Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Trinity Christian Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Willow Park

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $181,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

TCA has provided a Christ-centered, college preparatory education for my children. The faculty and staff are well qualified and the atmosphere is truly a family one. We love TCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

Trinity Christian Academy (TCA) is truly a blessing from God!!! The teachers, staff and administration are such loving and caring individuals. Every morning, there are smiles, happiness and laughter throughout the buildings. The teachers greet their students with open and loving arms and it shows!!! I know that my daughter is safe and that her best interests are being met. As a parent, that is a wonderful feeling. The morals and values that are taught are life changing and it shows in all the students. The teachers, staff and administration take education very seriously and they absolutely love what they do. They all are truly making a difference!!!! In today's society, public schools, for example, are overcrowded and the level of discipline is declining. You know there is a problem when students are allowed to text on their phones during class periods. At TCA, no such things are allowed. Your children are learning!! They are receiving a wonderful and excellent education. Each day as I am picking up my daughter from school, there is such warmth in my heart knowing that my daughter is happy and can't wait to start school the very next day. What can I say? GOD IS GOOD!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

TCA has been such a blessing to our family. The teachers and staff all take an interest in each of our kids. We are in the elementary building and all the teachers know both of my kids by name...that is unheard of! Both my son and my daughter actually look forward to going to school, not necessarily because they "love" to study (hopefully that will come later!), but because they feel loved, nurtured, safe and cared for. I couldn't ask for a better learning environment for my kids. I feel blessed to get to be a parent at TCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2012

While my son has only been here 8 days I have seen a complete transformation in him. He is confident, challenged ,safe and happy. He was at Stuard elementary where he was repeatedly bullied with no help from anyone in the school..he loves his two teachers and has made some new friends. My husband and I have been welcomed by many parents and I love the Christian teachings!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2012

Trinity has some staff that are excellent, while other staff (teachers) are terribly lacking. You really have to pray your child is a lucky one and gets a good teacher. Unfortunately, unless you do your homework, you assume all teachers are par excellent-after all, it is a Christian, private school. Trinity has hired former public school teachers who conduct "business" as a public school teacher. Sadly, the students suffer this injustice and when a parent meets with the head of the school, parental concerns are quickly dismissed. As the head over the elementary spoke to me "your concerns are noted, but that does not mean anything will change; we cannot accommodate students on a one-on-one basis. We believe children must work in a group environment and adjust to that environment." When asked what about individualism and a child that is very unhappy (even after months of "adjustment") she said, "well, kids will work you if you allow them to." We took the child out of Trinity. A TEACHER makes or breaks a student. A TEACHER should be so wonderful a child cannot wait to get to school! And, the student is a quiet, very happy individual, but Trinity was successfully crushing his spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

My best fried left my public school for TCA to get a fresh start. He got what he asked for all right. The kids he met were total snobs, and convinced him that myself and everyone else at his old school were trash. I was treated badly by my own friend. When those kids tried of him, they verbally abused him and deserted him/ You can imagine the surprise and grim satisfaction I felt when he came crawling back to my doorstep to be for my forgiveness. Those TCA students are cruel and arrogant. Beware of sending your children there!


Posted February 2, 2012

My grandson began TCA in kindergarten. As the year progressed, we realized his class lagged behind academically compared to the other class and sorely lagged behind those of public school kindergarten. He received perfect behavior marks the entire year and was always complimented for his warm, happy disposition. When first grade began he was so excited, however, suddenly became withdrawn and quiet at home; he was very unhappy. We soon learned he was repeatedly not allowed his recess time, nor his snack time. When my daughter asked why he was not allowed recess and snack time, she was told because papers had not been completed. We realized the pressure was now on to catch these kids up academically! Each solution we offered in good spirit to remedy the situation was rejected, even though we stressed how important it is for a child to have recess and his snack as the other children. Days later, my daughter was verbally assaulted for "complaining" and told "staff and teachers come first at Trinity." She left the school that day crying, as the attack upon her was totally uncalled for, especially being she is a mom who simply wanted her child treated as an equal to the others.


Posted June 6, 2011

TCA has truly been a blessing to my family, my children feel loved and nurtured in a safe envirornment, even though the work is hard they truly encourage the kids to achieve and the kids respond! The families are great and the kids for the most part are truly student leaders and loving to each other. The outreach that TCA teachers & admin encourages is second to none! I feel very blessed at the education of our Lord is being taught to our children and being acted out on a daily basis. There love toward Jesus is shown in the way each person behaves with each other and even through their sports, coaches are great and truly care about the kids, they push them hard and you know what . . . they don't break! I'm excited that my kids are being challenged in every aspect of their education and life, through love in Jesus, sports, academics, friendships with students & faculty, and of course outreach. Thank you! Thank you Lord for providing awesome individuals to placed in my children's lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2010

If you want your child bullied and have NOTHING done about it, send your child here. Child after child has left because of bullying and the administration does absolutely nothing about it. Most of the child bullies are teachers kids. Some families (their kids) are favored, getting spots on teams when they don't deserve it. Coaches are taken to TCU football games by parents, and then gain favor. The administration is more concerned with how their school outward appearances than behaving like true Christians and doing the right thing. My child was hurt by this place. The High School is a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

Trinity Christian Academy is an excellent example of a Christian School. It is an ACSI accrediated school. It has been a blessing to our family. My children love it and the teachers are great. They have lead them not only academically but also spiritually. We have been at Trinity for 7 seven years and have loved how the school comes alongside and teaches the same Christian values we do at home. Over the years it has been exciting to see how the school has grown and how faithful God is. TCA is a ministry of God and lead by a very organized administration and school board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

I thought by sending my child to a private school they would be getting an above average education, but I was very wrong. TCA is lacking in the education department. Right now the school has one goal and that is to raise money to expand their school. They should be improving their education and replacing some of the teachers instead. They have some of the most incredible teachers and some of the worst. No matter how many complaints they get about those teachers they keep them on. I had to take my child out of the school, along with 2 other parents because of a teacher and I was not refunded because they care only about their expansion. Because I was withdrawing my child because of a teacher I should have recieved a FULL refund. On a positive note the other students and their parents are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

Trinity Christian Academy has been a great school for my daughters. They have dedicated teachers, a loving staff, and principals that strive to provide an excellent environment for learning. Christ is KING at this school, and my daughters have learned so much about His Word and His world. This school is a blessing to my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

We couldn't be more pleased with this school. Originally we placed our oldest son there because of small class sizes and apparent empathy for his 'condition'. We were so impressed we pulled our second child out of public school and into TCA also. Quality academics, small school and loaded with teachers and students that are extremely kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

Trinity Christian was such a blessing to my child. Dr. Barber and Mr. Skaggs as well as the teachers are amazing. They truly 'practice what they preach'. It is a loving environment and very strong academically. The teachers and administrators truly love the Lord and it is reflected in everything about Trinity Christian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

I am a grandparent with one going into 3rd and one starting k5. We have had the 3rd grader there since kindergarten, too. Each year, the teachers seem to be 'the best.' Dr barber knows all of the students, is a deternibed leader, and has the school in her soul, being one of the founders. The standards are never too high when you want your child to reach for the stars. The school is building on because the waiting list is growing each year. It is an excellent school


Posted October 29, 2007

The teachers are never on top of things. The standards are too high for any students to reach
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

A lot has changed since the Feb. 2006 review concerning extracurricular activities. The 6-man football team won state, but even more importantly, the students are involved in reading and writing contests, bookmaking, science and history contests. And there are other sports to participate in. But the main reason for the school is a Christian environment and it fulfills that aspect. I attended a K-8 private school and my daughter did, too. This school is the best I have been involved in. My grandson started in Kinder and is now going into 2nd. Each year I thought he had the best teacher and they just keep getting better. I can't wait to meet his new teacher. Dr. Barber cares so much, you would think every one was her child. There is art, music, and Spanish. They have a library, gym, and are raising money to build on. It is a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2007

We are so pleased with Trinity Christian Academy. The teachers do a great job preparing the students to meet the high academic standards. The enviroment is supportive and encouraging. They also have high character standards. My children's hearts are being shaped as well as their minds. I can't imagine my children anywhere else. It's worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

This is a wonderful Christian school with children, parents, and teachers who are grateful for the caring and positive learning environment provided here. The school has high level academic classes with a small town feel and small class size. The only drawback is the lack of extracurricular activities available including sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 31%
Hispanic 35% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Black 0% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (817) 441-7912

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4954 Interstate 20 Service Road
Willow Park, TX 76087
Phone: (817) 441-7901

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mccall Elementary School
Willow Park, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT