Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Layton Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 49 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Layton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2014

The 2013 - 2014 school year is our first at LCA, and I could not have asked for a better place for my daughter. LCA is a very loving and caring environment - the teachers view themselves as part of a ministry, so they are content to teach for less money than they would make at a private school. Frankly, the people who complain about tuition costs haven't investigated many high-quality private, Christian schools lately. LCA's tuition is about HALF of what one would pay anywhere else. The school does ask for donations from parents, and offers fun programs like paying $29 dollars per year for a jeans-and-tee-shirts day every few weeks. LCA does this to help raise money for the teachers to supplement their already pathetically low salaries. I, for one, am perfectly happy to support the teachers in this manner. Everything is OPTIONAL, and never once have I or my daughter felt pressured to participate. As a practicing Christian in an otherwise Mormon community, I couldn't imagine a better place for my children. To the person complaining about the dress code, let me just say that it is a huge relief to the kids not to have to conform to peer pressure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2013

We felt very excited to have the opportunity to start a private school. I had 3 children that started LCA since preschool up to elementary. But come 2011-12 school year, everything went south. Tuition sky rocked, fees went up, charges for random things sneaked in, extra donation money always be asked for at least every other month. Then came questions and concerns about the teachers and students. Teachers were over worked and under paid in order to put money towards the building costs. Some teachers weren't teaching and too busy yelling at students and treating childrens disrespectfully. Students behavior started becoming out of hand and inappropriate, foul language used left and right, (including by a couple of the teachers at the students). The response was to "look the other way". This seems inexcuable for a private CHRISTIAN school where values and discipiline should be encouraged. If there was ever questions or concerns, the administration seemed uninterested, brushed it aside, said "There isn't anything we can do", or just were really unfriendly. I would not reccommend LCA. You're better off saving your money for college rather than wasting it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2012

Our kids started at LCA last year in 2nd & 3rd grades. We moved from out of state and were unhappy with the large class sizes in the public schools. They had a good first year at LCA and we have enrolled them again for this coming year. I agree, the fundraising is excessive and they put the stress on the kids, not the parents, which I don't agree with. The teachers have been amazing and that along with the Bible study, are the reasons we stay. The Principal is fantastic, but I agree the overall Administration/Office Staff come across rude, and seems to have no clue when it comes to customer service. If enrollment is important to them, you wouldn't know it by their actions. Enrollment has dropped considerably for the 12-13 year so maybe they will do some self reflection.. But the way we see it, the teachers are who our kids deal with and they have been fantastic. So if we have to deal with rude Administration then that's something we are willing to do. Overall, considering the few options here in Northern Utah, we are happy with LCA. However, if the drop in enrollment negatively effects the student to teacher ratio we will end up looking for another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

@ the person who commented about the "mandatory" cheer pictures. You know as well as I do that the Team Hazen pictures were completely optional and done in good taste. Bell pictures were also available later in the year; these did not include hair and makeup and were more affordable. If you're going to complain about something, get your facts straight. I take great pride in how I ran that program and always had my girls' best interest at heart. -Coach Buck


Posted March 21, 2012

Our family has been very happy at this school. We are a military family and it is our fourth elementary school in the past six years. The teachers are wonderful & truly care about & invest in our children..... this is easy to do with the smaller class sizes - no more than 20, so we love the one on one attention they get as well as how well the teachers know each child and can easily handle any problems as they arise. LOVE it and feel you cannot go wrong with a Christian education!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2011

First year at this school and so far not a fan. While I love the learning environment they rpovide, I am SICK of the fundraising. Every other week the school is asking for money in addition to the tuition. If you are involved in extra cirricular activities it is even worse. $60 for mandatory cheerleading photos where 3rd graders get their hair and makeup done. Are you kidding me? As a Christian school I would think that they would let little girls be little girls. Overall....dislike.


Posted October 27, 2011

I would give this a higher rating due to the amazing caliber of the teachers, however the administration ruins any descent rating for the academy. There level of customer service is worse than what you would expect at a Wal mart. They are notorious for nickel and diming through fundraiser's all year long. I would rather pay an extra 1000.00 in tuition yearly and not deal with constant nagging on my child to bring money for every other week fundraiser's. Our two girls attended LCA and our oldest, 7 years old, eventually stressed about having dollars to get bracelets or to be able to get brownies during fundraiser's. Our dealings with administration there were unprofessional to say the least. For a business that thrives on numbers they appear to be in no hurry to smile and be kind when you have a concern. They are defensive in nature and rude. I would highly recommend taking your child somewhere else to avoid having to tolerate the administration at this school. At least until they take a few lessons in customer service. Its business basics but they missed that class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

This is the best school ever..... i am a student here and I am so glad to get to go to this school.... I suggest it to everyone who is looking for a good, christian school.


Posted January 16, 2011

In the two years my son has been attending LCA it has been a great experience. The academics seem to be above that of a public school. A good example is they start a second language in Kindergarten and have a option for a 3rd in 5-6th grade. This in itself is not a reason to pay for a private school but it is a good start. The staff is very open and communicates with you on a regular basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

Layton christian Academy is the best school i have ever went to compared to the public school this is my freshman year and i will continue going there to i graduate in year2012. MR. Hembrock is a very nice principal and a teacher
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2009

My kids have been blessed with the opportunity to attend LCA since they were in preschool. My oldest son is in high school and my youngest in 6th grade. I taught in public school for 6 years and although I loved it, the class sizes were more than I could take. I also watch my children grow in their faith with God as well as an enrichment curriculum. After six years of teaching in the public school, I wanted to be a part of LCA. I wouldn't change a thing. I will not go back to public. Academics are always a question for new incoming families. My oldest son took the ACT when he finished his 8th grade year and received a composite of 20. That is the national average for graduating seniors. He took it this year and he received a 28. That should tell it all.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 27, 2008

Awesome school, My kids are in the emementary and preschool. Their teachers are awesome. Mrs. Filer is the best! This summer my son could not stop talking about going back to LCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2008

Wonderful school, with a great summer program as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

LCA is alright.. It is easy to make friends. Everyone is so nice and stuff. Uh..some of the classes are kind of too easy. OH.. and they are very expensive. Its not even funny how expensive they are... Golly Gee. The teachers are nice. Sometimes I think they pick favorites. More than half of them have very great teaching abilities. I like this school.. but I think I will be staying there until I graduate.. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2008

i am currently attending LCA. i have been there for 10 years and this comming school year will be my 11th. i am proud to say that this school has helped me in so many ways u cnat even imagine. it is nice to to only honor and respect your teachers but be able to lean on them when u need it the most. this school has been like my home of the last 10 years of my life, there wasnt ever a moment in my 10 years that i have said that i wanted to go to a different school. i would highly recomend this school to everyone. there isnt really a thing that i could say that is bad about LCA school except the some small money issues but they were well worth it. also great sports progam 1A champs!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2008

My son went to prechool here. We never received any feedback & when I spoke to other parents, they had the same issue. The academics were lacking. The accounting is also messed up - I would get bills even when the account is set up on auto pay...the school will nickel and dime you. I was so disappointed as my niece went here years before and had a terrific teacher. The Extended Care teacher was well organized. I had every intention of sending my child to kindergarten here - luckily my child also went to public preschool and could not stop talking about the stuff he learned. I think if you are an athlete and in high school, this might be the school. As far as Christian principles, I wanted my son to go here - but academically, it just is not the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

What a joke, waste of money, each year the price goes up by $400.00, and nothing to show for it, but paying for sports team that never win...keep your money...it is not worth it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

I love teaching at LCA! I have been teaching for over 20 years and I have never been in such a great place! The dedication to providing a quality education is amazing! My grandchildren will all attend LCA because the great family atmosphere! The materials I have been provided with are the best money can buy! My students are the most welcoming and friendly student body I have ever worked with! Every year as I watch seniors graduate it makes me happy to know what great contributions they will make to the world they live in!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 24, 2007

I graduated from Layton Christian in may of 2007. The years I had at LCA were the best of my life! I was involved in Speech and debate drama and student government. My old teachers were so good to me and Greg and Karen Miller are truly the most wonderful people in the state! My dream is to graduate from college and return to teach at LCA and impact students lives as others did mine. When I was at LCA we won Boys basketball, Cheerleading, and Speech and debate state championships. LCA is not just focused on excelling in sports it dedicated to every activity it provides for students!


Posted July 22, 2007

I attended LCA for 9 years and was finally lucky enough to get out! In the beginning the school was fantastic but as the years progressed it seemed as though my school had become obsessed with one thing, wining state basketball coach Porter was brought in and while he has impacted the school in a few positive ways the school went down hill when we began recruiting basket ball players. Now while not all is bad unless you are really interested in sports perhaps LCA is not the school for you.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 77%
Black 13% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 2%
Hispanic 8% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Volunteer of the Year Award (2003)
  • State Speech & Debate Champs 3 years (2004)
  • WSU Black History Bowl Champs (2004)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 830 am
School end time
  • 330 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Greg Miller
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACTS
Fax number
  • (801) 771-0170

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Weekly visits to local nursing home annual community-wide clean up project annual overseas missions trips
More from this school
  • Over 60 religious denominations are presented in our student body. Diverse student and faculty - Ethnic make up - 68% Caucasian 18% African American 7% Hispanic 5% Asian
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2352 Highway 193
Layton, UT 84040
Website: Click here
Phone: (801) 771-7141

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Adams School
Layton, UT



East Layton School
East Layton, UT


South Weber School
South Weber, UT


King School
Layton, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT