Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rider High School 1

Posted October 26, 2010
- a parent
By far the worst school my kids have attended. The administration will tell you one thing then do another after you are out the door. If your kids are on an individual education plan by all means leave this school now!!. The assistant principal is not a mentor and enjoys the abuse of power. They do have most teachers who care but it is luck of the draw which one your child will receive. Some help some collect a paycheck

Rider High School 3

Posted October 19, 2009
- a parent
Overall, the school is doing well considering the overcrowding situation, the new principal is trying to get a grasp on things. The Assistant Principal who does nothing but scream, yell, and belittle the students needs to find another occupation. Come on, you're not in the Marine Corp anymore, and your attitude gives little encouragement to the kiddoes to stay in school and succeed.


Rider High School 5

Posted July 13, 2009
- a student
I definitely disagree with many of these reviews. Rider may be overcrowded but that is simply because it is the best choice in Wichita Falls. Rider is very sports and extracurricular oriented because they have such great sports teams and extracurricular programs. As for the Rider pep rallies, Rider Raider pride is something you cannot even understand unless you have attended the school and with a positive attitude. Of course you are going to dislike a school if you dislike going to school in general.

Rider High School 5

Posted December 06, 2008
- a parent
I am a graduate of Rider High School and am currently enrolled at the University of Texas at Austin. I would not be where I am today without Rider high School. I was among the top of my class all four years while playing two varsity sports. I am a member of the 2007 Soccer 4A State Champions, and we were ranked 5th in the nation by Adidas that same year. What else is there to say about Rider? I was able to connect with not just a few friends, but I whole community through my high school. Striving for excellence in the class room, on the field, and in the community, I was always taught by my teachers to give back to something that had given me so much. Choose Rider, and let your child choose his/her own path because there are so many at RHS!

Rider High School 1

Posted November 19, 2008
- a parent
I wish the two new reviews had been present when I signed my son up for Rider. We're a military family, and we try to research schools before we get to a new assignment. Rider looked great. The reality is that the school is extremely overcrowded; most of my son's classes have more than 30 students in them. As mentioned by previous reviewers, sports is a huge part of Rider life, as evidenced by the weekly pep rallies that were held during football season. Also as previously noted, the schools administration leaves much to be desired. The discipline at the school is ridiculous. Teachers are basically left to handle things themselves. Rider did make 'Annual Yearly Progress' last year according to NCLB, but with these class sizes, I doubt they will this year. Military parents beware!


Rider High School 3

Posted July 06, 2008
- a parent
Rider is a good school, but lacks effective leadership from the principal. I have a son who graduated from Rider several years ago, and because WFISD has a choice program, my daughter now attends crosstown rival Wichita Falls High School. Rider is overcrowded and my visits with teachers reflected their frustration with discipline issues and low morale. Friends have told me that Rider office staff are uncooperative when help is needed. Conversely, after one year, we are very happy with WFHS.

Rider High School
no rating

Posted May 29, 2008
- a parent
It's a nice school and all ,but it's a shame that so much emphasis is put on sports that a lot of good atheletes give up because they're not GOOD enough. And, there are way too many students.

Rider High School 5

Posted September 12, 2007
- a student
It is an excellent school with fantastic teachers and even better students. Rider's school pride is radiated for miles.


Rider High School 5

Posted May 27, 2007
- a student
I just graduated from Rider Highschool and it was the best years of my life. This school is the best high school in Wichita Falls. Why is it the best? 1. It has an excellent education system and curriculum. Rider offers AP courses and prepares you for college. The teachers actually teach and are always there to help. 2. The school is not to big or to small. Students are able to have a social life! There are many extra-curricular activities and sports! Yes, there is 'Drama' but what school does not have drama? If had to choose one school to send my children it is definatly Rider. ROHO!

Rider High School 5

Posted May 10, 2007
- a parent
Rider high school is the best secondary school in WFISD. Rider's reputation for oustanding academics and extra-curriculuar activities is unparalled in WFISD.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rider High School
4611 Cypress Avenue, Wichita Falls, TX  76310
(940) 235-1077
Last modified Rider High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rider High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top