Advertisement
Advertisement

Westminster Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 206 students

Strong Christian program of academic excellence and individual achievement

 

Living in Webster

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2014

My child started this school this year in fifth grade after attending public up until this point. Mr. Robinson is fabulous and I couldn't ask for a better environment. Very glad we made the switch from public to Westminster Christian .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2013

As a grandparent to one of the school's pupils, we are very pleased with Westminster. Not only is our boy learning the basics, but he is also being taught his manners and core values so lacking in the public schools. We look forward to sending his younger brother to Westminster, too, when he is old enough.


Posted October 2, 2013

School leaders need to adopt a policy of full disclosure to parents. Parents should always be informed of school issues/events that effect their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

Wow! Since the new administration took over this spring, there are already many changes for fall. When a few teachers left due to moves, illness, or discontent with the prior administration, the new administrator found replacement teachers for fall that have years of experience and are TX certified. There are GT and Spec. Ed teachers, also with years of experience, that are leading the technology based, individualized instruction classrooms. The remaining teachers have been at WCA for years and are top-notch. New curriculum and standards are being put in place this fall along with a TON of after school programs: sports (soccer, cross country, basketball, cheer leading), drama, mad science, Bricks4Kidz, Spanish, etc... WCA will celebrate 20 years this fall, and what a wonderful way to start the next 20 years of excellence!


Posted June 10, 2013

We have been pleased with WCA over the years. The educational quality seemed to go downhill with the previous administrator who was let go. It wasn't too late though. Many quality teachers remain and the new teachers they are hiring are very experienced. They seem to be making the necessary changes with staff and curriculum to bring this school back to the level of excellence I had seen in previous years. We are so excited to return in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2013

This school has become unacceptable for the education of my child. Several teachers have left during the year leaving substitutes that have no business teaching. The principal was fired and the interm is excellent at talking but has done nothing to help the school. First grade and second grades have suffered the most. Would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

I ve two kids in WCA; they both have been going there since they were 4 years old. My son is in 4th and daughter in 1st grade now. We re very happy with the teachers, curriculum, and leadership at WCA. I feel very comfortable when they re at school as if they re surrounded with family; it really is like a big family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2012

Kindergarten good (depends on teacher), but go elsewhere for elementary. Low teacher-student ratios, but not taking advantage of it. Heavily worksheet driven. Emphasis is on keeping the kids quiet. Little teacher support or supervision and curriculum is a mess. The kids don't even have a math book--they're getting re-copied worksheets (often illegible) from a curriculum WCA hasn't used for years, which is probably a copyright violation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

My son just completed kindergarten at WCA and we absolutely love the school. His teacher was amazing and the perfect fit for my son. He enjoyed going to school and learned so much throughout the year. I am extremely happy with our education choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

WCA's faculty and students are top-notch. Standardized testing (Stanford Achievement Test) in 2011 placed students in the 82nd percentile nationally. WCA is accredited by the Association of Christian Schools International (under whose auspices standardized testing is conducted annually). The school recognizes each of its students as a unique creation of the Most High God, and is committed to the academic success of all.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 13, 2012

Previous focus on excellence in academics is gone. The school s focus is on the new program for children with learning disabilities. The rest of the students suffer from bizarre and ever-changing curriculum experiments, and NOTHING is done for higher-achieving students. The teachers are caring and committed, but they don t know what s happening next. For years, the Stanford Achievement Test was given but this year a new test is being given so it will no longer be possible to compare current academic results to prior years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2012

Westminster has excellent and committed teachers. Class size is small. It has been a great experience for all three of my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2012

I can't speak for the other Pre-K 4 teachers but Mrs. Schultz was great! She loved my kids like they were her own. The WCA website says that they will learn number and letter recognition, not reading, so I'm not sure where the other parents got that promise. They do learn that and how to write their name. My older son did learn to read in Pre-K, but my other one was not ready and is now learning to read in Kindergarten at WCA. As far as art projects, you just need to look around in the hallways. They are covered with art projects! Too many projects that it pains me that I can't keep them all. Overall, I am very happy with WCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

My child is in the Pre-K4 program. We were told they would learn some spanish, learn to read...ect. He has been there 8 months and is not able to recognize words, has brought home 3 spanish worksheets, NEVER has he brought home reading type worksheets, the teacher has never worked with him on writing his name, he hasn't done any art projects to our knowledge, we have never received any type of curriculum......not what we expected for an expensive private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2011

I can't say enough great things about Westminster Christian Academy. The administrative staff is proactive and personable. The small class size (12 in 2nd grade) and dedicated teachers create an environment where each child is special. The is a balance between respect for authority/rules with grace and forgiveness and the students are always encouraged to exhibit strong character and do their best in academics. Before/after care and summer programs make it easy to have a quality and consistent experience all year round. We just wish our son could be there through high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2009

Great school. Excellent academics with the smallest class sizes in any public or private school in the Clear Lake area. Teachers maintain order and respect, but do so in a caring and nurturing manner. Children llike going to school here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

All four of my children attend this school. The teachers are excellent at instructing and guiding my children. My children enjoy the school and are challenged academically. The staff and parents are like family to me and my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2006

Westminster is a wonderful Christian school. The academic level is excellent, the staff is caring and informed. I have had two children enrolled at this school for 5+ years and as they graduate we find that they are far above public school academically. The school website is http://www.wca-lions.org/
—Submitted by a staff


Posted August 18, 2005

2005-2006 is our 6th year at Westminster Academy and we feel our child is getting the best education available in the area along with the development of a strong christian character and daily bible study. Test scores have always been ranked at higher levels of academic ability. We are very satisfied and will continue at this school as long as it allows. The Lord blesses this school and it's members and he is truly loved and involved in every part of its growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2004

I moved my child to wa from ed white - where he was doing very well. I have been pleasantly surprised at how much more we like wa. The good kids are not overlooked here. At ed white he was often overlooked because of the large classroom sizes. The parents are very involved at wa and you really get the feeling that they care about your child's education and heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 37%
Hispanic 12% 47%
Black 7% 14%
Asian 6% N/A
Two or more races 6% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Aimee Felchak
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (281) 990-9739

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Dance club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Game club
  • Girl scouts
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Parent Teacher Fellowship
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • WCA provides a Christ-centered learning environment featuring small class sizes, loving teachers and staff members, and challenging academics.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
213
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
225

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$6000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bay Area Christian School
Lutheran South Academy
Public School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

670 E Medical Center Blvd
Webster, TX 77598
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 280-9829

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Space Center Int
Houston, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT