Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Highland School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 19, 2013

Highland Elementary is the highest-rated school in the area. The teachers and principal are top-notch. Strong parental involvement. The Advanced Learning Lab (A.L.L.) program is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

We moved here out of state when my oldest daughter was in 4th grade and we have been thrilled with the response from teachers, parents and the principal. I have one daughter still at school and 2 more starting soon. We would be heartbroken if we had to change schools. I also love the early morning music program at the school my daughter and several of her friends are light years ahead of their peers because of this opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2011

Four of my children have attended this school. Two still attend. There are several fabulous teachers here, but many of the great ones tend to leave and end up being replaced by mediocre teachers. Two of my children participated in the ALL program here, and I completely agree that it is not beneficial--no broader education/exploration--only more homework. The principal is completely "anti-parent," so if you end up needing to work with him, count on having to switch schools--because he absolutely will not consider a parent's opinion. I firmly believe that I should have some say about the situation my child is in for 7 hours every day--this principal does not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2011

This school has been a wonderful experience for my children. We moved to this school from out of state and the staff and teachers really took my children under their wing. Great programs and high test scores every year. The only problem we had was that there is an annoying small group of parents that try to control the curriculum and teachers too much. They just end up causing problems and making everyone else upset. My only suggestion if your children attend this school is that you get involved as a parent and see how wonderful the teachers here really are and not let those small minded individuals ruin the great things that are going on at Highland. My children will be better members of society for attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

The Accelerated Learning Program (ALL) at this school is a waste of a child's time. Students are not allowed to go further ahead than their peers at their grade level and the 'widening of the curriculum' simply means more homework. Often the ALL teachers are extreme control personalities, not teachers that are enthusiastic and confidence builders. The school has lowered the bar academically. We are very disappointed that we left another school to come to this program at Highland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2009

3 of children have attended this school. I think 90% of the teachers are fabulous. The principal is a nice guy but probably needs to get rid of a couple teachers that are terrible. This school has awesome traditions--especially the annuall hawk walk fundraiser. It is a great learning atmosphere. Overall we have loved this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2005

Great school. Teachers and parents are very involved. Some complaints about lack of traditional math, but overall does well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2004

In comparison to two other elementary schools we have gone to, Highland Elementary is not very stimulating intellectually. There is little diversity as far as ethnicity and religion which is an unfortunate function of the society as a whole. I think the Principal makes some unwise choices and the PTA is undemocratic. Other than that we have had an adequate but not good experience at Highland. I do applaud the programs that deal with disabilities-they seem to really incorporate autistic children and children with disabilities into the mainstream. All the children benefit from this inclusion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2004

We have had three girls attend Highland Elem and are extremely pleased with the results. Our second daughter has dyslexia, the 'brain works' and special reading classes have been exceptional. Exellent teachers in all catagories. Science particularly strong. Involved principal. PTA is the best! Ask about the 'Hawk Walk' - it raised $15,000 last year allowing the teachers to focus on teaching instead of fundraising.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 77%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 15%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10865 North 6000 West
Highland, UT 84003
Phone: (801) 756-8537

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Freedom School
Highland, UT


Ridgeline School
Highland, UT


Westfield School
Alpine, UT



Legacy School
American Fork, UT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT