Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hill Field School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2014

My son attended here for kindergarten and first grade. He had amazing teachers both years. The low Great Schools rating that Hill Field received is in no way indicative of the safe, quality school environment that we experienced. My one concern was the lack of parental involvement. I feel that being a school with mostly military kids, more parents would be involved, sadly, many were not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2014

we moved here in the middle of the year and we are very pleased with how welcome the staff was, they made my daughters transition smooth. PTA is great about informing everyone about upcoming events and looking or ways to involve others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2012

I loved hill field from pre k-3rd grade and i miss them so much and so does my brother josh Sincerly,Jaeden White


Posted March 29, 2012

My child is just finishing kindergarten and we love Hill Field. Mrs. Moore is a great teacher with much experience, a good, caring attitude and patience. The Principal and other staff there are great as well. Not as much parental involvement as there should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

Thanks to the efforts of the PTA, parents, and administration, Hill Field Elementary just added a second playground structure! This is their 4th playground improvement since Dr. Bryner's arrived at the school 8 years ago (expanded playground area, 1/4-mile walking/running track, 7 exercise stations, and now a second large play area/structure with 4 slides, monkey bars, fun wheels, stepping stones, huge climbing net, and a climbing wall. The PTA, parental support of school fundraisers, the school district, and grants acquired by the administration funded the last two improvements. This school has great families, teachers, coaches, tutors, and support staff that are focused on helping students achieve. Attendance for parent-teacher conferences is between 96-99% every year. We are grateful to have parent and base (HAFB) volunteers throughout the school each day (lunch room, tutoring, classrooms, and for evening events). Visit the school's web site for more information.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 3, 2010

We moved here in January 2010, so my 2 school aged children have attended Hill Field for the last half of the school year. The teachers they had both seemed very removed from communicating with parents. Both teachers were great with the kids, especially my son's 3rd grade teacher, Mr. E. I think the school gets an unfair rating based on the fact because it is a school with a high turnout based on the fact that a lot of the kids that attend are from military families, and a lot of the parents either work or are tdy, which accounts for lack of parental involvement. I believe the school is great academically & I believe Hill Field is a GREAT school. The only improvements I would suggest is more open communication between teacher & parent, a bigger playground that will address the amount of children that attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

My daughters are both attending Hill Field. The school is great. The principal, Mr. Bryner really cares about the children and always has time to listen to the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

My son attended Hill Field's first year of all day kindergarten and loved it so much he's excited for school this year. However, we've moved and will be attending another school in the district. I feel I've made a mistake about not getting a variance for him to attend Hill Field again. Mrs. Moore is one of the best kindergarten teachers. . . she kept me up to date with everything and Mr. Briner is just the best Principal for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

Teachers and faculty have no idea how to communicate with parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2008

Hill Field is a great school! The teachers and staff love what they do and it shows!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

Love the school, great leadership, my daughter loves it as well
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

As a teaching professional, as well as a parent, my daughter attends Hill field elementary, and I could not ask for a better school - Highly recommend.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 14, 2006

my kids have been at hill field for 3yrs and they love there teachers and the staff at the school have really worked with us and our son who had ADHD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

I teach at HFE. The teachers have a passion for our diverse community. The hardest part of our job is getting to know and learn about our parents and families, then having them move away. I had 18 moves in my classroom this last year. It was difficult to keep up with the children coming and going. This is pretty typical... over 600 moves this past year school-wide. I believe we teachers are dedicated, in that we work very hard to keep up with the challenges this brings with it. The greatest part of my teaching is that I get to work with children from all over the world. Everyone has so much to share. Our principal, faculty and staff puts in many overtime hours in behalf our the children in our care. We would love to have more playground help and a K Playground!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 6, 2006

Our son attended K. and 1st. Good: after school activities, school lunches, location to base, and the principal, Mr. Bryner is A+. He encourages the students in leadership, academia and caring for others. Poor: another parent spoke of the low supervision during recess, which I 100% agree with. Utah does not fund their schools and it shows. HUGE class sizes. PTO is more concerned with politics than students. Also, (this may be good or bad) this school follows the Utah curriculum which is heavily influenced by the LDS church (Mormon).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

hill field is a wonderful school. very close to base housing. the teachers are great and have really worked with me and my son
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

I think Hill Field is wonderful. I came from California where my kids were rushed to learn and ended up hating the school and teachers. When they started here, they found the school to be relaxed and the teachers very responsive. I have a special needs son who is challenging but Mrs. Fortin was wonderful in helping him excel in first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 77%
Hispanic 15% 15%
Two or more races 7% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Black 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

389 South 1000 East
Clearfield, UT 84015
Phone: (801) 402-2350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Wasatch School
Clearfield, UT


Antelope School
Clearfield, UT


Vae View School
Layton, UT


Doxey School
Sunset, UT


Lincoln School
Layton, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT