Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
95 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

We've been helping students shine for over 25 years! St. Stephen's strives to inspire a Lifelong Love of Learning. We believe in and enroll Smaller Classes. Our curriculum is Well-Rounded & Challenging. Our core values promote a Character Building learning environment. To truly experience St. Stephen's, you must see it for yourself. Call 512-847-9857 to schedule a visit today! In the meantime, visit our website at www.ststeveschool.org.
January 18, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
We've been helping students shine for over 25 years! St. Stephen's strives to inspire a Lifelong Love of Learning. We believe in and enroll Smaller Classes. Our curriculum is Well-Rounded & Challenging. Our core values promote a Character Building learning environment. To truly experience St. Stephen's, you must see it for yourself. Call 512-847-9857 to schedule a visit today! In the meantime, visit our website at www.ststeveschool.org.
Posted January 18, 2016

St. Stephen's Episcopal School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
We've had 4 core teachers so far and have loved them all dearly! Specials teachers have been great, too (art, p.e., spanish, music, etc)


St. Stephen's Episcopal School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Homework varies a lot by grade. In 1st/2nd grade, we were given a packet of homework options at the beginning of each month with about 10 different math activities and 10 different language arts activities. Kids got to choose the 5 activities they wanted to do each week and turn homework in on each Friday. You had the whole week to work on it so that if you had sports practices or other extra curriculars on one or two nights, you didn't fall behind on your homework.

St. Stephen's Episcopal School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Students are encouraged to be their best selves. Academics are rigorous and a lot is expected of them. But I think they end up surprising themselves with how much they can accomplish!

St. Stephen's Episcopal School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely! The "Not So Creepy Critters" program is one example of that. A homeschooling family from New Braunfels visits the school every week and brings their great curriculum as well as their "critters" to meet the students. Students get to connect with the natural world by learning about conservation, preservation and getting up close and personal with these animals.


St. Stephen's Episcopal School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Our kids really live by the school's honor code! Teachers work hard to promote kindness in all things.

St. Stephen's Episcopal School 5

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
This is our third year at SSES and we couldn't be more please with the school. We have two children at SSES. The blended grades actually work out very well. Daily PE and recesses provide plenty of time for the kids to get their wiggles out and learn about fitness and nutrition. Spanish, studio art and music round out the curriculum. Children do attend a weekly "spiritual formation" class and daily chapel, but it isn't heavy-handed at all. The campus is amazing! 52 acres of beautiful trees, an awesome garden that the kids get to work in, a nature trail, a really neat labyrinth, three playgrounds, and sports fields. I've heard that under the previous administrations academics were starting to slip, but I can assure you that those problems have been corrected with our new head of school (currently in her 4th year at SSES). You won't find common core and "teaching to the test" here. We've witnessed solid curriculum and top-notch teachers. Classes are small enough that our children receive a tailored education to fit their needs. Our children attended public kinder and 1st grade, and our experience at SSES is so vastly different - there really is no comparison! Parent involvement is huge at this school. The PFO (Parents & Friends Organization, similar to a PTA at other schools) is amazing! We have have monthly socials and really enjoy each others company. The PFO helps facilitate events like book fair, all-school Halloween party, Grandparent's Day, Veteran's Day, Thanksgiving Feast, Earth Day Community Event, and our two major fundraisers, Fun Run and Extravaganza. The amount of parent support in all of these events is unreal compared to what we witnessed in the public school. And I know that parents wouldn't be so willing to participate if they didn't love the school and the education their children are getting there. If you're in Wimberley, Driftwood, Dripping Springs, Kyle, Buda, or San Marcos and you're looking for private schools, you owe it to yourself and your child to visit St. Stephen's. The minute you drive onto the campus, you'll know you're someplace special.

St. Stephen's Episcopal School 4

Posted November 03, 2014
- a community member
I taught at SSES for years. My experience prior to SSES included twelve years teaching in public school, including Wimberley ISD and Dripping ISD. I also had three children that attended SSES and my youngest daughter started in the 2 year old program and went all the way through 8th grade. She then went to HS at St. Andrews in Austin and graduated with honors from the University of the South in TN. I will never forget our pediatrician asking her about peer pressure, she was in middle school at the time, her response was, "I go to SSES; we don't have peer pressure. We are a family!" The school is celebrating it's 25th year and it is going strong! SSES offers an environment that allows students to try new things with the full support of their community. This is a wonderful way to help children develop a strong self image, balanced with the responsibility for supporting others and caring for their world.


St. Stephen's Episcopal School 4

Posted December 27, 2013
- a parent
When our family was searching for a private school in the area we really appreciated the St. Stephen s campus and how it translated to opportunity for our kids. It s a vast and beautiful campus, with tons of trees, a nature trail, a garden and just lots of outdoor space for eating lunch and playing. They also have a field for playing sports, and a gym with all the equipment for a well-rounded P.E. curriculum. And honestly, that was the ultimate determinant for our family. We wanted a smaller private school education, but we wanted our kids to have access to a real P.E. program like we had growing up with the fun competitive games, learning about winning and losing, sportsmanship, and beginning fundamentals of the sports that they may choose to play as they get older. Most of the other area private school alternatives just didn t compare with what St. Stephen s offered in terms of facilities and having a dedicated P.E. teacher and curriculum. And they have P.E. every day of the week, which is hard to find in any setting these days. This was something from our childhood we wanted our children to experience, and they get to at St. Stephen s.

St. Stephen's Episcopal School 4

Posted December 14, 2013
- a parent
I've had a child at the school now for three years and he has grown so much - socially and academically. My second child started this year and she has quickly developed a curiosity and love for learning that is beyond any of my expectations. Having them in a safe and loving environment - especially in these early years - is very important to us, and St. Stephen's has been the right choice for our family.

Nearby schools

St. Stephen's Episcopal School
6000 Fm 3237, Wimberley, TX  78610
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (512) 847-9857
Last modified St. Stephen's Episcopal School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top