Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Margaret L Felty Elementary School 1

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
You tell me if this is right. In a 5th grade class, a girl tells a boy that she is going to be rich and he is going to grow up and be a hobo. In the exchange, the boy says if i was a bad guy, he would probably rob the bank where she keeps her money. When asked what if somebody tried to stop him, he replied that if he were a bad guy, he would probably shoot them. The girl, not appearing to be to least bit alarmed, casually goes and tells the teacher the boy said he was going to shoot her. The teacher refers it to the asst. principal. The asst. principal sits the boy down in her office for over an hour, with no one else present in the office, and interrogates the boy, intimidating him until he "agrees" with her version. His repeated account of what was really said is ignored by the asst. principal. The boy then gets suspended for three days Welcome to Felty.

Margaret L Felty Elementary School 1

Posted October 06, 2015
- a community member
The assistant principal has an issue with telling the truth. Once this person gets it in her head that a student is a "problem", she targets him or her with "check marks", ISS, and other record-wreckers for "infractions" which are nothing more than kids being kids. One of her stories changed three times, even though the incident was on video and exonerated the student. Another story she completely fabricated. Most of the teachers are great, but the assistant principal and the few teachers like her sour the entire experience.


Margaret L Felty Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
This school has been nothing but a blessing for our family. This will be our 4th year at felty and I cant say enough nice things about the teachers and other staff at this school! We love it!

Margaret L Felty Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
great school with great teachers my student has excelled there They have a great administration as well

Margaret L Felty Elementary School 1

Posted January 06, 2014
- a parent
I curse the day I enrolled my son in Kindergarten here! He never had behavioral problems at his preschool, but here he got marks for "not paying attention." Those added up to a "partnering day" and the nightmare began. It was escalated to ISS even though my son showed no aggressive behavior. He was so frustrated/angry for months following that day that I physically had to restrain him often. (I had not had to do this since he was about 2 years old) In a meeting with teacher & admin where I explained his reaction to the discipline, I was told the discipline plan could not be modified without a "diagnosis" and was offered no access to any resource for help. We quickly withdrew our son. (Any diagnosis, which we weren't even sure was applicable would take longer than we had until the next "partnering day"). We have since learned our son has Aspbergers and have been told by our pediatrician, psychologist, & other sources that the school has the resources available to asses and assist struggling kids. (And should have offered them) I don't understand how admin can look me in the eye, tell me they want to help, but can't without a diagnosis, and offer NONE of the available resource!


Margaret L Felty Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Awesome school! Just finished kindergarten. .. great experience! Teachers are wonderful and so is the principal and administrstion.

Margaret L Felty Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2012
- a parent
We moved here from Austin, TX. Our greatest concern was the quality of schools available for our son going into kindergarden. We toured Felty, talked with parents and teachers, visited with the principal and deputy superintendent, and we were very impressed. The facilities, the teachers, the administration are all wonderful. I would highly recommend this school.

Margaret L Felty Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2012
- a parent
Felty is a great school. This is our second year at the school and we are very happy here. The teachers and staff are very caring and friendly. The school has programs set up to encourage students to excel academically and promote and reward good behavior choices. Everyone at Felty seems to be interested in your child's well-being, academic growth, and as a well-rounded citizen.


Margaret L Felty Elementary School 1

Posted February 14, 2012
- a parent
School was fine but there is a third grade teacher to avoid! You know it when you meet her. Red flags go up!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Margaret L Felty Elementary School
231 Park Place Boulevard, Waxahachie, TX  75165
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (972) 923-4616
Last modified Margaret L Felty Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top