Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lone Peak High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 4, 2014

I have one son that gratuated from Lone Peak and another son at Lone Peak. We have found Lon Peak to be a very outstanding school. My son took many AP classes and passed the AP exams. He also scored very high on the ACT exam. He struggled with learning prior to going into high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

I attended Lone Peak for my entire high school career and I would have to say it was pretty disappointing. If you click one tab over from the reviews and look at the Test Scores and Stats you will see what I mean. If you want your child to do well in anything math related (engineering, science, etc.), Lone Peak (or Utah for that matter) is not recommended. I had straight A's throughout high school and then I entered my first year in college and got a C in my first and second math class. I had to spend hours teaching myself basic math because the program at Lone Peak was completely inadequate and way too easy! There were some awesome teachers though, especially the photography and physics teachers, they showed true interest in their student's education. Lastly, the academics were definitely placed well behind the athletics. The school had a "world class" weight-room but a completely understocked and underfunded library when I was there. For any student interested in doing a little research and study on their own, Lone Peak was not a very accommodating school. In summary, math was weak and liberal arts were strong. Many kids go to college with scholarships but lose them very fast!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2010

My oldest two boys went to Lone Peak and both were accepted into BYU. I couldn't be happier. They loved Lone Peak. It is an exciting atmosphere of high enthusiasm. The school is beautiful. Inspiring quotes are painted on the hallway walls. The kids are clean cut and smart. It is a safe, pleasant environment of learning. I've attended graduation ceremonies twice. The amount of money received for college scholarships is dizzying as is the percentage of kids who get accepted into good colleges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

We couldn't be happier with this school. The academic standard is very high, and there is a spirit of value for all students that seems to be missing from many high schools. I have yet to encounter an unreasonable staff member. Everyone from teachers to administrators to students to other parents will bend over backward to help. I feel my daughter is so very fortunate to get the many excellent teachers in her education, (like, English Shauna McPherson, Mathematics Vicki Lyons, Biology Robert Louder and History Scott Birrell) indeed a luxury at most public schools these days. There is an overwhelming sense of pride among the students, staff and parents. We are so fortunate to be a part of this fabulous school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2010

We moved in from California this year and have been extremely impressed by this school. The majority of the teachers are quality educators and have tried hard to help our kids in all aspects of their education. Mr. Rees and Mrs. Wright are wonderful human beings that really do care about the kids, but also care about what the kids learn in their classroom. These are the kinds of people I want my children to emulate. I struggle a little with the administration, but my kids hardly interact with them, so we are thrilled to live in this area, and to have our students graduate from Lone Peak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2009

Lone Peak is the best thing that has ever happened to me. If you are an optimistic person you would be able to see all the great things about it. The teachers are great and they are willing to help whenever they need to and the students are so spirited and nice I LOVE IT!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2009

I am entering my Junior year at Lone Peak and I love it! The teachers are great and the principals are very involved with the students. Also, my counsoler Mrs. Page is amazing!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2009

Lone Peak is a great school! I have been thoroughly impressed by most of the teachers. We moved in from California and our kids have really enjoyed working with teachers like Mr. Carpenter, Mrs. Wright, and Mr. Telford. They have high standards, yet try to help each student as best they can. They have great sports programs and work hard to maintain a positive atmosphere for all students. Lone Peak has won numerous State Championships in not only athletics, but in numerous fine arts areas as well. While it isn't perfect, it is definitely a school that my kids will continue to attend. They are getting a good education while learning to become better human beings in the process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

I've been attending Lone Peak for the last 3 years, and I can honestly say I am amazed at how wonderful it has been. There are some truly great teachers, and the athletics program is top notch. I've been involved with MANY different things during my high school career and have had a variety of experiences with the staff and students. Sure, you can find whatever you want here, whether positive or negative, but if you're looking for the positive, there is much to rave about. Going into Lone Peak, I was skeptical due to all the things I'd heard, but coming from one with actual experience at the school, I've loved everything about it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2009

I just had to write after reading some of the recent reviews about Lone Peak High School. It's interesting to me how, when a school gets some positive recognition, there are those who have to tear it down. I am writing to respond to them. Although Lone Peak is not a perfect school, it is a very good one. I have had four children graduate from Lone Peak and two from another school in the same district. I believe that the expectations are higher at Lone Peak, the parent support better, teachers willing to work with parents, and the overall feeling at the school is positive. Yes, some kids, parents, teachers are difficult. This is true everywhere. But, at Lone Peak, each of my children had a great experience. They were all involved in different things - choir, drama, football, soccer, track, clubs, student council. Thanks, Lone Peak! You're great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

My child, is a former student of Lone Peak High School. Former, because just before mid term of first quarter, I transferred him to American Fork. The difference between these two schools is dramatic. The environment at Lone Peak is intense, the teachers are difficult to work with and the students are unwelcoming. If your child is like mine, that is a good student but not popular, please reconsider before sending them to Lone Peak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

I am a single mother who works all week to pay for a great education for her family of twelve. And I regret to inform all my readers that Lone Peak is not one bit World Class. The teachers are snooty, (except for Todd Vawdrey) and the administration works hard to achieve nothing. Move out of the boundaries, because Lone Peak is the worst. Go Dons! Take State!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

We just moved to Utah from Wisconsin and checked out many of the schools for our daughters before choosing Lone Peak. They have only been in school half a year but are really liking it and have been doing great! The teachers/coaches are fair/friendly and there is a sense of pride here that alot of schools are missing. We definatly made the right choice for daughters when we chose Lone Peak High School. P.S. No we are not Mormon and that was and has not even been an issue. All the people in Utah are EXTRA nice :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

Very good school. Not perfect, but certainly among the very best in Utah.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2008

Lone Peak is a quality school with quality academics and extra-curricular programs. My children have benefited greatly from their time at this school. Mrs. Wright in the history department is amazing, Mrs. Woolsey in the English department is top notch, and Miss Johnson in the Music department is outstanding. Teachers like these have truly had a huge impact on all of my children, and I would be remiss if I did not share it. This truly is a 'world class' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

Lone Peak is indeed a 'World Class High School' I have had three sons graduate from the school. Each one has been active in different areas. Their sports programs are the best in the state. The drams, music, debate and dance teams are state or national champions year in and year out. Lone Peak is, without question, the best High School in Utah. The bar is definatly set high at this institution. We moved out of the boundary last year and rather than send my child to a neighboring inferior public institution I paid for tuition to a private school. If you can't afford a house in the Lone Peak boundary then plan on paying tuition to get an excelent education comparable to what you would receive at this institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

Lone Peak is a great environment for everyone. Many advanced placement courses are offered and the teachers have high passing rates for all of them. I have never felt afraid for my welfare ever out of the three years I have attended this school and I can't imagine graduating any where elsze.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2007

teachers are good, there is a variety of classes to take, but as far as the students they aren't exactly the most outgoing and welcoming students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2007

It's a wonderful school! This is the only school I know that provides the students so many languages to learn such as Arabic, Chinese, Japanese, Italian and Russian. Great faculty!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2006

It's the quality of the student-body that makes this school so great. On the whole, these are some pretty amazing kids, and the school is pretty solid all around.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 87% in 2013.

788 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 86% in 2013.

711 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 40% in 2013.

626 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
16%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 40% in 2010.

2010

 
 
44%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 58% in 2013.

461 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
64%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 42% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
41%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 75% in 2013.

657 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 77%
Hispanic 2% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Chip Koop
Fax number
  • (801) 763-7064

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Parents are involved in the ptsa and school community council. they also participate in booster clubs and committees such as attendance and accreditation.
More from this school
  • One of the goals of LPHS is to continue to improve ways we communicate with our parents. Parents are always welcome to share ideas and feedback regarding the programs and education their children are receiving at LPHS.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10189 North 4800 West
Highland, UT 84003
Website: Click here
Phone: (801) 717-4568

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

American Heritage School
American Fork, UT


American Fork High School
American Fork, UT


Serv By Appt
American Fork, UT


Dan W. Peterson
American Fork, UT



Pleasant Grove High School
Pleasant Grove, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT