I feel this year was phenomenal until shortly after we had ALREADY paid the registration fee for the following year. Then they decided to let us know that there would be changes for next year. The administration is VERY EXCITED about the new changes, but as a parent it is fearful. They are making drastic changes to the current curriculum and there are no guarantees the new curricuium will work any better. With this change, they have let go of atleast 25-30% of their faculty, which means many new faculty members next year learning the new curriculum while the students are in the process of learning as well. This "change" is not well established, and the administration did not do a good job at making the parents feel comfortable with the change. So, we are leaving HCA as a result of this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2009

My sons attended Harvest for 4 years. We left after a particularly difficult year when both of my sons' teachers quit right before school started which meant they had temporary teachers for part of the year. When it looked like the same thing was going to happen the next year, we decided to leave. Leadership was lacking at the school and we were concerned about what in our opinion was a lack of control in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

Great kingdom education school. A true sheltered environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

It is a great educational experience and challenges you to push to your highest possible but socially your child will acheive no more exceptance than the average schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

Christ-based curriculum with a quality, college preparatory academic focus. Caring teachers and a headmaster with a seminary degree and a history as a college administrator. Tremendous Drama/Speech teacher. Athletics is presently experiencing growing pains (and needs an experienced, full-time Director), but offers students excellent opportunities for playing time in quality facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

We have two children here and are very pleased with both the curriculum and the social environment. School emphasizes Christian learning and values while providing a well rounded and college prep academic program. The kids are not numbers are are thriving, learning and growing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

My three kids have gone to Harvest their entire school years, with my oldest going into 10th this year. We love Harvest--the teachers are great, caring, loving and most of all Christian believers who want the best for them. The administration is great--alot of new excitment for the school, great athletics, and christian friends for my kids that are priceless. Thanks Harvest for making my kids experience with school so great and I can't wait for many years of greatness from this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

The quality of support and level of learning are fantastic. We have not found a school comparable to this one. The academics and spirtual aspect go hand in hand. We are blessed to have such a great school in our area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

Great teachers, great new headmaster, quality learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2007

The facilities are decent, however, the exterior athletic facilities are above average. The administration is lacking leadership and might even want to please too much as apposed to leading the next generation into the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

Great classical Christian worldview curriculum; awesome athletics, drama and music programs; kind, caring teachers and helpful office staff; decisive and great new administration; high family involvement and school events!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

Quality curriculum and discipline. Lacks leadership, focus, organization, and variety of classes. High tuition and cost. Nice facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Hispanic 6% 51%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Black 2% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Promote through our PK program
Area public schools
Several private schools
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Hardin Simmons University
Abilene Christian University
University of North Texas
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Terry Caywood
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Non-denominational
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (817) 514-6279

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Dual College Credit
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Academic Support and GT
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Provided for extended care
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Keller ISD
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • National Honor Society
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Harvest Christian Academy provides a Christ-centered educational environment that equips students to develop character, demonstrate competence, and discover their calling.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
83
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
150
Students typically come from these schools
Promote through our PK program
Area public schools
Several private schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Hardin Simmons University
College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7200 Denton Hwy
Watauga, TX 76148
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 485-1660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Hillwood Middle School
Fort Worth, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT