Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Draper Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 690 students

Our school is best know for it's emphasis on academics, culture, & fine arts.
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 15 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2014

Draper elementary is a wonderful school. There are excellent teachers that are devoted to the kids and an amazing principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Our School has the most dedicated and hard working Teachers & Staff I have ever witnessed! What a great school to work at. Such committed people under one roof. I love coming here to work with such impressive people. I love the students and I love that I get to meet their parents. I work in the front office and so that gives me the opportunity to rub shoulders with EVERYONE...from students & parents to Teachers & delivery people! I love all the volunteers that sign in to help too! This is a great place to work. A very happy, positive & fun environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2014

Draper Elementary is a great school! Parents are very involved, our principal and teachers are top notch, and students have great mentors to help them reach their potential. Draper PTA has a lot of great programs to encourage community involvement, arts education, inclusivity and many other great things! We have a new principal this year that really listens to problems and comes up with creative solutions, she is also very loved by the students. All three of my children would agree that Draper Elementary is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

My school is simply the best. I work with a fantastic group of educators who are constantly looking for ways to help their students achieve. Every teacher works hard to stay up-to-date on the new technology and the many effective teaching strategies that are out there. Every student at Draper Elementary is important and treated that way.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2014

I have had two children who attended K-6 at this school and two who are currently enrolled. I have been involved with this school for more than a decade and have had very few issues. I feel like my children are receiving a great education. The dual immersion program has been a very positive experience for us as well. The teachers are very responsive and approachable. The current Principle is amazing and very proactive in improving the school. It is a great school community for parents as well. Most of the parents interact on a regular basis because so many of us volunteer and come to events. My children are very happy here and so am I!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Draper Elementary is an inclusive school, offering Chinese immersion for half to its students. It is a school with wonderful, caring teachers and parents who want to be involved in their children's educations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Don't let the age of the building fool you! Draper Elementary is a great school with fantastic teachers and staff. We get tons of parent volunteers and the PTA is strong and donates a lot to the school. They are constantly expanding the tech in the school with mobile labs, smart boards, ipads, etc... Did I mention the teachers are great?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

My school is Draper Elementary. This school is has lots of community support. We teach the students to be kind, safe and responsible. We have fantastic teachers who are willing to go above and beyond to help the students be successful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2014

This school has a wonderful community of parents that are always willing to help the teachers out. We have the best PTA and I couldn't be more honored to work at such a caring, supportive school! Our kids rock, too! :)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2014

We have the greatest school ever! Our students are safe, kind and responsible. They come to school with a strong desire to learn and are always positive. The teachers at our school are intensely creative, visionary and committed to excellence. All of our teaching is not only data-driven, but full of engaging strategies that motivate students to achieve more than they ever have before! We have amazing parent support with parent volunteers visiting classrooms, helping with projects and tutoring kids every single day. Our office staff is literally the best on the planet. They do so much for students, parents and teachers alike. The custodial staff are always friendly and ready to help both teachers and students with any and all building needs. Oh, and did I mention our fantastic principal? She is a tremendously positive, proactive person who inspires each of us to be better while helping us realize what we need to do to become the best school we can be (I think we are getting close, don't you?!). I am so fortunate to work at this amazing institution!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2014

My school is excellent because the students, parents, teachers, and staff all work extremely hard to ensure the success of everyone. The school offers before and after school activities that students can participate in according to interests. There are great programs in place to help those students who are struggling in academics and behavior, along with opportunities to challenge those students already succeeding. The school is a wonderful and positive place to be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2014

My school is Draper Elementary School. This school is amazing. We have a wonderful team. We like to see smiles on our students' face when we teach.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2014

Draper Elementary is an amazing school with dedicated teachers. It is also a school that looks for different opportunities to keep the students engaged. The PTA is awesome and is a great support!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

I love the feeling of community at Draper Elementary. The teachers are caring and my children love them. There is so much parent support. I feel like my children are getting a very good education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2014

I love Draper Elementary! Great staff and community support. All students feel safe and welcomed at school. Teachers are caring and students love their school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 10, 2013

This school has a serious bullying problem. There is no supervision at recess and the administration doesn't seem to know or take the problem serious. I would be very careful sending your children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Draper Elementary has so much heart and soul and a fanstastic heritage! Go Draper Dragons!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

I went here for three years and it was excellent, I moved now and I miss it so much. Go Dragons!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2008

I love Draper Elementary! The school and staff are the very best out there! My child's self esteem has dramatically increased along with his learning!! I could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Gifted specialist(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Chinese (Mandarin)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:40 am
School end time
  • 3:20 am
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Piper Riddle
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Dual Language Immersion
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Explicit instruction
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Chick Fil-A
  • Harmon's
  • Horace Mann
  • Smith's
  • Target
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • General PE classes
Girls sports
  • General PE classes

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Film Club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Draper Elementary is under new leadership, and has increased it's emphasis on developing students that are academically strong, socially compassionate, and service-oriented. Our incredible staff and students work in partnership with our community and families to continue our legacy of excellence in academics, culture, and arts.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
112
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
163

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Draper Park Middle School
Indian Hills Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1080 East 12660 South
Draper, UT 84020
Website: Click here
Phone: (801) 826-8275

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Draper School
Draper, UT




Oxford Academy
Draper, UT




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT