Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Freedom School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2014

I absolutely LOVE this school. I was a parent that didn't research schools when I moved to the area because my kids were so small. Fast forward a few years, and I don't ever want to leave this district. Teachers are amazing and attentive and my child actually cried the last day of school because he was going to miss his school. The rating here doesn't sound accurate to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

This school is so underrated! Having had children at a few other schhols due to moving I can say that this is a FANTASTIC school. Yes the classes are large but the teachers I have seen are handling it so very well! It is a well organized campus, clean, nice and new. My childrens teachers did a great job at letting them learn at their own levels and not just doing the same thing as everyone else. Many schhols will say that they do this but these teachers actually DID. We have recently moved to another school in a neighboring district. The school we moved to rates much higher than this one but my two boys were WAY ahead of their peers at thier new school. I credit their amazing teachers (Mrs. Standage in 4th and Ms. Pancheri in 6th) for instilling in them a love for learning and for getting them excited about their own education. The kids at this school and surrounding community are great and the Principal, Mr. Proffer is a great leader and very hands on. The staff is great from the aides to the cafeteria to the front office. It is a very friendly and positive environment that you will notice as soon as you enter. Great school- wish we didn't have to leave!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

I am not crazy about the way they handled a bullying situation with my child. It's unfortunate the kids in that situation need administrators on their side. Loved kindergarten teachers but 1st grade...not so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2008

I have a my oldest child going to freedom and it is a great school. But my husband and I are both active duty. And it was a hard year for my son since my husband was deployed and it was his first year of kindergarten the teachers really did understand what he was going through.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

I have 3 children that go to freedom and it is a great school with great teachers. But way over -crowded!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

I have children in 2nd and Kinder and I have to say that I love their teachers! They are doing a wonderful job. I also work with the reading tutor program and it seems to do a world of good for the students involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

Good school, but is way over-crowded due to boundries and district politics. Teachers are great and school is nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

Freedom is an awesome elementary with great teachers and programs. Parent involvement with the school and classes is a large part of what makes this school so great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 77%
Hispanic 10% 15%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Black 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4555 West 5500 South
Hooper, UT 84315
Phone: (801) 452-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Country View School
West Haven City, UT


Hooper School
Hooper, UT



West Haven School
West Haven, UT


Quest Academy
West Haven, UT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT