Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Whitley Road Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
I have had children in this school for a very long time I love this School, Teachers are great all staff and Principal. I do think PTA needs to understand that this is for the children.

Whitley Road Elementary School 4

Posted July 16, 2013
- a parent
My son attended Whitley Rd. for Kindergarten last year and will return for 1st grade this year. We had a good experience. I think there is a lot of room for improvement in the food program, but we were very happy with the staff and what my child accomplished during the year. I don't know if the principal is the same as previous posts, but Mrs. Erb is friendly and approachable. They no longer offer free breakfast in the classroom, but breakfast can be purchased for $1 (maybe free if you qualify for free/reduced lunch program). We look forward to next year!


Whitley Road Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2008
- a parent
The teachers and the faculty at WRES go out of their way to help the children to have a fabulous experience. When my daughter was in need of help, the principal, counselor and her teachers, including the music teacher all rallied around her and changed her experience from one of struggling with peers to a positive one through extra programs offered by the school, and individual attention. Many of the teachers volunteer extra hours of their own time for after school activities for our kids and are involved in the PTA in time consuming positions. This is a school where your child really does matter.

Whitley Road Elementary School 1

Posted September 06, 2008
- a parent
We, like a lot of parents, don't like the new principal. She is the most unprofessional educator I have ever seen. She sometimes wears a crown around school and a shirt that says 'princessipal'. Those two things say it all. Students, parents, taxpayers don't matter. You can't talk to her. She likes to argue with parents and doesn't listen to what our kids needs are. I know that teachers know our kids pretty well spending all that time with them, but she sure doesn't. She didn't know who my daughter was when I first started talking to her, then she know more about her than anyone before we were through. And our TEKS scores are way down. Under past principals scores were great. But since she's been here they are down. I think it's her leadership.

Whitley Road Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 06, 2008
- a teacher
I have been teaching at Whitley Road for a several years. The parents are warm and friendly and really seem to appreciate what teachers are doing for their children. My favorite thing about our school is the free breakfast program. Every child has a free breakfast provided to them in the classroom everyday. They receive things like muffins, cereal, hot cake and sausage on a stick and ham and cheese breakfast rolls. I am thrilled with the program because I don't have hungry distracted students anymore. Many parents have commented that they like the program, too. Now they don't have to worry about breakfast.


Whitley Road Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2008
- a parent
my daughter (who was an extremely shy and quiet little girl) attended last year for kindergarten and had a wonderful experiance .her teacher was great and helped bring my child out of her timidness. I owe a great deal of thanks to the entire whitley rd staff if it werent for them I dont know how I would have made it through...I hate that we had to leave because the school she is in now isnt even in the same kind of category as whitley road.

Whitley Road Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2007
- a parent
We moved here from Ohio and we love this school. The free breakfast is wonderful because we always get up late. The only reason they do not have recess outside all the time is because it was dangerously hot during the beginning of the school year. My son loved this school and we are sad to leave.

Whitley Road Elementary School 4

Posted January 17, 2007
- a parent
Things were a little shaky when the new administration took over. Nonetheless, the teachers have been great and catered to the individual needs of both of my children.


Whitley Road Elementary School 3

Posted January 03, 2007
- a parent
Recess is rare. Breakfast in the Classroom program is a joke. New principal needs some lessons in listening to parents and not just blowing us off. you'd be better off at a Birdville school.

Whitley Road Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2005
- a parent
Great school, even though the facilities are older than most in the district. We have been here for two years and have loved our son's teacher...she moved from 2nd to 3rd with his class and has a Masters Degree. Great teacher and very involved. The Principle and other staff communicate well and are always sending information home. Parent involvement seems average, most in the area are single parents or two income families, so those that are involved are the stay at home moms. The Principal is out there every day directing traffic and helping out. Music, art are in the curriculum, all grades do a play or musical that is grade specific..also other school functions for various occasions.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Whitley Road Elementary School
7600 Whitley Road, Watauga, TX  76148
(817) 744-5800
Last modified Whitley Road Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Whitley Road Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top