Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

614 students|Davis District
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


East Layton School 1

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
My daughter was put in a class of 38 students to 1 teacher for her first semester of 1st grade. Before school started, we went to look at class lists and noticed her teacher's title was "staff." They should have found a teacher prior to the actual start of the school year. What they did instead, was divide the "staff" class between the other 1st grade teachers. My daughter was put in a class with 37 other students and was taught by one teacher for half day and another the other half. Then switched after Christmas break, when they FINALLY hired someone. She is now in 2nd grade and in a class of 29 students to 1 teacher. In Kindergarten, my daughter was assigned a teacher, then changed 2 weeks into the school year. This year, they offered "space available bus applications," after they reduced the school bus routes. I know of only one family who was approved. We were not. My barely 7 year old has to cross the road 6 times JUST to be able to stay on the side-walk during the 1.1 mile walk to school. Terrible school. I can't decide if it's the administration at the school or if it's a district problem, but I'm quite certain it's administration at East Layton because I did not have ANY problems when my older children attended Clinton Elementary. I also find it odd that last year, the student government was chosen by faculty/administration and consisted mostly of students whose parents were in the PTO. East Layton Elementary is terrible.

East Layton School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
They are certainly persistent that most of their learning be done in the form of homework not done at school


East Layton School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
I requested a speech therapist assess my Kindergartner. When I followed up, her teacher said yes & everything is fine... Fast forward one year... Full assessment (as she has struggled) with resource AND speech and there was in fact, "red flags." Oddly, there was no record that a speech therapist even spoke to her in Kindergarten. Her teacher brushed my concerns off and flat out lied to me.

East Layton School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
My 6th grader applied for Student Government last year. She came home and said that faculty/administration chose. Oddly, most of the Student Government chosen happened to be daughters of PTO members.

East Layton School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
We love East Layton Elementary! We've attended this school for 4 years and have had awesome teachers every year! There are a few who could retire but the majority of them are very good educators. Our daughter was accepted into the spectrum program and we passed it up because of the fantastic teacher she will have this year. The community/parent involvement in this school is phenomenal, helping with extra funding for school enhancements and activities. The only problems we've seen with the school is the parking/driving situation and the walking track. They've promised solutions, but never followed through with them. They really need to come up with a plan for the parking lot. The other thing that was promised was a walking track that we have yet to see.


East Layton School 5

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
We had a great play and choir last year. They are trying to start a language club next year. Parents are very involved. Most of the teachers are awesome.

East Layton School 5

Posted June 05, 2011
- a parent
We love East Layton! We have a great community and faculty. Makes for a great combination!

East Layton School 5

Posted June 05, 2010
- a parent
I couldn't be happier with this school and the teachers. Both my children started here in kindergarten and both were qualified and accepted into the gifted/talented program--and it's NOT because I work with them at home. It's the loving teachers and awesome principal who have made this school an amazing place to be. My children couldn't be happier or more eager to learn!! I'm very glad I chose my neighborhood school over the private schools.


East Layton School 5

Posted November 19, 2009
- a parent
My children have atended East Layton for the past 6 years and they love it. Even with cutbacks from the school district, East Layton has made up for the them in other areas. The school has a high rate of parent envolvement and extra activities that encourages Spanish, Math and Reading. The PTO has raised enough money to have the children go on field trips. The teachers are caring and supportive and listen to the concerns of the parent. Every year the school has a questionaire and addresses the suggestions and concerns that are written. I personally have witnessed a few changes that I and my children have suggested. That makes me feel good as a parent that my concerns and suggestions are addressed.

East Layton School 5

Posted November 16, 2009
- a parent
Love the principle, the teachers and the staff. Have not had one concern in the 3 years my son has been going there. They have worked with him on each subject and level that he is on, not what the class should be at. he is excelling academically! I have him in a private school before deciding to put him in e. layton. - e layton far beyond meets my expectations. communication is great!!! The parent volunteer rate is very high. not sure if some of the adults are staff members or parents - it is wonderful!

Nearby schools

East Layton School
2470 East Cherry Ln, East Layton, UT  84041
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (801) 402-3250
Last modified East Layton School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top