Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Whitley Road Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 474 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 16, 2013

My son attended Whitley Rd. for Kindergarten last year and will return for 1st grade this year. We had a good experience. I think there is a lot of room for improvement in the food program, but we were very happy with the staff and what my child accomplished during the year. I don't know if the principal is the same as previous posts, but Mrs. Erb is friendly and approachable. They no longer offer free breakfast in the classroom, but breakfast can be purchased for $1 (maybe free if you qualify for free/reduced lunch program). We look forward to next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

The teachers and the faculty at WRES go out of their way to help the children to have a fabulous experience. When my daughter was in need of help, the principal, counselor and her teachers, including the music teacher all rallied around her and changed her experience from one of struggling with peers to a positive one through extra programs offered by the school, and individual attention. Many of the teachers volunteer extra hours of their own time for after school activities for our kids and are involved in the PTA in time consuming positions. This is a school where your child really does matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

We, like a lot of parents, don't like the new principal. She is the most unprofessional educator I have ever seen. She sometimes wears a crown around school and a shirt that says 'princessipal'. Those two things say it all. Students, parents, taxpayers don't matter. You can't talk to her. She likes to argue with parents and doesn't listen to what our kids needs are. I know that teachers know our kids pretty well spending all that time with them, but she sure doesn't. She didn't know who my daughter was when I first started talking to her, then she know more about her than anyone before we were through. And our TEKS scores are way down. Under past principals scores were great. But since she's been here they are down. I think it's her leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

I have been teaching at Whitley Road for a several years. The parents are warm and friendly and really seem to appreciate what teachers are doing for their children. My favorite thing about our school is the free breakfast program. Every child has a free breakfast provided to them in the classroom everyday. They receive things like muffins, cereal, hot cake and sausage on a stick and ham and cheese breakfast rolls. I am thrilled with the program because I don't have hungry distracted students anymore. Many parents have commented that they like the program, too. Now they don't have to worry about breakfast.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 27, 2008

my daughter (who was an extremely shy and quiet little girl) attended last year for kindergarten and had a wonderful experiance .her teacher was great and helped bring my child out of her timidness. I owe a great deal of thanks to the entire whitley rd staff if it werent for them I dont know how I would have made it through...I hate that we had to leave because the school she is in now isnt even in the same kind of category as whitley road.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2007

We moved here from Ohio and we love this school. The free breakfast is wonderful because we always get up late. The only reason they do not have recess outside all the time is because it was dangerously hot during the beginning of the school year. My son loved this school and we are sad to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2007

Things were a little shaky when the new administration took over. Nonetheless, the teachers have been great and catered to the individual needs of both of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2007

Recess is rare. Breakfast in the Classroom program is a joke. New principal needs some lessons in listening to parents and not just blowing us off. you'd be better off at a Birdville school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2005

Great school, even though the facilities are older than most in the district. We have been here for two years and have loved our son's teacher...she moved from 2nd to 3rd with his class and has a Masters Degree. Great teacher and very involved. The Principle and other staff communicate well and are always sending information home. Parent involvement seems average, most in the area are single parents or two income families, so those that are involved are the stay at home moms. The Principal is out there every day directing traffic and helping out. Music, art are in the curriculum, all grades do a play or musical that is grade specific..also other school functions for various occasions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

My children have had the best of luck with this school! They have been to other schools but never had the results like we have with this one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2005

Whitley Road is a campus where kids are the focus. Staff members and parents have high expectatations and provide many opportunities for students to excel. My only complaint would be a lack of hands-on emphasis.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

108 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

85 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

96 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

84 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female96%
Male78%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education90%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students85%
Female85%
Male85%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education73%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Female83%
Male87%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students82%
Female80%
Male85%
Black or African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students89%
Female98%
Male82%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Female78%
Male77%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special educationn/a
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students56%
Female50%
Male64%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Special educationn/a
Not special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted45%
Bilingual80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Female76%
Male59%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)38%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted63%
Bilingual60%

Math

All Students61%
Female66%
Male55%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education20%
Not special education64%
Limited English proficient (LEP)47%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted56%
Bilingual56%

Writing

All Students69%
Female78%
Male58%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special educationn/a
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted63%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 29%
Hispanic 37% 52%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Black 3% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 23%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • AMY ERB
Fax number
  • (817) 281-4023

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7600 Whitley Road
Watauga, TX 76148
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 744-5800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Foster Village Elementary School
North Richland Hills, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT