Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Herriman School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 8, 2014

Previous to this school, my children attended a nearby charter school. I pulled them out over a year ago because the homework was 1+ hr a night & my kids began to hate reading and learning in general. That was before Common Core took effect. After over a year now at Herriman Elem., I have found that the education is WAY below the charter school. As an example, Kindergarten at the charter school had my child learning addition of money, identifying parallelograms, and spelling words like "chin, have". At Herriman, 1ST Grade, they teach 3 + 7 and spelling words are "mad, sad". Homework at Herriman Elem is light: 5 -10 min a day + reading. As for the administrators, I agree that the front desk ladies tend to be "clicky". As far as teachers, some are great and some aren't. In 2014 an extra school was built and now there is only 1 teacher per grade at Herriman Elem. (one 3rd grade teacher for A track, one 3rd grade teacher for B track, etc). So if you get a crappy teacher, you're stuck all year unless you can convince the principal to change your track (unlikely) Lastly, if you aren't Mormon the other kids will spread the word and playmates on the playground will drop dramatically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

I went to register my 2 children at Herriman Elementary. The front office staff was very rude and unhelpful. I was floored at their behavior. I even spoke with the principal and she was just as bad. I would never allow my children to go to a school with such an uncaring staff. If you love your kids and send them here. Just hope they have a good teacher because the main office staff is not going to be kind to you or your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2014

This school is a mix feeling for me, some teachers are great and some are not. I thought that the school could have done better with students who have special education needs. They could have been more receptive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

I have three children currently attending. While there are some wonderful teachers, the few rotten ones spoil the whole bunch. The administration lacks caring, backbone and follow through. We had hoped this would change with a new principal, it has not. It has gone from bad to worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

I have two students at Herriman Elementary and they love their school. The teachers work hard at making a safe, healthy, productive learning environment. The new Principal really cares about the students and takes the time to get to know them and their needs. The community is lucky to have a faculty that cares so much about student achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

This school can use a new and improved Principal! He has anger issues and should not be dealing with Parents and students. The only bully I witnesses in the school was the Principal! Shame on him...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

We had to transfer our two students from this school because of bullying by a faculty member. The issue was brought to the attention of the administration more than once with no results leaving us with transfer as the only option. Our experience was not a good one with this school.


Posted January 4, 2010

I honestly have a hard time rating the school as a whole. I have some children with wonderful, amazing, hardworking, positive teachers. Some other classrooms are negative and I don't feel that children are able to succeed academically. I have also been aware of parents and teachers leaving the school for others in the district hoping to find a better administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

They have an excellent curriculum. Similar to what most private schools have, great teachers, and there is a sense of mutual respect among most of the teachers, students, and parents alike. They are truly dedicated to the success of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

My children have been going to this school for 3 years. I have been very pleased with all their teachers. They have all been caring and good to communicate with. My children enjoy going there. The school has grown quickly with the growth in the area and I feel they have kept up well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 77%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hispanic 1% 15%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Black 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13170 South 6000 West
Herriman, UT 84096
Phone: (801) 446-3215

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Silver Crest School
Herriman, UT


Foothills School
Riverton, UT





Midas Creek School
Riverton, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT