Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fort Herriman Middle School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent and a teacher for the school district. After attending "back to school nite" and subsequent contact with my doughters teachers and office staff, i am impressed. The school and parent involvement in my opinion is Inspiring and what a school environment should be to inspire greater learning.

Fort Herriman Middle School 5

Posted October 10, 2012
- a parent
Comments from parents never cease to amaze me. I read a couple referring to swearing. This is a MIDDLE SCHOOL. No matter how unpleasant it may be, kids this age do swear. The school is wonderful. Most of the teachers are great to work with. The administrative staff is very helpful. The kids are rewarded for their hard work, which I find extremely helpful. It creates the incentive for the kids to do well. They halls and cafeteria are monitored well and the school is always clean. Bullying is an issue, however, find a school where that doesn't exist. They do seem to take it very seriously when a complaint arises, so that is a step in the right direction. I wish the school had a mandatory sex ed class. It seems that many parents have their blinders on and aren't aware of what kids this age are thinking and doing. I'm sure those same parents would disagree with me - because if we don't talk about it , they won't do it - yeah right. I also rather like the "tired argument" of, if we talk about it, we're giving them permission. Right. <Note the Sarcasm>


Fort Herriman Middle School 5

Posted March 14, 2012
- a parent
Even though Fort Herriman is a big middle school, the teaming approach used for core classes makes it much easier for staff to get to know individual students and their needs. Parents are very supportive and teachers and administrators are accessible to parents. Powerschool online tracking tool is also a plus for parents to stay in the loop. Have had kids here since it opened and overall am very pleased with FHMS!

Fort Herriman Middle School 3

Posted June 02, 2010
- a parent
Teachers need to watch their language. Some teachers are too busy texting and playing on the computer to teach. They want the parents to keep updated by using power school, but then the teachers don't keep it updated. I signed up to get extra tutoring for my daughter and was told that because she was getting D's and not F's she did not need to have extra tutoring because D's are considered passing. No communication from the school in what is going on. Secretaries are real snotty and act like you are annoying them when you come in to sign up for school. It was really hard being in a new school and not knowing what is going on and not having any support from the teachers ar the administration.

Fort Herriman Middle School 1

Posted August 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Fort Herriman Middle School 3

Posted October 06, 2008
- a student
There are some wonderful things about this school, but there are also some things that need to be improved. Things that I personally like about the school are the teachers, the layout of the school, and the fact that the school was only built in 2005. Things that I feel need to be improved are the administration's ability to pay attention and the recklessness of some people, especially in the hallways. There is also a lot of swearing going on in the school.

Fort Herriman Middle School 5

Posted May 08, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Fort Herriman Middle School 5

Posted February 26, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Fort Herriman Middle School 0
no rating

Posted February 22, 2008
- a parent
FHMS is a wonderful school. My student loves the open design that lets a lot of natural light inside the classroom. Lots of good, dedicated educators and a supportive administration. Great technology.

Fort Herriman Middle School 4

Posted December 21, 2007
- a student
fort herriman middle school has a ton of kids and is getting bigger every week i think we may need more classrooms and teachers soon because it is getting so full of kids but the teachers are good and the dances and band recitals are great

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fort Herriman Middle School
14050 South Mirabella Dr, Herriman, UT  84065
(801) 412-2450
Last modified Fort Herriman Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fort Herriman Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top