Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
10-12
Public district
Kearns, UT
Students enrolled: 1,648
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kearns High School 2

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
I graduated from here about 7 years ago. I was in AP classes however my brother, who graduated a year before me, wasn't. As a result I saw two different sides to the school. All of the money they get goes to improving the education the advanced kids get. While those that are behind drift farther behind. If you can get into advanced classes you'll be alright here. If you can't all you'll get is farther behind.

Kearns High School 3

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
Well its my sons first year here, and i'am a little skeptic .But hope, it is going to be better then what i have heard.


Kearns High School 1

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
Do not send your child to this school!!!!! Staff at this school takes nothing at great importance. When my child was bullied and went in to report it she was told she was acting like a jr high student and that they had no time for it!!!GREAT HELP!!! And the ipod that each child is required to have to do school work is highly over rated! Be sure your child does not break that ipod cause its worse then going to the dentist to get that thing released from the school to be repaired!!!!! GLAD THAT MY CHILD WILL NOT BE GOING HERE NEXT YEAR!!!!SILLY SILLY SCHOOL!!!!!

Kearns High School 2

Posted October 01, 2009
- a community member
These kids at this school fight just to get textbooks! Yet, graduates from Kearns are some of the best and the brightest! We need to continue to support Kearns and get them this money. V Vouchers are no way for students to go to school!

Kearns High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
Our debate team is the best! We took 3rd in region and 11th in state. Our MESA club took first last year.


Kearns High School 5

Posted May 14, 2009
- a parent
This school has changed so much from the past 10-15 years it deserves to be treated as a well respected school. Not only are there less drop outs from this school but, more kids are going to college than at any other time period of this schools history.

Kearns High School 3

Posted November 30, 2008
- a student
I love Kearns the teachers are great and the school as a whole works hard to improve itself. It has many programs that other nearby schools do not have. Despite its reputation the school is wonderful, last year it revieved an award for attendance and improved test scores throughout the student body

Kearns High School 4

Posted May 23, 2007
- a parent
I have a child graduating this year (2007). I also had one graduate in 2005. They are two very different people, so I had a well rounded view of the school. I am impressed with the quality of counselors and most of the staff. I am impressed with the rising academic standards and the variety of classes and programs available. Both of my children were able to take AP and Concurrent Enrollment classes. I was also very impressed at the SBO participation. My child was a Student Body Officer and I saw the many, many hours that group put in on behalf of their peers. That says a lot about school pride. As for school safety, you can always find what you are looking for, good or bad. My kids have never had any trouble. My children have participated in such activities as: Football, Soccer, Track, Choir, SBO, Debate, AP,Music.


Kearns High School 3

Posted December 20, 2005
- a student
I graduated from Kearns High school and I agree with some of what the other reviews said. Kearns High's staff and extra-curricular activities are underrated. These teachers really care about their students and don't hesitate to go the extra mile. However, one thing about KHS shouldn't be overlooked: the school spirit just isn't there. KHS offers a lot of extra-curricular activities, some of which are consistently among the best in the state including: debate, economics, water polo, swimming, and T.V. productions. For some reason, the students while I attended seemed unmotivated to participate in most of these programs, and parental involvement was scarce. As the Debate president my senior year, I saw this first hand. During my attendance, assemblies were canceled, pep rallies were non-existent, and most students probably couldn't even name the SBO's. In summation, KHS can be a great school but only if you take advantage of it's programs.

Kearns High School 4

Posted April 03, 2005
- a student
I am currently a student at Kearns High. Kearns is definitely a diamond in the rough. To see all the wonderful opportunities Kearns offers, one cannot just go apathetically through their high school career. Kearns has outstanding honors classes! The teachers in the honors classes care about the material they teach to their students. They don t just present the material to the students and expect them to absorb it; they teach it to them, which is an invaluable attribute. Kearns has amazing opportunities to help students have an unforgettable high school experience. The extra-curricular activities are so much fun, and there is a myriad of awesome activities throughout the year to help the student body stay close. If you ll notice, Kearns alumni wrote all the other reviews on this web site. That s because Kearns students love this school forever!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kearns High School
5525 South Cougar Ln, Kearns, UT  84118
(385) 646-5380
Last modified Kearns High School is a Public school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kearns High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top