Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Notre Dame Catholic School

Private | PK-12 | 245 students

Notre Dame Catholic School prepares students for life by providing a superior an

 
 

Living in Wichita Falls

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $71,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, September 18, 2014

My husband and I feel extremely fortunate and blessed to be able to send our three daughters to school at Notre Dame Catholic School. The academics are challenging and there is a great sense of community. Most importantly, they pray together, they learn about Jesus, the Bible, the Blessed Trinity and attend weekly Mass together. High moral standards are taught by example and expected from everyone. Between our three children we have over 13 years of education invested and we can not imagine doing this anywhere else. Notre Dame has been forming disciples of Jesus Christ since 1904 and still are today! Thank you Notre Dame; Thank you Jesus! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

We send all of our children to Notre Dame and wouldn't think of sending them anywhere else. Not only are the academics superior, the students are taught to be solidly grounded in their faith and are encouraged to reach out and be Christ to the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

Notre Dame Catholic school has been a true blessing for our family. Excelling in academics, the school also fosters an environment of high moral teaching, with a strong spiritual importance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

My children recieved a wonderful education at this school! After graduating, my eldest son graduated from Texas Tech in 3 years! My daughter followed and graduated from Midwestern State University in 3-1/2 years.... their education was top notch and I am so grateful to Notre Dame Catholic School for preparing them for college! In addition, the school truly is like a FAMILY. People care for one another! It was a SAFE environment for my children, and my children attended school with children of parents who were like-minded: they wanted love of God to be carried on from home to continue at school, along with the biblical values that are taught daily! My children have friends for life as they are still close with their Notre Dame friends...all great adults now! LOVE this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2014

I love this school and everything it stands for! We are blessed with an incredible community!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 16, 2014

Notre Dame is such a wonderful school. The teachers & staff love & care for the students as if each child was their own. Not only do the students receive a wonderful Christian education but grow into amazing people that are rooted in their faith, love their family, great stewards of their community and outgoing responsible adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2014

My children are very happy at ND. The elementary PE program is outstanding which is hard to find these days. The PE teacher is top notch and like a Saint. The current 4th grade teacher is the best you can find. She too is likened to a Saint and also teaches with the highest quality you could ask for. There certainly could be some updates with the physical appeal of the school and a more positive/joyful Religious program would be nice in the middle school/high school. There needs to certainly be a computer/technology class in the elementary more than anything since we live in a technology age. But, for the most part Christ is able to be spoken about and learned about. Therefore, there is a beautiful atmosphere and freedom to be who God created you to be in academics, sports and extracurricular activities!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2014

I rate this school with five stars. They have won awards for being the best in many things. With the finiest teachers that use great ways to teach the children. As like other teachers, they sacrifice much, get little resouces to get the big things done. It is the best place and the only place I would send my Grandchildren.


Posted April 16, 2014

Notre Dame Catholic in Wichita Falls is a wonderful school. The administration and staff truly care about each and every student. My daughter has flourished there academically and personally. The small class sizes are key. I would recommend this school to anyone in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2014

Best in town! Only choice to make for a good learning experience....I have three students and they have attended for five years and do not want to leave...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

Wonderful, safe school where everybody cares. Well mannered kids. Great school! Perfect school for my kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

We have been at Notre Dame Catholic School for 10 years. My daughter just graduated with honors, earned a 4.0 and 27 hours at Midwestern State University while taking her regular coarsework at ND. She was admitted to 3 well respected universities and earned $150,000 in scholarships. We love Notre Dame!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

When we enrolled our children in the elementary school we had high hopes based on recommendations from others however after attending for 2 years we pulled them from this school to homeschool. We couldn't believe how behind our children were! They took a scholastic test at the beginning of our homeschool experience and both scored below grade level in math. And once I received the curriculum we would be using to homeschool I needed to back track and cover a lot of the basics. We felt we were "paying for the environment" and didn't feel it was worth the $12,000 a year. For that kind of money, I expect superior academics and lot's of "extra" classes like art, music (besides once a week for 20 minutes), computer classes and language arts. That being said, I believe this school is worth the money once your kids are in middle school, but not for the lower grades. I also have to mention there are some wonderful teachers at the elementary school that made our overall experience wonderful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 28, 2012

I was disappointed with our experience at this school. As a military family we have to relocate often. We had 2 children attend the elementary campus. While they attended this school they received above average grades, Honor Roll status. When we relocated to a different base in Texas we had to move in the middle of the school year. My children went from Honor Roll to FAILING!!! I quickly found out that many of the grades my children received in class were "given" to keep academics looking superior at this school. It was disappointing to learn that both of my students were behind in academics because of the 2 and a half years we spent at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2012

Notre Dame school is head and shoulders above any other school in our city. It has rigorous academics that prepare the students for college. The athletic and academic teams are routinely competing at the state level. And best of all, the school is unequivocally Catholic. Our oldest began attending ND eight years ago, and now we have four in the school. It is a loving community willing to accept anybody. All of our children have attended the preschool classes, and there has always been an aid in the classes. It truly is an amazing program. The elementary school prepares the students to be successful in the upper campus as well. The upper campus teachers and staff go out of their way to teach our children not only academics but how to be a good citizen and Christian. We couldn't be happier with the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

Over crowded classrooms. It advertises a small school environment. It is a small school but the classrooms are over crowded because they take as many students as they can get. But instead of getting the "promised" one on one attention from the teacher your child is in a classroom with 23 other students. No individual attention is given and the school does not provide the teachers with an Aide to help in the class. For the amount of money that is paid in tuition for this school it does not give you the individual attention is advertises.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2012

We had to remove both our students from this school because of Uncontrollable Bullying in the upper campus. The principal refused to take appropriate action to stop the bullying because the students who were bullying others were from a rich family. So many of these students were able to basically get away with everything because they knew they would suffer No consequences. When we attended a different school we learned that our students were behind the public schools in our area in academics. We also learned that the books used at Notre Dame were outdated from over 10 years ago. Many of the students did not have a book because the school did not want to purchase books. I suggest looking at other private and public schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

Good teachers; good discipline;dedicated teachers and parents; turns out children well prepared for college -preparatory school


Posted March 1, 2009

notre dame school is like home away from home. the kids are so well behaved with one another.they have such great manners. everyone is like family here and of course, most important is their education. i'm so amazed at how much my kids learn. they are so advance. i don't even understand their homework most of the time. the teachers really care about their students. i have 2 daughters in elementary and 1 son in high school. my son used to be very shy and now he's just everywhere, to sports to band to ACTING! amazing!!! if for any reason we have to leave, it will be because of tuition. it's expensive but you know what...it's worth it! i can't tell you how much my kids enjoy being here and how much they adore the staff and teachers. we especially love the elementary school secretary. she's GREAT! thank you ND
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

My children have been at Notre Dame since age 4. I have one daughter in 9th grade and another in 7th grade. I have been happy with ND. I feel my kids are being educated in a caring environment. They are being challenged with large projects, ...science fair projects, world map layout (locate 600 places on the globe) & geneology. Although my children grumble while doing these class projects, they walk away with a feeling of accomplishment. I love the way the teachers communicate via ' teacherease' & email. You can really keep on top of your kid. I enjoy the family feeling, I don't hessitate asking another parent for help. I don't feel limited to only the parents of the 7th & 9th grade. Having no family in town, this has certainly been a plus!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 31%
Hispanic 16% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Texas A&M University
Midwestern State University
Texas Tech University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Nurse(s)
Music teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Art teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • TAPPS 1A Overall Henderson Championship Cup Award (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Dance club: Royals
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Latin Club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Doug Jones
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (940) 692-2811

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Ft. Worth
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Dance
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Dance club: Royals
  • Foreign language club: Latin Club
  • Gardening
  • Key Club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Texas A&M University
Midwestern State University
Texas Tech University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2821 Lansing Blvd
Wichita Falls, TX 76309
Website: Click here
Phone: (940) 692-6041

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Houston Elementary School
Wichita Falls, TX


Milam Elementary School
Wichita Falls, TX


Barwise J High School
Wichita Falls, TX


Crockett Elementary School
Wichita Falls, TX



Cunningham School
Wichita Falls, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT