Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

722 students|Davis District
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Layton School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
My children started attending Layton Elementary back in 2001. I could not ask for a better school for my kids to go to. The teachers are all amazing and very approachable. The administration is great and very helpful.

Layton School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
Layton has a new administration team leading us to be a better school with better education for our students. With the addition of some more amazing new teachers this year, I think we are heading in the right direction. I think our students and community will see the benefits each year from here on out! I also love that they are no longer serving breakfast in the classrooms!


Layton School 1

Posted September 11, 2012
- a parent
I am not happy with this school. In the last 5 years 3 of my 4 children have attended this school. It seems there is no regard for what the school truely needs & funds are being wasted on a mandatory breakfast & other wasteful things while teachers are begging parents for supplies. The quality of education drops off as the kids advance in grades. it is getting so ridiculous that we are thinking of moving just so my kids could get a better education. Kindergarten & 1st grade teachers are phenomenal, but do not go to Layton Elementary past there.

Layton School 4

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
Our school year started out with a personal visit from Layton Elementary's principal and vice principal, just to get to know us a little better and tell us that we were welcome in either of their offices at any time. As a first-time parent of a school-aged child, I was so pleased with the visit. My son has had some behavior problems in school this year and we have had a very positive experience in getting him the support he needs to overcome those problems. Academically, I've been very pleased with the rate at which he is learning and the variety of projects he brings home to reinforce the concepts being taught. There are 22 children in his kindergarten class and I have no complaints at all about his teacher. So far, we love Layton Elementary!

Layton School
no rating

Posted April 05, 2010
- a community member
Layton Elementary provides basic academics, but no meaningful extended academic programs. We have sent 4 children to school at Layton and noticed a widely varying degree of teacher quality, with many of the most-qualified teachers going to other schools, retiring, or soon-to-be retiring. We volunteered to provide additional art education for grades 3-6 because no extended out-program was available, and the students were not being served by the classroom teachers. In some grades/classes parents are very involved, but in others there is very little parental activity. The principal does an outstanding job with what he has, but the school is under-funded and not as well-staffed as many surrounding schools. Students with special needs are often not properly served (not solely in this school, but district-wide), though the principal goes above-and-beyond to do whatever he personally can to help these children


Layton School
no rating

Posted August 16, 2008
- a parent
My entire family has had a horrific experience at Layton Elementary!!! Several other parents I've talked to have had problems as well, especially with the principal! In fact, the entire office staff and some teachers have treated us very poorly. My children and my family deserve better! My children will no longer be attending this school. Despite a few good reviews on this school, I can't imagine anyone having a good experience at Layton Elementary!

Layton School 5

Posted July 26, 2008
- a parent
Simply put by far the best principal & teachers my kids have ever had. I wish my older kids would have had the same quality educational experience as my younger. I assure you this school is a wonderful blessing in my life thank you.

Layton School 2

Posted March 02, 2007
- a parent
Layton Elementary provides basic academics, but no meaningful extended academic programs. We have sent 4 children to school at Layton and noticed a widely varying degree of teacher quality, with many of the most-qualified teachers going to other schools, retiring, or soon-to-be retiring. We volunteered to provide additional art education for grades 3-6 because no extended out-program was available, and the students were not being served by the classroom teachers. In some grades/classes parents are very involved, but in others there is very little parental activity. The principal does an outstanding job with what he has, but the school is under-funded and not as well-staffed as many surrounding schools. Students with special needs are often not properly served (not solely in this school, but district-wide), though the principal goes above-and-beyond to do whatever he personally can to help these children.


Layton School 5

Posted August 21, 2006
- a parent
The principle at Layton Elementary has made a big difference in my children s education. My oldest daughter participated in the reflections contest last year and came in 3rd place. I went from having a child that was unsure of herself to a child that could not wait to do another project. Their team has worked very hard in making sure that the parents and teachers are on the same page. They are also not shy in making sure that in order for a child to succeed that the parents need to be involved. Both my children entered this school with a below average reading scores. They finished this last year with an average and above average score.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Layton School
369 West Gentile, Layton, UT  84041
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (801) 402-3500
Last modified Layton School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top