Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain Crest High School

Public | 10-12 | 1580 students

Our school is best known for both it's strong academics and extra-curricular.
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2013

Mountain Crest does get a lot of attention for its great athletics programs, but it mostly serves as an academic institution and they do a great job. They have one of the best teachers in the country teaching there, and she loves the school and the students. The students are more than capable of achieving academic as well as athletic success as well, proving that with the outcome of multiple students graduating with associates degrees. Principal Henke is also really great, and is an alumni of the school, so he knows Mountain Crest and how everything goes better than anyone. Now, athletically, everyone knows they are great, they did just win all sports school of the year, but the first priority of every coach is not sports, for every coach there, I can guarantee that its academics first, and even creating a family out of the team and teaching the kids how to be great people on and off the field. I can't even get close to describing all the positives of this school, but Mountain Crest High School is, without a doubt, a great academic and athletic facility.


Posted April 19, 2013

Great sports school, if you are a player of one of the more major sports you will do fine. All departments but sports are under funded or overlooked. There are a wide range of teachers from the nice to tyrannical. avoid taking classes from sport coaches if possible, if you like challenges.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2012

I completely hate this school. It'd probably be a great school if you were a pretty, preppy, and popular. If you are a little out of the ordinary, you will NOT fit in. I haven't found one teacher who isn't a mormon (they definitely state their beliefs). I used to go to South Cache and I fit in pretty well, I moved schools and came out, now that I'm back, no one talks to me. My friend actually got asked why they would hang out with a lesbian. The vice principal actually harrased me because I got into a bit of trouble a year ago. I'm a graduating junior who's taking five AP classes this year. Just because I got into trouble, doesn't mean I'm a bad kid. Aren't teachers supposed to recognize that? And on top of just social- things, I haven't learned a thing at this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2010

the teachers didn't grade us on ability but on compliance. the students harassed me for hugging my girlfriend in the hall to the point of throwing books at us. The school rather then addressing the problem banned all PDA (hugging) in the school. the teachers wasted my time and bored me to tears. I spent more time doing personal study then what they where suppose to be teaching me. no help with college prep no help with anything that would matter when i left. I struggled after leaving to get into weber state and eventually started my own business and i'm doing just fine. I learned very little while in school, I've learned much more from TED, Skeptics guide, and many more independent learning resources.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2009

I love Mountain Crest! It's the best school I have ever been to, and I love how you're accepted no matter what your race, religion, beliefs, (etc...) are. Everyone's so nice and there's not really any social groups because there's so many people and they are just so accepting. I love MC! <3
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2009

I moved to cache valley during high school and felt so welcome at Mountain Crest. My loyalty will lie with the orange and blue forever. It is a great school with great kids. There are so many people who are friendly and polite. It was so easy for me to make friends even though I moved from far away and I didn't know anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2009

I currently go to MC and we love to have new people come and get to know everyone. Everybody know everybody and who they are, what they like to do. People say hi to you in the halls even if they really don't tend to know you as 'best friends'
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2009

It appears to me that this school functions on who you are and what your last name is rather than your abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

We just moved here and I must say this school would be fantastic if you were one of the natives. If not you will never be accepted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

I think that this school is the best of all. All of my family members have gone to this school! and i love it it has the best teachers the best classes! i think its' way awesome!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2008

I loved Mountain Crest. Everything was perfect and I really always felt apart of something really special. The staff is great and I love still going and visiting. We had a great graduating class and most scored above average on all tests. The class choices were awesome with a wide variety from ceramics to law enforcemant. I will make sure I live in the boundaries when it is time for my children to go to high school Because I want them to attend Mountain Crest!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2006

Mountain Crest High was a clean and safe school. Students feel safe and cared for, teachers seem to realy devote all of their time and effort to the education of all their students. Student life is stress free and fun. Of the surrounding schools Mountain Crest is most often the top in test scores as well as sports. It is just a great well rounded school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 87% in 2013.

579 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 86% in 2013.

523 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 40% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
27%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 40% in 2010.

2010

 
 
32%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

576 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 58% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 42% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
41%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 75% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
81%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 77%
Hispanic 9% 15%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school South Cache Middle School
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 10% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 60% (2012)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2012)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 5% (2012)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 24% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Utah State University
BYU Idaho
BYU
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Robotics Teacher of the Year (2012)
  • National Robotics Finalists (2012)
  • We The People Competition 2nd in State (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Computer programming
  • Electrical
  • Engineering
  • IT support
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club: Ballroom
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Drum line
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
School Leader's name
  • Robert Henke
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (435) 245-3670

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Adult education
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Direct instruction
  • Independent Study
  • Internships
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Business management
  • Computer programming
  • Construction / building
  • Culinary
  • Electrical
  • Engineering
  • IT support
  • Industrial / graphic design
  • Welding certification

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Dance club: Ballroom
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Drum line
  • Marching band
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • In 2011 Mountain Crest was named the top athletic school in the state and won the Director's Cup for its top ranking in athletics and sportsmanship in the state.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
High school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Utah State University
BYU Idaho
BYU
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 10%
4 year college - 60%
Military - 1%
Vocational - 5%
Workforce - 24%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

255 South 800 East
Hyrum, UT 84319
Website: Click here
Phone: (435) 245-6093

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Utah Connections Academy
Woods Cross, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT