Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Davis Jr High School

Public | 7-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 5, 2012

North Davis is the best ever. Our Musical Department has grown and improve so much. Yes, there are rude people, but if you let the school know, they will take care of it ASAP. Especially if it is bullying. NDJ has GREAT teachers, they are very felixible to met your needs. Best school in the district :)


Posted February 11, 2012

NDJ is Awesome! I love the school. There is a wonderful staff and a lot of fun extra curricular activities you can do. For example, there is MESA, SOPE, Chess Club, Program Care, Peer Support, and many others. All in all NDJ is the best school.


Posted January 15, 2012

NDJHS is the worst school in Utah. As a former student I was bullied everyday. Everyone kept calling me "Afro-Head" because my hair was short and very curly, one classmate even asked if I had a stapler in my hair. I kept going to the principal's office, I literally cried and begged my parents to let me stay at home, my parents even went to he principal to stop the bullying; but nothing was done about it. When my family and I moved overseas (military) and I got tranfered to another school, I had to see that school's therapist every week until I went to high school. I 150% recommened against sending anyone to NDJHS. Its a nightmare turned into reality.


Posted January 28, 2011

At times it can be tough to teach at North Davis, but very rewarding. We have an amazing variety of students here, and we try to learn a lot together, and have some fun along the way. The kids here are friendly, and easier to get to know than some places I have taught. Almost every single instance of parental interaction I've had has been positive and cooperative -- the community has been pleasant to work with. And I feel like the teachers here really care, or we wouldn't be here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 13, 2010

As a former student, I consider the time I spent going to NDJHS (7th-9th grade) the worst, unforgetable years I've had to endure since I began receiving a formal education - and I have masters degree! My classmates were rude, crass and low class. There was no commaraderie, unless you belonged to the right cliques or were members of the predominate religion. Kids bullied other kids on a regular basis and fights were as common as what you'd see on the reality prison TV show, 'Locked Up.' The administration was hypocritical and really didn't give a damned, save for a select few. Because of the poor quality of education I received there, I had A LOT of ground to cover when I transfered to a private HS with a rigorous college prep program. I would not recommend this school to ANY parent if you want to avoid such a scholastic nightmare!


Posted February 18, 2010

As a parent of a current and past NDJH students, I believe that the staff and students are rude and have no sympathy for children who attend there whom receive special education services. I have witnessed students bullying and harassing each other and cussing in the halls.I have also heard of the many fist fights that take place among the students on a weekly basis. I also have friends who dislike this school due to the fact that the school administration does not handle bullying and harassing of fellow students seriously. I have heard and experienced that the students at NDJH are some of the rudest, disrespectful children I have ever seen. I would not recommend North Davis as a place of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

This school is just down right amazing! The teachers and staff are a delight! Go North Davis!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2009

I really like my school because of the wonderful staff the teachers down to the lunch ladies they are just so nice !! Only they give you to much homework!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2009

North Davis is a very misunderstood school. There are many rough kids here, and kids who are not accepted other places. North Davis' faculty really cares about these kids. There is a feeling of tolerance there. The Drama Program is wonderful. The after school program is the best I have seen. There is a strong emphasis of letting the kids be leaders. They are doing a great job of turning our kids into tomorrow's leaders... Jr. High is usually a horrible place. This one leaves kids wanting to go back. Weird, huh?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

My student has been at this school a year. The teachers are very good at what they do. The teachers all know my students name and are looking at for my students best intersest. I will admit that there are problems but I substitute in the same district and find basically the same problems at every junior high I have been to so it is not a one school thing. My student has been able to be on the high honor roll the entire time while participating in some wonderful extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

The school is taken care of decently but the kids inside don't care about the school at all. You hear and see fights, cussing, and kissing all through the halls. The teachers are decent but overall not a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2008

When I first began attending North Davis Junior High I was very excited. The school was shiny new and obviously taken care of. The staff was friendly enough and I had no larger problems than any other teenager; too much homework. However, as I've recently discovered, the employees are both rude and ignorant to their own policys. While they inforce only some rules they 'stongly enforce' others. Not to mention you only become aware of certain rules after you break them. They have no tolerance for such circumstances. All in all, after nearly a year I have formed the strong opinion that, though the building itself is a wonderful place/sight, the employees are under trained and unequiped with the necessary patience that is required to handle teenagers of this day and age.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

343 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
57%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 77%
Hispanic 23% 15%
Black 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

835 South State
Clearfield, UT 84015
Phone: (801) 402-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Trident School
Layton, UT






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT