Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,093 students|Jordan District
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Herriman School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
If you are not Mormon the other children wont play with your children, this shouldn't be acceptable .

Herriman School 1

Posted August 26, 2015
- a community member
The homework is below 1st grade level and there is too much of it. Why not challenge the child with a reasonable amount of homework so they have fun and enjoy learning? The teachers don't seem to care about the children's improvement and the front desk is so rude. They act like you're walking into their personal home and treat you like a burden when you need to know information for your children. Avoid this school if possible. Silvercrest or Blackridge are examples of good schools with good staff. Herriman Elementary---The principal needs to make some serious changes to her staff and herself.


Herriman School 3

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
Previous to this school, my children attended a nearby charter school. I pulled them out over a year ago because the homework was 1+ hr a night & my kids began to hate reading and learning in general. That was before Common Core took effect. After over a year now at Herriman Elem., I have found that the education is WAY below the charter school. As an example, Kindergarten at the charter school had my child learning addition of money, identifying parallelograms, and spelling words like "chin, have". At Herriman, 1ST Grade, they teach 3 + 7 and spelling words are "mad, sad". Homework at Herriman Elem is light: 5 -10 min a day + reading. As for the administrators, I agree that the front desk ladies tend to be "clicky". As far as teachers, some are great and some aren't. In 2014 an extra school was built and now there is only 1 teacher per grade at Herriman Elem. (one 3rd grade teacher for A track, one 3rd grade teacher for B track, etc). So if you get a crappy teacher, you're stuck all year unless you can convince the principal to change your track (unlikely) Lastly, if you aren't Mormon the other kids will spread the word and playmates on the playground will drop dramatically.

Herriman School 1

Posted July 01, 2014
- a parent
I went to register my 2 children at Herriman Elementary. The front office staff was very rude and unhelpful. I was floored at their behavior. I even spoke with the principal and she was just as bad. I would never allow my children to go to a school with such an uncaring staff. If you love your kids and send them here. Just hope they have a good teacher because the main office staff is not going to be kind to you or your children.

Herriman School 2

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
This school is a mix feeling for me, some teachers are great and some are not. I thought that the school could have done better with students who have special education needs. They could have been more receptive.


Herriman School 1

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
I have three children currently attending. While there are some wonderful teachers, the few rotten ones spoil the whole bunch. The administration lacks caring, backbone and follow through. We had hoped this would change with a new principal, it has not. It has gone from bad to worse.

Herriman School 5

Posted August 15, 2013
- a parent
I have two students at Herriman Elementary and they love their school. The teachers work hard at making a safe, healthy, productive learning environment. The new Principal really cares about the students and takes the time to get to know them and their needs. The community is lucky to have a faculty that cares so much about student achievement.

Herriman School 1

Posted October 10, 2012
- a parent
This school can use a new and improved Principal! He has anger issues and should not be dealing with Parents and students. The only bully I witnesses in the school was the Principal! Shame on him...


Herriman School 2

Posted May 16, 2011
- a community member
We had to transfer our two students from this school because of bullying by a faculty member. The issue was brought to the attention of the administration more than once with no results leaving us with transfer as the only option. Our experience was not a good one with this school.

Herriman School 3

Posted January 04, 2010
- a parent
I honestly have a hard time rating the school as a whole. I have some children with wonderful, amazing, hardworking, positive teachers. Some other classrooms are negative and I don't feel that children are able to succeed academically. I have also been aware of parents and teachers leaving the school for others in the district hoping to find a better administration.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Herriman School
13170 South 6000 West, Herriman, UT  84096
(801) 446-3215
Last modified Herriman School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Herriman School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top