Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Midvale Middle School

Public | 7-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2012

My 12 year old son attends this school. I have not notice a difference in the APLS students and the "boundary" kids (like stated in other comments). My son feels very safe at this school and enjoys the students and teachers. One time there was an incident in a class with my son and I was contacted personally by the teacher not the front office or an assistant. I believe the teachers hold very high standards for the students acheiving the test scores that they do. I dont think the test scores are supported by the ALPS Program. I feel the comments about the APLS Kids being stuck up come a lot from the parents teaching their kids that they are better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2011

I attended this school a few years ago and while I liked the teachers, I felt that there was too much of a focus on the ALPS program. I am not saying that I do not like the idea of the ALPS program, I am just saying that their is a clear divide between the ALPS and zone kids. The ALPS kids were somewhat stuck up and many acted like we were scum beneath their feet. Sadly, the school did little to remedy this and in many cases seemed to encourage the superiority complex. I have now graduated with honors and have recieved three scholarships while some of those kids did not even graduate.


Posted February 28, 2011

DO NOT BELIEVE ANY POSITIVE RATINGS ABOUT THIS SCHOOL. IT IS FULL OF UNDERACHIEVERS. THE WORST SCHOOL MY (STRAIGHT A )CHILDEREN HAVE EVER ATTENDED. THEY WERE ENROLLED IN ALL HONORS COURSES,....WHAT A JOKE. AVOID THIS SCHOOL AT ALL COSTS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

Excellent ALPS teachers. Love the small student body in a big, empty facility, but the students are completely divided: ALPS and boundary kids. I believe the test scores are skewed because of it. If your kids are in ALPS, you can expect much higher scores. My 2 daughters loved the ALPS classes, but PE, CTE, and time in the halls was rough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2010

I am a student at Midvale Middle School. I love this school and its a shame that im going to have to leave everything after this year. I love all the teachers and everyone else who works there(:


Posted June 2, 2010

In our opinion the ALPS program is great. The ALPS students are great kids and developed wonderful relationships with each another. Principle Logan is very professional, helpful, caring, We found that the Utah Studies teacher showed regional preferences and conveyed these attitudes toward the students. Considering the disproportionate number of students that are not originally from Utah this seemed to not be beneficial and takes away from the ALPS program. Unfortunately the ALPS program involved only 2 of 7 classes. The general population of Midvale Middle School does have some serious behavior and discipline problems. The bullying that took place between classes, after school, and in the 5 classes not in the ALPS program became so unbearable and caused so much distraction that we had to move our daughter to a different school in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I am a student at this school. The teachers are great, most of them, and I love the principal!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2009

I love it at midvale! I love my friends and i guess it all depends on the classes you take. I recomend taking challenging classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2009

I love this school! They seem to try to make things confusing and complicated and it seems like they are trying to initiate students into the complicated real world. The teachers are very different but it makes class more entertaining so you learn more in your 46 minute period.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2009

My child loves this school! At first I wasn't so sure from things I have heard about this school it sounds horrible, but really, it's a great school! My son went to Albion Middle School before this and my son disliked it a lot. And to see him love his school makes everything worth while.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

The teachers are a cut above the average, the ALPS program is excellent, and I feel the regular students get to benifit from the Alps teachers and the Alps students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

Despite not having any sports teams, I feel that Midvale is a good school for those students in the ALPS program. It still offers many good opportunities for extracurricular activities. One big problem is that I don't feel that the teachers (in ALPS or not) necessarily have what's best for the student in mind all the time. Still I feel that ALPS is a great program and that no matter what type of kid you have they can fit in at Midvale and be happy with their Middle School experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2007

Midvale is a good school, the ALPs program is challenging. This helps the kids learn faster, and plus it is fun for them. The teachers are really great; they really help the students. There are a few extracurricular activites, band, science olympiad, and math counts, but there is no sports team.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2005

There is ALPS (advanced learning program for students) program. It's more like one-year advanced,. For example, 7th graders learned 8th grader's courses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2005

My son is approaching his 3rd and final year at MMS and I have been nothing but pleased with his and my experience. My son attended private school for his first 7 years of schooling. The MMS ALPS program is better than any private schooling he had received. Very Pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

I would send my child to this school. My son currently attends and does very well. He attend last year and is currently in the 8th grade. He is in a program called ALPS and it has given him the opportunities he needs for academic advancement prior to High School. I think there can be negative influences in school that young teens can encounter, however it is how each individual deals with those situations that determines their outcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2005

I do not suggest sending your child to this school. It would be best to find an alternative. In attending this school my child's grade point average went from a 4.0 to a 2.5. The influnces of the kids attending were not positive on my child. I could not believe the behaviors of some of these kids!I am not trying to bash this school, but if you wish your child to have a good academic perfomance, Midvale Middle is not a school I would suggest.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
23%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
57%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7852 South Pioneer St
Midvale, UT 84047
Phone: (801) 412-2150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT