Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kearns Jr High School

Public | 7-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2009

Kearns Junior High is an excellent school!! I currently attend the 7th grade at the school, and it is an amazing school. Staff and Administration is awesome, there are a few bad students, but all schools have that! There are a great number of students that have straight A's, and that is thanks to the staff. Staff really cares about the students, and they really want to see everyone succeed. They have the A B C I system, the I means you have until the end of the term to make up an assignment or class you failed in a term. The system is amazing. I love KJH. If you are hesitant to let your child go to school there, LET THEM!! They will love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2009

i am a student at KJH and i have only gone there for a couple months in 8th grade and then my whole 9th grade year and i love it! i moved from out of state from a different school system from having 6 classes a day to having 4 different classes every other day but i got use to it and i made friends and now i love KJH. the teachers are wonderful and awesome and i wish they could come with me to KHS because they have helped me a lot this year in getting good grades and making me have a great freshman year so to all you parents out there KJH is a great school and has great teachers!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2008

I attended Kearns Jr. High from '84-'87 and have sent my oldest two there so far. We don't live in the boundries, but are near enough and with the UTA bus line near by I felt justified putting them on a special permit to attend. The programs are great and the staff helpful and friendly. For the age of the school it is in good repair and I am glad they haven't cut programs like so many of the newer schools have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

KJH is a wonderful school 2008 is the marking of the 51st anniversary..... The new principal Kandace Barber is wonderful she had the school switch to Block Schedule she and the Vice Principals are very involved and very good about keeping the school running to the best of it's abilities....Sure the building isn't the best and the classrooms are made of marble..but the teachers are excellent they help you with anything you ask.....We have awesome counselors that will help you... The school is on a different grading scale though. A B C I an 'I' is incomplete meaning that you have till' the end of the year or term to make up the grade. We get several rewards for grades..like IPOD drawings Movies etc etc Kearns has a fully functional Auditorium with great Stage Crew. The school offers several extra curricular activities. If you want your student to excell visit KJH
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2005

I had one son at KJH and didn't hesitate to get my 12 year enrolled in 7 grade. The teachers and staff are always ready to help and the extra school activities like wrestling and drama kept my son busy and interested on taks that are worthy of his time. You will find good and bad everywhere you go but our experience with KJH has always been on the good side.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2005

I believe kearns junior high is a wonderful school. Yes we had our good and bad students. But what school doesn't!!! We have many great opportunities to learn. The staff is wonderful except for a couple teachers here and there. Sure the building is really old but it is still full of great experiences. The parents are not to involved... you will get a couple parents to help out with the pta and a couple other programs but besides that you dont see many parents hanging around. The former principal of 2004-05 wasn't to involved with the struggles of the school.The vice principals are excellent they put down alot of the discpline. They are really nice but if you get on their bad side then they are not so nice. But they are always understanding and give the students more than a couple opportunities to pull their act together!!! :)
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 15, 2005

I have had good and bad experiences from KJH. The new principal, I am not so sure about. I have another child starting there next year - inly time will tell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I have come to realize that Kearns Jr High is not the best school for my children. my daughter has been bullied, called horrible names by other students, hit and called names by teachers. I feel the administration is not doing everything they can for our students. It is very hard to send my daughter to school everyday because I worry about what will happen that day to her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2004

Kearns Jr. High is a wonderful school with caring people and a great community around it. The Discipline at Kearns is wonderful, the administration is very fair and listens to both sides of a story before they make a decision. The extra-curricular activities at Kearns are great! I'm a current Student Body Officer, and I've noticed that all our programs are wonderfully advised and are just great programs. The teachers are probably the best you'll find they are willing to help you out and talk you through what they are trying to explain, and I like the teachers at Kearns because they all have a different style of teaching. If you were to have to go to this school id say dont worry its a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
59%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 77%
Hispanic 43% 15%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Black 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4040 West 5305 South
Kearns, UT 84118
Phone: (385) 646-5204

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Life Christian Academy
Salt Lake City, UT


Entheos Academy
Kearns, UT


John F. Kennedy Jr High School
West Valley City, UT


Bennion Jr High School
Taylorsville, UT


Grace Baptist School
West Valley City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT