Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cedar City High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 8, 2013

The school is the best in Cedar City. It would be nice if there was a charter school option for grades 9-12 in Cedar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

Of all the High-Schools in Utah, Cedar High School seemingly trumps them all! With epic teachers, a new building, and a very friendly environment, (And not the mention the best 3(A) Band in the State!) Cedar High is a legend among legends! REDMEN!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2012

I LOVE CEDAR HIGH SCHOOL SO MUCH!!!! Its the BEST SCHOOL EVER!!! I never wanna go to another school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2010

You get what you want to get out of school, and if you don't want an excellent education, you'll get one at Cedar High. True, I didn't learn a ton in all of my classes, but I always had several exceptional teachers every year who could've been earning a lot more money somewhere else. I especially loved the AP and honors curriculum. Those teachers are whom I compared all of my college professors to, and my high school teachers at CHS came out head and shoulders above them. For example, I studied linguistics and never found a language teacher better than Herr Corry. Not all of the teachers at Cedar are this exceptional, but there are enough to make a difference.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2009

I am a graduate of CHS. I now have children at CHS. I felt that they had a great program in the eighties, but as a parent seeing it through adult eyes I really appreiciate all the CHS staff does for my student. They ave worked with him in many ways, and in not lost in the shuffle. The teachers put in much more than they get paid for, i feel it has been a very well rounded education for my children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

This school is rather disappointing, as a student. I would like to consider myself an advanced student when it comes to literature. I have asked several times to be moved up at least one class, because I was literally finishing the work assigned us in class, or reading the books in a few hours. However, each time I asked, I was rejected. Also, their sports programs completely eclipse their teaching programs. Students who participate in any sport are immediately given special attention, such as getting extra time to do homework, extra credit when they do well at a game, etc. I find this both annoying and unfair, as I work very, very hard for my grades, and the other students get theirs handed to them on a silver platter - or in this case, a red and gold one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2009

I attended here for all 4 years of high school, and I loved the atmosphere. They had advanced classes available, and the teaching was pretty good, but what I really liked was the people. There were so many different types of people, but everyone got along.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2008

I love Cedar High School its been a great experience from the begining.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2007

The teachers are completely insane, the drama department has been ruined the art department is sliding. burn it down.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2006

Cedar is a wonderful place to live and CHS a fun and clean school to attend. I haven't been to Cedar much since I graduated in '97, but I hear it has grown substantially. I enjoyed my three years at CHS and would recommend it to any decent individual desiring a pleasant and safe learning environment. It can be intellectually stimulating as well, if a student so chooses. A student has many opportunities to take AP tests for college credit: Calculus, American History, and Psychology to name a few.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 31, 2005

As a graduate of Cedar High School, and after reading that review by a current student, I felt like I should put in a review of my own defending the school's ability to actually teach. Yes the teachers are inspiring--downright entertaining, some of them--and they bring out best and help make it fun. The school has its problems, like anywhere, but grammar is grammar and I can assure you they are teaching it at CHS. That is assuming, of course, the student was paying attention to 5th grade writing rules before they got to high school. CHS pays the most attention to its sports and band programs, but it does have a great choral tradition--3A state champions in 1991.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 28, 2005

i'm a sudent at chs. It's a funny school and lots of things to do around here. i am more thank for the teacher here. The teacher the most helpful people here.thanks for your time.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 87% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 86% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 40% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 40% in 2010.

2010

 
 
64%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 58% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
64%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 68% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
77%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 42% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
71%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 75% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
90%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 77%
Hispanic 8% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

703 West 600 South
Cedar City, UT 84720
Phone: (435) 586-2820

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Success Academy
Cedar City, UT



Integrity House (YIC)
Cedar City, UT




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT