Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

David Gourley School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2014

My son is currently in 1st grade and has been getting bullied by this same kid for the whole school year to the point he cries and hates going to school. We have talked to the counselor, the vice principal, his own teacher and I personally feel the principal of the school does not care. This child who has picked on, made fun of, kicked, pushed and roughed up my son has had nothing done to him for punishment. No recess taken away, just one call home as far as I know. The principal has not stepped in when I have asked what she does in these types of situations and at this point he has hit his absences and can't miss anymore days but what as a parent do you do when your son is scared and doesn't want to go to school and the administration doesn't seem to care. It's too late in the year to switch him and home schooling won't give him the socialization that a child as his age needs. This school is horrible and I will be switching him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2012

There are some wonderful teachers here and some horrible teachers. Mr. Gomez has done some great things to help our children and enrich their education. PE and Art are awesome. There are some great support staff like Ms. Woodward and Ms. Mosley that go out of their way to help anyone. Most of the younger grade teachers are kind, knowledgeable, and teach the children well. There are some teachers that really need to retire because it is obvious they are no longer in the profession to help the children. There are also teachers that get away with screaming at the students whenever they want and belittling them in front of their peers. That is something that is unacceptable and I can't believe that the district allows this to happen. I will keep my children here as long as I have say in who their teachers will be. There really are so many fantastic people working in this building. It's too bad others are bringing them and the children down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

Principal is poor excuse for a human self center, everything is about him. Mr. Gomez is a dictator and spends children resources in remodeling his office, staff room just for looks,, what about new book for library? what about less children per class room Mr. Gomez?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2010

After 2 years of our children attending DG, we've decided to pull them out and attend K12 through UTVA. Being a title 1 school, they do focus a lot on the immigrants, legal and otherwise. And also their parents get lots of advantages that I don't get just because I'm Caucasion. I think most of the teachers are good. I don't appreciate the curriculum that focuses on Language Arts and Math. They hardly get science, history, P.E., and music. The new principal, Mr. Gomez told me that I can't choose who my children go to school with. But he obviously has never heard of Parents' Choice in Education. Thumbs down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2005

please teachers make sure that all kids treat equally by their teachers and especially the bus drivers, i don't want to happen this to my kids walking from school all the to our house but they are too young to walk by themselves. we parents appreciate your help. only those that they don't have kids or they don't love there kids that do this.. black,yellow, red please treat them equally. i don't know if that's the new policy that every kids should have assigned seats.. that's what they told my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2005

This school is experiencing a lot of reform. There are new programs designed to help the struggling readers, but there is too much pressure placed on the kids and teachers to have the students excell. There needs to be more positive feedback from administration. The school really needs to focus less on scores and more on actual education. Educate the child, not just pass the test.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 21, 2005

This is a very troubled school. The teachers are too busy trying to learn new curriculum, that they don't have enough time for the students. There is too much attention placed on helping the disadvantadged children for the average to excel. There are several teachers who need to retire because they are too bored with teaching to bother working with the children. We ultimately pulled our children from this school after 3 years of our children falling behind in their academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I am really impressed with my kids school. The concern of the administration and teachers is wonderful. They make you and your children feel like family and parents are welcomed any time of the day. I feel Karen Robinson is the best admin. ever. Thank you for what you do for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 54% 15%
White 29% 77%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 9% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Black 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4905 South 4300 West
Kearns, UT 84118
Phone: (385) 646-4846

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Academy Park School
West Valley City, UT


Life Christian Academy
Salt Lake City, UT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT