Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 5 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rita Smith Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
I have been a part of Smith Elementary's school for all 3 years it has been opened, and I really believe that the kids and their success are central to the school. The teachers are of exemplary quality, and the leadership style of Mr. Winn and Mrs. Saldivar is beyond compare. I am so proud that my children can attend this school, and look forward to the excellence this campus will prepare them for in their academic successes!

Rita Smith Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
So far, it has been great, teachers, facilities, etc


Rita Smith Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2009
- a parent
We feel extremely fortunate that our children attend this school. The principals and staff are VERY caring individuals, and work hard to make all the students successful. For us, this has carried over into all areas. The school makes an effort to recognize children for behaviours and events inside and outside the school walls. Just this week someone outside of Wylie asked where we lived and what school our children attend. When told, she said, 'I know that school. That's a good school.' Kudos.

Rita Smith Elementary School 2

Posted April 14, 2009
- a parent
Although the school has great TAKs scores, it is because the school focuses on bubble kids (kids who are close to passing or failing the TAKs). There are many good teachers at Smith, but when there is an inadequate teacher, the principal will stand behind him or her to the detriment of the students. The school also falls short when it comes to serving students with special needs.

Rita Smith Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 11, 2008
- a parent
Smith Elementary is by far the best public elementary in Wylie, TX. We received a TEA 'Exemplary' rating after only being open one year! The parents are so involved! My daughter has been a 'Bulldog' since the schools opening in August 2007 and we are so excited for our other 2 children to attend there in the future. Mr. Winn (the principal) and all of his staff are the best!


Rita Smith Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2008
- a parent
This is a brand new school. It is very nice and has all the latest technology! The Principals are fabulous and so are all of the teachers. Every Friday they have 'Bulldog Boogie' which is basically an academic pep rally. They recognize the children for different accomplishments complete with certificates and dog tags lol The children can be recognized for academics, AR points, behavior and character traits. They promote a very positive attitude and have cute cheers that the kids just love! I am very impressed!

Rita Smith Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 01, 2008
- a parent
This is a Great school, the staff are friendly, my child's teacher stays in communication with us regarding my child's progress. The kids love the watchdog dad program, and they urge the parents to be involved in their child's education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rita Smith Elementary School
P O Box 490, Wylie, TX  75098
(972) 429-2540
Last modified Rita Smith Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rita Smith Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 7 reviews.