Advertisement
Advertisement

Notre Dame Catholic School

Private | PK-12 | 245 students

Notre Dame Catholic School prepares students for life by providing a superior an

 
 

Living in Wichita Falls

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $71,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 10, 2008

We love Notre Dame. It truly is one big happy family. It has a loving christian family environment and the education is excellent. Students who attend ND excell in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

We love the academic environment that our children are surrounded by. We have one child that has graduated and is thriving in college, she attributes her success to the wonderful teachers at Notre Dame who demand excellence in everything. One child is in High School and is involved in everything that is offered to her. Our elementary school child loves her teachers and is thriving. Notre Dame combines academics, faith, sports, service to others and a rich learning environment to every child. We are proud to say our children attend Notre Dame Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

We have a daughter in 3rd grade and one in 4K. We are very satisfied with the education our 3rd grader is receiving and we think it would be difficult to find a better preschool program in town. The academics at Notre Dame are outstanding and their spiritual education is more than we could have ever expected or hoped for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

My 3 children graduated from Notre Dame. My eldest 'clepped' out of 12 hours of college classes immediately after he graduated in 2001. He graduated from college in 3 years as will my daughter. There is no doubt that this happened due to their outstanding education at Notre Dame. We want our children to be prepared for college, and I believe the teachers and staff work very hard to do this. Notre Dame is big on 'respect.' We have high expectations for our students, and they rise to meet them! I wish current parents and prospective parents could see what our 'recent' graduates are accomplishing...doctors, professionals in every area.....the list is long as to what they are doing in the world! I attribute that to their Notre Dame education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

Notre Dame is by far worth the money. The faculty and staff are great and the atmosphere for the children to learn is superb . The children thrive academically as well as socially and we know it is the perfect place for children to grow to be successful in life. Notre Dame is a true family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

We are very happy with our choice of Notre Dame. Our children enjoy the slose knit atmosphere and we feel like the staff & teachers & kids are our family (especially since we have none here). The curriculum is good & our children are getting the benefit of a pariochial education with emphasis placed on ethics & character. All the students are well mannered & polite when we see them in the community as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

Great school! Teacher are very nice to all the students and parents. The secretary is awesome
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

My son graduated from Notre Dame a few years ago and my daughter is in High School here now. I love seeing students reading books and studying in between extracurricular activities and in their free time. It really shows a commitment to academics and a good work ethic. The students & teachers are always involved in some sort of service project for our community. Our faith is put into practice at Notre Dame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

This is our 8th year at Notre Dame! Our four children are very happy here...two in elementary, one in middle school and one in high school. We believe that our children are getting an above-average education in a Christian family-like environment. We never planned on staying for high school, but realized that the education our high school student is receiving will lead her into any college she chooses!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

1st grader at NDCS. Love it. Love the diversity of the school. Love the fact that the teacher(s) and administration are very loving and very responsive to any questions or concerns. Very focused on creating respectful children. Can not say enough about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

I have 4 boys, one in elementary, middle and high school. Our 4th will start next year. We've had our kids at Notre Dame for 4 years and it was the best decision we've ever made for them. They're taking advanced classes, and are welcome in any sport or activity of their choosing. It's so much fun for them. Every parent and teacher knows their names and our family. The teachers sacrifice a great deal financially to teach our children and they do it with smiles and because they love to teach in this environment. What a great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 37%
Hispanic 22% 47%
Asian 11% N/A
Two or more races 4% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 14%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Texas A&M University
Midwestern State University
Texas Tech University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Nurse(s)
Music teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Art teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • TAPPS 1A Overall Henderson Championship Cup Award (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Dance club: Royals
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Latin Club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Doug Jones
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (940) 692-2811

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Ft. Worth
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Dance
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Dance club: Royals
  • Foreign language club: Latin Club
  • Gardening
  • Key Club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Texas A&M University
Midwestern State University
Texas Tech University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2821 Lansing Blvd
Wichita Falls, TX 76309
Website: Click here
Phone: (940) 692-6041

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Milam Elementary School
Wichita Falls, TX


Houston Elementary School
Wichita Falls, TX


Barwise Junior High School
Wichita Falls, TX


Crockett Elementary School
Wichita Falls, TX


Cunningham School
Wichita Falls, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT