Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kearns Jr High School 5

Posted December 04, 2009
- a student
Kearns Junior High is an excellent school!! I currently attend the 7th grade at the school, and it is an amazing school. Staff and Administration is awesome, there are a few bad students, but all schools have that! There are a great number of students that have straight A's, and that is thanks to the staff. Staff really cares about the students, and they really want to see everyone succeed. They have the A B C I system, the I means you have until the end of the term to make up an assignment or class you failed in a term. The system is amazing. I love KJH. If you are hesitant to let your child go to school there, LET THEM!! They will love it.

Kearns Jr High School 0
no rating

Posted May 25, 2009
- a student
i am a student at KJH and i have only gone there for a couple months in 8th grade and then my whole 9th grade year and i love it! i moved from out of state from a different school system from having 6 classes a day to having 4 different classes every other day but i got use to it and i made friends and now i love KJH. the teachers are wonderful and awesome and i wish they could come with me to KHS because they have helped me a lot this year in getting good grades and making me have a great freshman year so to all you parents out there KJH is a great school and has great teachers!!


Kearns Jr High School 5

Posted April 07, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Kearns Jr High School 5

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Kearns Jr High School 4

Posted December 11, 2008
- a parent
I attended Kearns Jr. High from '84-'87 and have sent my oldest two there so far. We don't live in the boundries, but are near enough and with the UTA bus line near by I felt justified putting them on a special permit to attend. The programs are great and the staff helpful and friendly. For the age of the school it is in good repair and I am glad they haven't cut programs like so many of the newer schools have.


Kearns Jr High School 5

Posted May 22, 2008
- a student
KJH is a wonderful school 2008 is the marking of the 51st anniversary..... The new principal Kandace Barber is wonderful she had the school switch to Block Schedule she and the Vice Principals are very involved and very good about keeping the school running to the best of it's abilities....Sure the building isn't the best and the classrooms are made of marble..but the teachers are excellent they help you with anything you ask.....We have awesome counselors that will help you... The school is on a different grading scale though. A B C I an 'I' is incomplete meaning that you have till' the end of the year or term to make up the grade. We get several rewards for grades..like IPOD drawings Movies etc etc Kearns has a fully functional Auditorium with great Stage Crew. The school offers several extra curricular activities. If you want your student to excell visit KJH

Kearns Jr High School 4

Posted October 22, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Kearns Jr High School 4

Posted August 22, 2005
- a parent
I had one son at KJH and didn't hesitate to get my 12 year enrolled in 7 grade. The teachers and staff are always ready to help and the extra school activities like wrestling and drama kept my son busy and interested on taks that are worthy of his time. You will find good and bad everywhere you go but our experience with KJH has always been on the good side.


Kearns Jr High School 4

Posted June 18, 2005
- a former student
I believe kearns junior high is a wonderful school. Yes we had our good and bad students. But what school doesn't!!! We have many great opportunities to learn. The staff is wonderful except for a couple teachers here and there. Sure the building is really old but it is still full of great experiences. The parents are not to involved... you will get a couple parents to help out with the pta and a couple other programs but besides that you dont see many parents hanging around. The former principal of 2004-05 wasn't to involved with the struggles of the school.The vice principals are excellent they put down alot of the discpline. They are really nice but if you get on their bad side then they are not so nice. But they are always understanding and give the students more than a couple opportunities to pull their act together!!! :)

Kearns Jr High School 4

Posted April 15, 2005
- a parent
I have had good and bad experiences from KJH. The new principal, I am not so sure about. I have another child starting there next year - inly time will tell.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kearns Jr High School
4040 West 5305 South, Kearns, UT  84118
(385) 646-5204
Last modified Kearns Jr High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kearns Jr High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top