Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Layton Junior High School

Public | 7-9 | 975 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2013

Absolutely worst school I have ever had my children attend. our children are allowed to fail every class with out getting punishment by the school or teachers. They do not make sure education is first they focus on religion and allowing the students to "go off campus" to the church even though they said kids are not allowed off campus. My son and daughter where told by numerous students that if they read the bible in class like the other kids did that god would save them. Big thing is that you have to pay to register your child to go to school and its $90 then every class your child is in there is a fee and the district and school charge parents for the same stuff so they double dip. You pay a transportation fee, special education fee, general fees, book rental fees and you pay twice once to the district and once to the school oh and a school directory fee and a fund raising fee. Even if your children dont use any of those you still have to pay and the fees get more expensive when your child gets to high school here in Utah. Please do not send your kids to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

I know a lot of people don't like the uniform but it makes me feel like my kids are safe and focused on learning. To the people who complain about being sent to the office for wearing the wrong color...don't wear the wrong color and you will have all of the positive attention and help that you will need. I love the free after school opportunities like tutoring, free computer lab use, and now they even have a 4:30 bus so that my kids can stay longer to get more help when they need it. This year the school got a bunch of student iPads and my kids come home so excited about what they are learning and doing in school. I can't afford to buy my kids an iPad so I'm so happy that they get to use the best technology at school. Not sure about the screaming comment that was made earlier. I volunteer at the school once a week and I think the students are more well behaved than other schools we have attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

I am the youngest of three. My siblings went to nljh. I'm not going to lie, we all hated it. Uniforms? I mean come on! No other school in the district has uniforms. My family doesn't have a lot of money, to go buy me two wardrobes. One uniform and another for after school. A pair of Kaki pants are at least $20-$25 at old navy. On the last week of my 9th grade year I got sent down to ISS for wearing a uniform colored cardigan. My teachers throughout the whole year told me it was okay. The principal sent me to ISS to change instead of letting me go back to class. My mother had to come check me out of school so I could go home and change. The only good thing about that school is a few teachers. Made a lot of friends though.


Posted May 20, 2013

I really don't mind the dress code, but it is a joke when there are bigger problems. I see the benefit in having a student body dressed to look a little more professional than they would otherwise, but when the students are allowed to run around, scream and screech in the school, and act like they've never had a lesson in public behavior, the dress code seems silly. If you are a military family transferring in, in the middle of the year, I would think about homeschooling just until the next year. Unless you're able to secure your child a spot in another school, that is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

This school is terrible. they care more about what we wear than how we are doing with our classes. I was confronted about my grey button up shirt and how it wasn't the right color. If they got rid of the dress code then the teachers would focus more on helping the students with any struggles that they have. I had straight A's in the first semester but now since i don't get any help at all from any of the teachers i am failing every class that i am taking. they need to start helping the students out more. worst three years of my life.


Posted March 28, 2012

Its a horrible school. They do not even care if your child is failing their classes they are to concerned about the uniform. I think the uniform is very stupid and they should just get rid of it. I am even thinking about moving my son to central davis junior high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

North Layton Junior High is a mess. I am one of many parents who have openly discussed our bad experiences with the school during the three years our children attended. One parent even withdrew her child to home school her because of how bad it is. They are more concerned with what shade of green your child wears to school than if they are failing a class. There is NO communication to parents, the administration treats students like prisoners and are outwardly unprofessional when speaking with parents. I am hoping like crazy that another school opens or that NLJH has been revamped before my 2nd grader reaches 7th grade..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

Horrible school. Parents need to step up and confront school board to make changes. Uniform rules and policies are beyond silly, no one cares if your child is failing, and there are no other options for kids in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

I received calls when my kid wasn't wearing the right shade of color in her uniform, but NEVER got a call when she was struggling in her classes. Junior high is a big transitional period and kids often struggle. NLJH is an environment that makes this period even worse. Students are told that their grades don't count against them until they are in 9th grade, the staff never communicates with parents, and unless you are a family that is known well by the staff, you are dismissed and no one cares at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2011

What a great school! I have 2 kids attending this school. One with special needs, one on the honor roll. The teachers were very supportive, the office staff is very nice and helpful, and the principal, Mrs. Ashton, is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2011

This school has a lot of fun clubs and after school activities. It seems like almost every day on the announcements they tell us about a new club, from Writing, to Science Olympiad, to Magic the Gathering, a card game. These clubs help to really get the students involved in school, which makes the school good.


Posted September 29, 2010

Having uniforms was okay but trying to find clothes that fit it was very difficult since it is color-code not set clothes. There were a few teachers that really ruined the 9th grade for my child. Very nit-picky about her clothes but letting others get away with the same colors/styles. Some teachers were split teaching at two or three other schools in the district so there were many days that they wouldn't show up to teach their class until it was nearly over. At least twice a week anyway. Was very disappointed with parent/teacher contact as well. Office clerks were very short and snippy too. Overall... there are much better schools out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

My boys attend this school and we have experienced excellent teacher involvement, faculty and principal support and outstanding safety and discipline measures are always followed and maintained.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2009

I really think it's not a smart idea to put the 9th grade with a 7th and 8th. My son and daughter have both had to go through this school and didn't like it at all. Horrible programs and no sports are available for them to play.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

This school is horrible. The teachers did not help me at all and the principal is creepy. No one she ever attend this school. IF you want a horrible 3 years send your child here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2008

My daughter attends this school on a varience. It has excellent programs and helps students adjust to Junior High by realizing the potential and not placing a focus on the negative. They know all of the students by name and treat them with respect. The teachers are great and the administration acts like they enjoy their jobs and want to be there. It is worth the drive every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

I think this is a good school and a good learning environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2007

I am currently going to this school, and I LOVE IT! The teachers are great and are willing to stay after school and help you with anything. The Principle is really nice, he gets know everyone in the school. The after school activities are really great like scrapbooking,track, basketball, book clubs etc... We wear uniforms, I think it unifies the school. The consolers are really great! They really help you with your grades when there down, and when you need to talk they are there to talk. This school is really great I recommend it!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 78%
Hispanic 15% 15%
Asian 3% 2%
Black 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A38%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 West 2000 North
Layton, UT 84041
Phone: (801) 402-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Trident School
Layton, UT







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT