Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Liberty Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 510 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

I love the school and staff here at Liberty! I currently have three children in attendance here. With my youngest 2 in K and oldest in 2nd. I love the Dual Language Program and only wish there was more interest when my oldest started 2 years ago because her class doesn't have the program, the one year there was little interest for it. The Principal is so great with the kids and is very supportive of the PTA. I was unable to be as involved the previous two years but since being able to be at the school more I find the ENTIRE staff is devoted to ensuring the success of their students. We have some many ways to helps students learn even those with disabilities. And knowing that school is a joint effort, I am so glad that the teachers will come to me with issues that need to be addressed instead of letting it go unaddressed and unresolved. We are open enrollment students and so glad that Liberty had room for us. Very Blessed that WSISD did open enrollment right when we needed a GREAT SCHOOL! I can't say it enough I love this school,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

Great school, faculty really puts the kids first! The safety of the children is made a priority at Liberty, the principal is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

This is my son's first year at Liberty, he is in 3rd grade. The teachers are involved with the students and the principal is amazing! My son is always excited about going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2012

The staff at Liberty are great. Even though my daughter only attended the PPCD program for a short period, it's better than the programs in California. Mrs Lindsey worked well with my daughter and the staff are extremely caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

Where do I begin? Curriculum is a joke and you can forget about the so-called "Gifted & Talented" program. Your child will never be challenged while attending Liberty. If you are okay with unsatisfactory and do not want your child to learn then Liberty is the perfect choice for you. Oh, some of the teachers are not qualified and do not have ANY CERTIFICATION. One should be worried about their child "learning" from someone not qualified to teach!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2006

I am a former student of Liberty Elementary and I must say that it is one of the best elementary schools I've been to. I currently have two kids that are in the dual language program. I cant wait for my third child to start in the fall. The teachers are all wonderful. The principal is wonderful and the parents are also wonderful. When it comes to having fun the teachers staff and parents really pull through for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

Good school and good leadership. People care about kids.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted August 11, 2005

all my kids have loved liberty. i have been with this school for seven years total. my three kids have went there and they done great. the principal is great- even his kids go there. the the teachers really care about how well the kids are learning the lessons, and they make it fun. i have been involved in pta each of the seven years. the moms are good friends and we spend alot of time at the school together helping in any way we can. i think all of us have the same outlook of the scholl- its just great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2005

My oldest granddaughter finished Liberty and now the twins are in third grade. The teachers are outstanding and the qualities of teaching/subject are the best. My grandchildren have learned much and have become excellent students. My oldest granddaughter is in the excelled classes at Brewer now. Excellent early education is essential for further highter education. Liberty has proven that they go all the way for all of the students and have support from the White Settlement City Council.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

My daughter attends kindergarten here and really enjoys it. The principal, teachers and staff are truly outstanding! its really a breath of fresh air for me knowing my little girl is happy and loves this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

47 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

47 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

44 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

44 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

42 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female86%
Male92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students70%
Female67%
Male73%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female91%
Male90%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students80%
Female74%
Male86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students74%
Female82%
Male65%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Female79%
Male83%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingual100%

Math

All Students67%
Female66%
Male69%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted66%
Bilingual100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Female83%
Male88%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingual100%

Math

All Students67%
Female73%
Male60%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingual75%

Writing

All Students76%
Female79%
Male72%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingual83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 29%
Hispanic 42% 52%
Black 5% 13%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 21%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MICHAEL DICKINSON
Fax number
  • (817) 367-1313

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7976 Whitney Drive
White Settlement, TX 76108
Phone: (817) 367-6510

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Fine Arts Academy
Fort Worth, TX


West Elementary School
White Settlement, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT