Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westfield School 4

Posted October 01, 2013
- a parent
They offer many extracurricular programs for the students that range from athletics, to music, to amazing theater performances, etc. They do a good job of including all of the students in the options given. They also encourage and receive an amazing amount of volunteer help from the parents and community. The teaching staff are great. They work well with parents, address any concerns timely and show respect to the students.

Westfield School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Westfield Elementary is an awesome school! The teachers are wonderful and really care about teaching students to enjoy learning. Mrs. Thomas, the principal is outstanding - she is readily accessible to all the students and knows just about every student by name! The PTA is also excellent and parent involvement is the best I've ever seen! I have a 1st grader and a 2nd grader at Westfield and both have loved it from day one!


Westfield School 5

Posted August 09, 2013
- a parent
Westfield Elementary is an amazing school! Within 2 weeks of attending kindergarten my daughter was reading & loving it. The teachers are involved with each and every student. They have come to my children's birthday parties and sporting events to show their support and take an active interest in every childs education and learning style. The PTA has an exceptionaly high level of parental participation as well. The principal takes a hands on role and knows each student by first name and makes it a point to make all feel valued and appreciated. My daughter attended a very pricey pre-school before and would cry and not want to go to school, within days of starting at Westfield she couldn't wait to get to school. Even now, two year later, in anticipation of school starting on Aug 20th she has been singing, "Merry Christmas Westfield Elementary, Merry Christmas Westifield Elementary, May your Christmas be all that's it's meant to be, when you gather round the Christmas tree we wish you a very Merry Christmas from Westfield Elementary!" The volunteer MOM art program is amazing the play performed was nothing short of professional & thoroughly enjoyable. They bring education to life.

Westfield School 3

Posted January 19, 2012
- a community member
Be glad Principal Wathen is gone. Obviously, people who wrote reviews saying he was great did not really know him. He was manipulative, and very dishonest to say the least. Now there is a great administrator who really knows her stuff! This is a highly ranked school because it is in a very wealthy area. BUT the teachers are wonderful, the PTA really amazing, and the NEW administrator is great too! You will not be disappointed!

Westfield School 5

Posted February 26, 2005
- a parent
The academic programs are better than the some of the other schools in Utah county I have been told by other parents from other schools. The Principal at Westfield is excellent. they listen to the parents concerns and work with the children. The children bring home a lot of special art projects that they have done and they work on science projects and get the children to think and ask questions. There is a lot of parent involvement at the school and many more activities that the children can participate in. We just moved in the area and absolutely love the school.


Westfield School 2

Posted February 19, 2005
- a parent
There are no sports programs here. The cafeteria menu is geared for adults. The restrooms seem like they are always filthy. There are no extracirricular activities. Recess is caos. There are no procedures anywhere. I think there are tremendous improvements to be made!

Westfield School 5

Posted August 22, 2004
- a parent
Principal Wathen is one of the best principals out there. He is always looking out for the best interests of the child, hires the best teachers available and makes the whole school experience fun for the child. I've been on the PTA and had the opportunity to see his thoughts and actions on how to make the school better. He's very supportive of the PTA and easy to get a long with. Parents definitely feel as if they have a say in their child's education. I am certain the previous comment must have been made for other reasons than the silly one stated. Our PTA does very well in raising funds for the school. We have an excellent PTA. The previous gentleman must have some other personal beef with Mr. Wathen. Westfield boasts some of the highest state scores, check for yourself.

Westfield School 5

Posted August 08, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Westfield School 1

Posted April 11, 2004
- a parent
I hate the school. Principal Wathen is wasting the school district's money on stupid high-tech things that are never used. If you don't believe me, go to the cafeteria's stage and see the 'Smart Ball' game. Even if they do use it, it is pointless to own! It teaches colors, numbers (1-10) and shapes. Every kindergartner on up knows the basic colors, numbers and shapes! I now have my child enrolled at Northridge Elementary, Orem, UT. It is a much better school.

Westfield School 5

Posted November 05, 2003
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westfield School
380 South Long Dr, Alpine, UT  84004
(801) 763-7040
Last modified Westfield School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westfield School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top