Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Channing Hall

Charter | K-8 | 663 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Draper

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $285,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2014

My children are getting a world class education at this school. Channing Hall is an accredited International Baccalaureate academy serving grades K-8. They have a rigorous curriculum, highly qualified teachers, safe environment, excellent communication between school and home, and an actively engaged community. Two of my children have moved on to high school. Both were well prepared to meet the educational demands and transitioned smoothly. The principal of Corner Canyon High School, Mary Bailey, said, "Across the board, Channing Hall students were not only prepared for the rigorous courses of high school, but they had honed their skills for organizing and following through. Channing Hall students adjusted well socially and academically to our new school and have been positive contributors!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2014

This school has good intentions but falls short. I had my kids at this school for 6 years and I put in countless volunteer hours. Our family is leaving because of the many gaps in education and the lack of organization and leadership. If you have a child above average do not waste your and their time at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

At public school my daughter was at the low end of normal academically and so never got the extra in-class help she needed. She started slipping through the cracks and was lost in the shuffle but as long as she met the state requirements that was "good enough" and this was only 1st grade! She started 2nd grade at Channing Hall and at this school "good enough" is not good enough. Right away she was flagged as needing extra help in math and reading and got the tutoring she needs. I have seen her ability skyrocket and she is now performing above average and well above state requirements. She actually ENJOYS reading! The staff and aids have been a blessing and knew how to help her without making her feel like one of the "slow" kids. In my 9 years in public school with other children I have yet to see a principal who is so on top of teacher performance and student well-being. I love the uniforms, the teacher-student ratio, the emphasis on service projects...everything! Next year I will have kindergartener and 6th grader attend also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

Channing Hall is one of a kind. I attended my 6th-8th grade years, and I have nothing but fond memories. I graduated in 2011 and quickly discovered that I was not only ready for high school in general, but also my honors and AP classes. The challenging curriculum at CH prepared me for the challenging years of high school I have experienced so far. My friends prefer to pretend that the "awkward transition from elementary to high school" never happened. I'm the one who has nothing but good things to say about my middle school experience. It made me "an agile learner who values others' perspectives and knows how to learn." My teachers at CH set the bar for educational excellence. I often reminisce about the time they spent opening my eyes to the world. I consider them the best mentors, inspirations, and friends I will ever have. I still go back to visit. Each time, it feels as though I've returned home. I received the best education from the best educators, but more than that, I was taught how to be a good person. Someday I hope to return to the halls of CH as a teacher myself, and presuming everything falls into place, my children will attend Channing Hall as well.


Posted January 30, 2014

I have been a teacher here since it opened. Many challenges and obstacles await a brand new school that is working to obtain authorization from the IBO. We go over and beyond the duties of a regular school teacher. We have over 100 hours of professional development each year. We each have a teaching coach, we collaborate regularly and we construct projects that are cross-curricular. We expose students to other cultures and other ideas that may be different from their own and encourage them to think critically. All students participate in community service. Every student (K-8) has a PE, music, art and Spanish teacher. We have a school-wide science fair and participate in the Art Inspirations program. We have sports teams for grades 6-8 who compete against other charter schools. In doing all of these things, teachers have little tolerance for mis-behavior and bullying. Kids and parents are held responsible. In this day and age when everything is everyone else's fault, parents need take a step back, find the root of the problem, which is usually at home, and stop blaming the schools. We love teaching and we want every student to succeed and become caring members of society.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 27, 2014

We are trying to get our elementary student out of this school. I do not recommend putting your children in Channing Hall. Besides the dirty halls and classrooms, the administration, office staff and the teachers are very sub par.Our child was way ahead in a public school and has fallen behind in Channing Hall The drop off and pick up system is a joke and very unorganized. The computes are outdated and the overall experience at Channing Hall has been horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

Channing Hall has the whole package -- caring teachers, involved parents, strong leadership, and solid character education with the IB program. They make an effort to challenge students at every ability level. Our daughters love it and we couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

Great Charter School! Our family has been at Channing Hall since it's inception (6 yrs). Our two boys really enjoy going to school! The teachers are dedicated and go the extra mile for our kids. Parental involvement at the school and with the students is encouraged and demonstrates a commitment to doing the best for the students. The administration is dedicated to quality teaching. BUT the best thing in the school has been the atmosphere in which our boys can express themselves safely with teachers and among the peers. Everyone is excepted as they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2011

My children have attended Channing Hall for 5 years. The teachers and administration are wonderful! They all work together as a team to help the children learn, grow and learn how to become a kinder person. My only complaint is how terrible the food is at lunch. My children are constantly telling me the food is very bad and they sometimes run out of various items when it is their turn to go through the lunch line. I really wish the administration would address this problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2011

My daughter has been attending Channing Hall for almost two years now. We love it! Both of her teachers have been fantastic and have been truly invested in her education. She is learning a lot! I love the atmosphere, the people, the uniforms, everything !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

All I have to say is walk into the school, feel the good vibes, look at the smiles on the kids' faces and then look at the test scores. Sha-bam. I don't think you'd find a better school in Utah. My kids have excelled there. Every school has it's problems, but overall, this charter is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

I was shocked at how unprofessional and immature teachers could be. if you have your kid in the middle school at Channing Hall you are better off pulling them out and putting them in a public school. As for the education, mediocre at best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2011

most of the teachers are great, but they hardly make up for the administration and some of the teachers (middle school Spanish and drama)


Posted May 26, 2010

Channing Hall provides a challenging curriculum, while inspiring students to discover their strengths and maximize their potential. Even the youngest students are highly involved in the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

Channing Hall has impressed me in every aspect! My gifted son has never been this challenged, and he left the gifted program at Canyons School District. I love the IB atmosphere at Channing Hall, and am grateful every day my child is blessed with the opportunity to attend. Channing Hall is dedicated to it's students' success, in every way, in and out of the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

I have never been more pleased and satisfied with my children's learning than at Channing Hall. This is an excellent IB school that leads the state in test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

I am very impressed with this school! My husband and I grew up in another state that had a great education system. I was very concerned when we moved to Utah because I had not heard great things about the quality of education here. I have been so amazed at the outstanding education my 3 children are receiving at Channing Hall. We have been at the school since the beginning and it just keeps getting better and better. There is a great feeling of community with the students, staff and parents. We feel lucky to have found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

My son is attending Channing Hall s all day kindergarten program. I am amazed at how fast he is learning and remembering the things thought. IV noticed he has a lot of jesters and different little things to help him remember the alphabet and other things being thought. Also my son has been having some very serious behavior issues and both the teacher and the principal have been very pro active in helping me find a way to improve my son s behavior. I m very excited, my son and I get to have a part in the Channing Hall Program. It's a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

We have two children who are starting their second year at Channing. We were uneasy about moving our kids from a private school. Within minutes of our first visit we were convinced it was the right choice. It's amazing how much better of an education our kids are are getting at Channing. The teachers we have had are nothing short of amazing. The way they interact with the kids, it's easy to see how much they value and respect them as individuals and how in touch they are with each and every child. It's evident the admnistrators have acquired not only highly educated teachers, but teachers who truly love to teach. The administrators have created a culture that fosters the highest of principles in everyone at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

I have one student currently attending and one student who just graduated. I overheard my student who just graduated talking with her friends about how good they had it at Channing Hall and they didn't realize it at the time. The best thing about Channing Hall is the board, administration and staff who do their jobs as a labor of love. They are trully committed to helping each child succeed. It is a very unique environment. Channing Hall scored #1 in the state in middle school math and # 2 in language arts. They are building a new middle school for 2011 and will have many new open spots--especially in the middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 77%
Hispanic 5% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A48%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13515 South 150 East
Draper, UT 84020
Phone: (801) 572-2709

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT