Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Layton School

Public | PK-6 | 614 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2013

We love East Layton Elementary! We've attended this school for 4 years and have had awesome teachers every year! There are a few who could retire but the majority of them are very good educators. Our daughter was accepted into the spectrum program and we passed it up because of the fantastic teacher she will have this year. The community/parent involvement in this school is phenomenal, helping with extra funding for school enhancements and activities. The only problems we've seen with the school is the parking/driving situation and the walking track. They've promised solutions, but never followed through with them. They really need to come up with a plan for the parking lot. The other thing that was promised was a walking track that we have yet to see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

We had a great play and choir last year. They are trying to start a language club next year. Parents are very involved. Most of the teachers are awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2011

We love East Layton! We have a great community and faculty. Makes for a great combination!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2010

I couldn't be happier with this school and the teachers. Both my children started here in kindergarten and both were qualified and accepted into the gifted/talented program--and it's NOT because I work with them at home. It's the loving teachers and awesome principal who have made this school an amazing place to be. My children couldn't be happier or more eager to learn!! I'm very glad I chose my neighborhood school over the private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

My children have atended East Layton for the past 6 years and they love it. Even with cutbacks from the school district, East Layton has made up for the them in other areas. The school has a high rate of parent envolvement and extra activities that encourages Spanish, Math and Reading. The PTO has raised enough money to have the children go on field trips. The teachers are caring and supportive and listen to the concerns of the parent. Every year the school has a questionaire and addresses the suggestions and concerns that are written. I personally have witnessed a few changes that I and my children have suggested. That makes me feel good as a parent that my concerns and suggestions are addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

Love the principle, the teachers and the staff. Have not had one concern in the 3 years my son has been going there. They have worked with him on each subject and level that he is on, not what the class should be at. he is excelling academically! I have him in a private school before deciding to put him in e. layton. - e layton far beyond meets my expectations. communication is great!!! The parent volunteer rate is very high. not sure if some of the adults are staff members or parents - it is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

East Layton has been a great school. We moved to the area before having school-aged children. We feel fortunate to have picked such a great area and wonderful elementary school. We have had great teachers for our children. Most parents at the school are very involved and the extra curricular activities are great. My child participated in the school choir and hopes to be in the ballroom dance program next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2006

East Layton is your average elementary school. There really is not a lot that they have that other schools don't have. The only difference is parent involvement. Parent's are the one who can really affect how the outcome of a school is and what kindof experience their child has!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2005

I love East Layton Elementary. The principal, teachers, and office staff are excellent. Our children have attended the school for almost three years, and we have had nothing but positive experiences. The extracurricular activities hosted by the school are great, and many teachers and staff donate hours and hours of their time to make these learning activities enjoyable for both students and parents. Parental involvement at East Layton is high, and most parents are very involved in their student's academic success. Many families move to this area just to be in East Layton boundaries. I think the school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

Whilst East Layton Elementary has state of the art facilities in its computer and math labs, the atmosphere of the school is disappointing. The principal can be dismissive at times when approached with concerns, the office staff are unfriendly and whilst the majority of teachers are excellent, there are some that are not up to standard. There is a strong lack of communication which becomes frustrating to the parent who has not had a child in this school before or in this school district. The peacebuilder program is over used and leads to children being unnecessarily labelled. Questions by parents should be welcomed and not regarded as an inconvenience. Unfortunately changing schools is not an option for our family right now, if it were, I would remove my kids from this school because I believe that others in the district are much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2004

I have had one child here for the past few years and am excited for my next to start there this fall. Great, caring teachers that go out of their way to make each child feel smart and special. Never had any problems with the school whatsoever.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 77%
Hispanic 4% 15%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2470 East Cherry Ln
East Layton, UT 84041
Phone: (801) 402-3250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Adams School
Layton, UT




King School
Layton, UT



Morgan School
Kaysville, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT