Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dodd Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 602 students

 
 

Living in Wylie

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $155,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2009

We moved to Wylie basically for the schools. We had heard great things about them and we have not been disappointed at all. We are very pleased and more than satisfied with Dodd Elementary. The staff seem to genuinely care-- from the teachers, cafeteria and office people. It is run very efficiently. Even if you have to call-- they are very friendly on the phone. My children are excited to go to school and are learning quite well there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

I am thrilled with Dodd! The front office staff does a great job- the new secretary (I think started last year) is super polite and very efficient. The principal and teachers really care. I could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

My daughter attends Dodd elementary and I'm quite pleased with how things are run there. The principal is a great leader and I care about our children. The parents involvement is also great and I often enjoy lunch with my daughter and I'm happy to see other parents to who take the time go, it means allot to the kids, I know it does to mine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

Dodd is wonderful! My family loves it there. The best school in Wylie by far! We have been there for 4 years and have not had one single negative experience. The teachers are great, the principal is great! Way to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

My family and I moved to Wylie for the school district. We had a wonderful Kindergarten teacher, who went that extra mile for her students! We now have a great first grade teacher, who has really got our daughter excited about reading! I have nothing but praise about Dood. I couldn't be happier with our decision to relocate to Wylie. Dood is a great place for both students and their family's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2006

We have loved our child being at Dodd. Average on education level, but teachers and principal treat every child equal and fair. Front desk could be more friendly, but education is wonderfully cared for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

School and district are lacking in Technology programs at the Elementary level. Not enough extracurricular programs for all ages of children. The academics are average not anything amazing. There are a few brilliant teachers but overall your child will get an average education at Dodd. Principal is great! But one person just isn't enough to make a great academic experience for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2005

Principle is exceptional. He has hired an excellent staff. Very caring teachers. A school with a positive attitidue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

Teachers and principal truly care about the kids. Warm, friendly environment. The best elementary school in Wylie!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2005

My child is just in kindergarten, so we don't have a lot to compare it to. I really like the principal and our teacher. The kids seem to have a fair amount of extracurricular activities and their is a high level of parental involvement. Not exactly sure of the quality of academic programs because I don't have anything to compare it to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2004

Dodd Elementary has caring teachers. My daughter just started first grade at Dodd after attending a school in Plano. We have found that Dodd does not offer the academic challenges that Plano schools offer. Plano has many more programs to help the students to excel. The curriculum in Plano is more rigorous and fast paced. Though Dodd is willing to try and work with the children who are advanced; the lack of curriculum available for them makes it hard. The teachers just don't have the time to spend with the advanced children. Is having nice teachers enough to make a great school? I don't think so. Maybe things will improve with the growth in the community and a higher demand for a more rigorous academic program in order to keep up with other districts. On a scale of 1 to 10 Dodd is a 6.5 for quality of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2004

Dodd Elementary is an excellent school. Our family has been attending this school since it was built in 1999. I attribute the excellence of this school directly to the leadership provided by the current principal, Mr Scott Winn. The atmosphere at the school is warm and nuturing. Communication between the teaching staff and parents is excellent. The principal has always responded to our concerns promptly and personally called again later to follow up. Good character and responsibility are both taught and rewarded. One of our children required accomodation due to an anxiety disorder. The principal, Mr Winn, assigned him to a teacher that fit his special needs and the teacher willingly met with my son several times before the school year started (on her own time) to help him transition more easily into the new school year. There is more to a great school than outstanding test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2004

This is the first year my child attended WISD. I must say that the staff and especially the principal has such a caring and loving attitude towards the children. They are strong believers in recognizing accomplishments, good behavior, etc. The only thing I would suggest is that this school think about having the children wear uniforms. It's sad the way some of the parents would dress their children. The girls were dressing like they were in middle school, and when you're trying to encourage your 7 or 8 year old child to be and act like a 'child', it's hard to do when they are around children that look 14 and 15 years old. Overall, I would highly recommend the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

107 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

107 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

130 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

130 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

132 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education100%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students93%
Female92%
Male96%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education60%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female92%
Male85%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education67%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Black or African American96%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education78%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students95%
Female100%
Male91%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education78%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female95%
Male88%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education69%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students86%
Female88%
Male85%
Black or African American81%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education70%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented92%
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Female80%
Male80%
Black or African American80%
Asian43%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education71%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education63%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students79%
Female82%
Male75%
Black or African American75%
Asian71%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education43%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)58%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 29%
Black 19% 13%
Hispanic 14% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 14%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P O Box 490
Wylie, TX 75098
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 429-3440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT