Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Waxahachie High School 3

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
As a parent, I care about academics, but I also care about the environment in the school. I have been pleased with both. WHS offers more rigorous classes for those wanting more through the Global High School if extra curricular isn't a priority. If you are looking for a supreme band program - WHS is the place. The director is well respected by students, staff and parents and gets the kids to want to do their best. The new Superintendent has some great programs that will be implemented in 2015-2016 to add even more quality and variety to the school district. I've been impressed with all of the teachers at this school. They do care and want our kids to do well. The key is for parents to get involved. Don't expect someone else to raise your kids. Be in partnership with the school for the greatest success.

Waxahachie High School 2

Posted November 12, 2013
- a community member
Im a former student and would like to mention that I was very poorly prepared for college. Particularly in the area of science. When I took my first chemistry class I truly realized how little I learned about science in high school. This school only cares about its scores on standardized testing and athletics.


Waxahachie High School 5

Posted November 07, 2013
- a parent
for all the people who think these schools are bad...visit some other schools, and you will find out how good these schools actually are! My kids received an excellent education in Waxahachie! Of course it isn't perfect, no place is, but trust me, it's much better than other places!

Waxahachie High School
no rating

Posted January 30, 2010
- a parent
I completely agree. I am a small business owner in Waxahachie and I hire high school students and they do not know how to spell or write at the level I would expect.

Waxahachie High School 2

Posted September 12, 2009
- a community member
The students graduating from Waxahachie High School are seriously deficient in english, spelling and grammer. Those going on to college are not prepared for the intensity of the out-of-class assignments. Those students starting employment seriously lack the skills they need to succeed. It's one thing to have a great football team and nice kids but the real focus is not on academics and it shows when they get out!!!


Waxahachie High School 5

Posted January 12, 2009
- a parent
Fantastic school - many 'big school' programs (state-caliber band program (honor band finalist), drama went to state, baseball team second at state) yet with a 'small school' (and town) feel. Good kids, you will still hear 'yes, ma'am' and 'no, ma'am' and doors will be held open for you by students when you visit! Also, this school did make AYP - the final results were posted in December 2008. Your child will flourish here. They are doing something very right - it is undefinable - and we are so happy we are here!

Waxahachie High School
no rating

Posted August 01, 2008
- a parent
Waxahachie ISD is awesome. Moving here was the best decision we ever made. When you see your child completely thrive in a school where every teacher cares, it makes you know you made the right decision. The teachers that we have had the privilege of sharing our daughter with for the past 5 years have loved and nurtured her. Keep up the great work WISD. Go Hachie!

Waxahachie High School
no rating

Posted July 29, 2008
- a parent
High school met AYP this year - others in surrounding area did not. If you are looking for a small-town school with fantastic extracurriculars (band was a state honor band finalist, one-act play went to state, football team won district, ocean science team placed second at Texas A&M competition, baseball team was second at state, volleyball and basketball teams won area). There is still a Mayberry RFD in the Metroplex - and Waxahachie is it. Great shopping, too!


Waxahachie High School 5

Posted December 06, 2006
- a parent
This is a wonderful school hidden in the outskirts of the metroplex! Top-notch football and band programs (band went to area and state recently), accessible teachers and a principal who actually leaves his office and walks among his students who greet him with affection (I wouldn't believe it if I hadn't seen it with my own eyes) -- and he seems to know many of their names! Unheard of for a large 4A school! On school trips so far there have been almost no discipline problems. AP classes, big choral program, all the usual sports and, as mentioned, a football team that usually makes the playoffs. Add to this good kids and a very friendly small town! My child comes home confident, happy and asking about world events from his pre-AP geography class. Wonderful, non-clique-ish booster clubs so far. Excellent, excellent school.

Waxahachie High School 4

Posted March 06, 2006
- a parent
Quality of academic programs are second to none. My daughter received an excellent education in WISD. The level of parent involvement is greater than in most schools. Availability of music, arts, sports and other extracurricular activities provides the student many opportunities to participate in areas they enjoy.

Nearby schools

Waxahachie High School
1000 Dallas Highway, Waxahachie, TX  75165
(972) 923-4600
Last modified Waxahachie High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top