Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J.R. Smith School

Public | K-4 | 464 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 24, 2013

This school is very family oriented, strive for success and the teachers are very supportive of our children. I have found the school is very supportive of mothers and provide backing and support to them. They will do whatever it takes to help mothers and their children. If you are a mother you are in the right place. I found this school discounts the father s role with children: specifically, because they are generally at work and dedicate their time to providing for their families. The staff at this school is willing to communicate with the mother of the children but are easily put off if the father becomes overly engaged in the process. If you have critical concerns you will likely be pushed aside and regarded negatively. Also I found where they abandon the dads they step up support of the mothers. The school has reported to at least one father they remain neutral in issues regarding the family and at the same time the schools staff reached out to a mother who was not to contact the school they breached a protective order to provide information regarding the children. This person was reported as abusive to the children and her husband. There was no good reason for this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2013

I have reviewed the schools conduct in regards to their policies and I have found at least one area this school has disregarded the safety and concern for the children. This school has made choices which include violating court order and putting the children at risk as well as their supportive parent. This needs to be addressed and is a critical failure to the kids.


Posted March 25, 2008

This school is amazing. It has been under the direction of Ms. DeAnna Lloyd as principal these last three years. She is a very approachable principal and is willing to listen to new ideas and do what is always best for the kids. She has the help of an incredible school counselor who has made every child understand the importance of being safe, kind and responsible. Kids are encouraged in a positive way on an ongoing basis through different incentive programs. They are encouraged to be kind to classmates and respect the teachers and staff. JR Smith has an incredible staff - from excellent grade level teachers to the aides that help the children become better readers. The PTA is absolutely amazing with the time and hours they put in for the various activities throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2005

JR Smith is a school in transition from being a small farming town school to a school that can meet modern-day children's needs. We have found that a couple of teachers are exceptional, while many others are just putting in their time. There appears to be no accountability on the part of the teachers...they seem to each just do whatever interests them. You must request a teacher here or you risk your child being stuck in a mediocre class all year. Academic programs are 'meets minimum,' along with music and PE (this is mostly dodge-ball, etc.). Art is non-existent, with the exception of Meet the Masters once a month (done by the PTA), and the gifted program is a total joke. A new principal has arrived this year, so hopefully she will be able to turn things around. Safety has also been a concern...no fences around the playground, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2005

My son briefly attended kindergarden at this school. We found the extremely high student to teacher ratio very disturbing (when our son was there in 2004, the ratio was 32 students to 1 teacher!) It's the epitome of a failed system spiralling out of control. The ratios are horrific, the test results are an embarrasment and the saddest truth is that funding is nowhere on the horizon. We did what all nurturing parents should do.....moved to a state that actually funds schools and pays teachers a professional wage. Good luck and don't fear taxes, fear stagnation because Utah is becoming the next Mississippi when it comes to their 'educational system'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2005

I would like to thank Mr. Horner for his leadership at JR. I have had 2 children go through this school. My last child has had some processing problems. At my request testing was done and he was able to receive the extra help he needed. I have experienced nothing but loving, compassionate teachers and staff. Classrooms have always been open to parents at anytime. After school and summer reading programs FREE to children with the needs. Teaching and learning is a 3 way process. Caring Staff, willing Students and Parents who can make time even when they don't have enough extra time to share. I want to thank JR Smith for the wonderful foundation they have given my two children. Mr. Horner will be missed but Miss Lloyd will continue to keep the standards high and keep JR Smith growing to new levels each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Jr Smith has failed the 'No Child Left Behind' . The principal has no idea how to work with kids of any age. He has no control over the teachers. any smart parent would get there kids out of there and keep them away. This school will never be a quality elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2004

I was a student teacher at this school and found it to be one of the most amazing elementary schools I've seen yet. The teachers were exceptional, the principal, Mr. Horner, was absolutely amazing, and the students were well behaved and extremely bright. The school was well kept, organzied, had great school-wide activities, motivating, and had some of the best teachers I've yet to encounter. Mrs. Patterson, a 1st grade teacher, was by and large one of the best teachers I've met. She loved her students, loved teaching, and loved watching her students learn and grow! Everything about the school was amazing! (Even the school lunch was great!!)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 78%
Hispanic 19% 15%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian 1% 2%
Black 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A38%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

235 East 500 North
Heber City, UT 84032
Phone: (435) 654-2201

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Heber Valley School
Heber City, UT



Midway School
Midway, UT





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT