Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Joseph Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Waxahachie

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $126,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 18, 2012

Both my daughters have attended this school from Kindergarten. My oldest just graduated and is in public high school. We love this school. It has a great christian and family atmosphere. The kids are well behaved. The academics are great. My oldest daughter had no issues transitioning to public school. As with any small school, electives are not a broad as big schools. They have a choir, band, and play athletics through the Y league. The teachers take less pay to be here over a public school so they CARE about the kids. You don't have to be Catholic to be here, We are Baptist and they have been great. A lot of families here are not Catholic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

A very good atmosphere that encourages success. Very reasonable tuition rates. All of the teachers are good, most are very good. In our experience, the 6th grade teacher is the best. Their music program is not very strong. Children are taught good manners along with good academics. Having not been in public school, I can not speak to the comparisons, but I can't help but wonder if the children will be bored with public high school after having attended this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2008

My grandsons have being going to St. Joseph's for 5 years and we think it is the very best! They have learned SO much and the environment could not be better.


Posted November 13, 2007

St. Joseph's is a wonderful school. My son has been there for 9 years and has loved every minute. The staff is caring and the Catholic foundation is wonderful. I feel the academics will prepare my child for high school and college. The Christian environment is so nice and he is getting a strong foundation in his faith. The music and band program are great and sports are getting started as well. Great school with lots of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

We have been extremely happy with St. Joseph for the past 2 years. We were ar another catholic school and were just nothappy at all. The kids have done much better and are much, much happier. The school staff have been great as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

This is our daughter's first year at St. Joseph's and we are so pleased with the overall experience. The teacher's are hands on and the staff is so inviting. We are looking forward to many more wonderful years at St. Joesph's not only with our daughter but our son as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2003

What a wonderful school! Everyone works together to bring up men and women of God. Standards are high and support is there to encourage children to excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

I have a daughter in the 5th grade and she (almost the whole 5th grade) is actually doing 6th grade work. We are very very pleased with the education she is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 37%
Hispanic 7% 47%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 0% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Dallas
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

506 E Marvin Ave
Waxahachie, TX 75165
Phone: (972) 937-0956

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT