Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rider High School

Public | 9-12 | 1697 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2010

By far the worst school my kids have attended. The administration will tell you one thing then do another after you are out the door. If your kids are on an individual education plan by all means leave this school now!!. The assistant principal is not a mentor and enjoys the abuse of power. They do have most teachers who care but it is luck of the draw which one your child will receive. Some help some collect a paycheck
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

Overall, the school is doing well considering the overcrowding situation, the new principal is trying to get a grasp on things. The Assistant Principal who does nothing but scream, yell, and belittle the students needs to find another occupation. Come on, you're not in the Marine Corp anymore, and your attitude gives little encouragement to the kiddoes to stay in school and succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

I definitely disagree with many of these reviews. Rider may be overcrowded but that is simply because it is the best choice in Wichita Falls. Rider is very sports and extracurricular oriented because they have such great sports teams and extracurricular programs. As for the Rider pep rallies, Rider Raider pride is something you cannot even understand unless you have attended the school and with a positive attitude. Of course you are going to dislike a school if you dislike going to school in general.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2008

I am a graduate of Rider High School and am currently enrolled at the University of Texas at Austin. I would not be where I am today without Rider high School. I was among the top of my class all four years while playing two varsity sports. I am a member of the 2007 Soccer 4A State Champions, and we were ranked 5th in the nation by Adidas that same year. What else is there to say about Rider? I was able to connect with not just a few friends, but I whole community through my high school. Striving for excellence in the class room, on the field, and in the community, I was always taught by my teachers to give back to something that had given me so much. Choose Rider, and let your child choose his/her own path because there are so many at RHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

I wish the two new reviews had been present when I signed my son up for Rider. We're a military family, and we try to research schools before we get to a new assignment. Rider looked great. The reality is that the school is extremely overcrowded; most of my son's classes have more than 30 students in them. As mentioned by previous reviewers, sports is a huge part of Rider life, as evidenced by the weekly pep rallies that were held during football season. Also as previously noted, the schools administration leaves much to be desired. The discipline at the school is ridiculous. Teachers are basically left to handle things themselves. Rider did make 'Annual Yearly Progress' last year according to NCLB, but with these class sizes, I doubt they will this year. Military parents beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2008

Rider is a good school, but lacks effective leadership from the principal. I have a son who graduated from Rider several years ago, and because WFISD has a choice program, my daughter now attends crosstown rival Wichita Falls High School. Rider is overcrowded and my visits with teachers reflected their frustration with discipline issues and low morale. Friends have told me that Rider office staff are uncooperative when help is needed. Conversely, after one year, we are very happy with WFHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

It's a nice school and all ,but it's a shame that so much emphasis is put on sports that a lot of good atheletes give up because they're not GOOD enough. And, there are way too many students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

It is an excellent school with fantastic teachers and even better students. Rider's school pride is radiated for miles.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2007

I just graduated from Rider Highschool and it was the best years of my life. This school is the best high school in Wichita Falls. Why is it the best? 1. It has an excellent education system and curriculum. Rider offers AP courses and prepares you for college. The teachers actually teach and are always there to help. 2. The school is not to big or to small. Students are able to have a social life! There are many extra-curricular activities and sports! Yes, there is 'Drama' but what school does not have drama? If had to choose one school to send my children it is definatly Rider. ROHO!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 10, 2007

Rider high school is the best secondary school in WFISD. Rider's reputation for oustanding academics and extra-curriculuar activities is unparalled in WFISD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

ROHO--need I say more? As both a Rider teacher and alumni, I speak on authority when I say Rider is an excellent public school. The students are friendly and capable. The parents are helpful and cooperative. The faculty and staff are a family united in the goal of producing life-long learners. Our reputation for excellence speaks volumes. Go RAIDERS!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2007

My brother graduated there & I went to my Jr. year at Rider. I loved it. The teacher I had were awesome.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 13, 2006

While Rider looks a little rough (old building), it is a great school with excellent Special Education and AJROTC programs, and wonderful emphasis on getting kids to college. Most of the teachers are very interested in the kids scholastic and personal development and very accessible to parents. And kids can't get away with a lot here- if they skip a class, are failing or in danger of failing, or step out of line the parent is usually notified in fairly short order, either through Email or a call. They are tight on discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2006

Great school, the special education department is great and really looks for the best interest of their students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 20, 2005

As a recent graduate of Rider, I can say that i'm surprised by the high ratings. The teachers hardly seem to care, the impression of only worrying about the paycheck is immense. Administrators and office workers are usually very bothered when asked to help on things. It's actually quite sad.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 25, 2005

Too many kids, not enough room. My son says he can barely get to class on time and that sometimes he is just stuck in the hall with the crowd. I will say that the counselors and teachers are helpful and really strive to help the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2004

Rider was a fantastic school when I attended! The teachers were all very supportive and the atmosphere was conducive to learning as well as to performing extracurricular activities. The best years of high school I had were when I was in A-Cap choir. I also was able to take advanced classes that helped prepare me for college courses like my freshman level English class. I was already writing at a college level when I was in high school. I breezed through college English with no problem! Great school, great teachers! I miss it!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

423 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

419 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

395 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

398 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

399 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

398 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students90%
Female89%
Male91%
Black or African American75%
Asian100%
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Special education57%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students95%
Female92%
Male97%
Black or African American71%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

475 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

500 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
63%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

431 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

5 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
65%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
72%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
34%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students77%
Female78%
Male77%
Black or African American67%
Asian89%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education40%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted77%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education56%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students93%
Female96%
Male89%
Black or African American82%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education40%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students69%
Female75%
Male63%
Black or African American47%
Asian82%
Hispanic57%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education14%
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students50%
Female61%
Male41%
Black or African American31%
Asian82%
Hispanic35%
Multiracial56%
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Special education6%
Not special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Gifted/talented93%
Non-Gifted48%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students83%
Female88%
Male79%
Black or African American71%
Asian95%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education21%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students63%
Female69%
Male56%
Black or African American35%
Asian84%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial40%
American Indian or Alaska Native67%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education10%
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted60%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students88%
Female91%
Male84%
Black or African American79%
Asian100%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education37%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted100%

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students81%
Female77%
Male85%
Black or African American73%
Asian100%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education36%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students76%
Female74%
Male78%
Black or African American61%
Asian95%
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education37%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 29%
Hispanic 21% 52%
Black 8% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 1%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 6%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4611 Cypress Avenue
Wichita Falls, TX 76310
Website: Click here
Phone: (940) 235-1077

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Notre Dame Catholic School
Wichita Falls, TX


Christ Academy
Wichita Falls, TX


Wichita Falls High School
Wichita Falls, TX



Wichita Christian School
Wichita Falls, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT