Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Midvalley School

Public | K-5 | 560 students

Our school is best known for great teachers & involved parents.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2013

My kids love this school! I'm impressed with the faculty's drive to go above and beyond to help my little ones improve regardless of their abilities--I see that in the classroom when I'm there too. As a former educator, I've seen lots of teachers in action and what I like here is that each student is challenged to improve in schoolwork and behavior and it seems they secure neat-o programs to boost smaller group time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

Our family has enjoyed a mix of competent and dedicated teachers, diverse families, an amazing PTA and admin., and we love the growth in our kiddos. Glad to be here and we stayed even though our official school boundaries just switched!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

I moved my children to Midvalley after the boundary shift this year and we LOVE it! Great community involvement and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2013

Outdated reviews, begone. BULLYING-On a daily basis the new administration, teachers, and PTA seem committed to a positive learning environment, free from bullying behaviors I've read about. The district also reports the incidences of discipline referrals are way down. ENVIRONMENT/BUILDING-Every year my students come home excited to share the new technology and school upgrades and the bldg. has cooling units now too. When is a bond going to kick in for a rebuild though, the place is OLD? TEST SCORES-Although having Title I $ would be amazing for the kids, this community doesn't qualify. They seem to pinch every penny to make sure funds are used wisely. "Most bang for their buck" approach. Test scores are up and close to district goals. New, rigorous, district materials in math and reading should help too. IMO, schools with slightly lower scores seem more motivated to improve anyway...not always such a bad thing. PARENT INVOLVEMENT-The PTA is super involved. Those moms are there almost every day all day. Compared to other school we've been at, this PTA seems to rally around the idea that "more is more".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2013

I have kids aged 24-3. 5 out of the 6 have attended or are attending the school and I have never had any concerns. We have a very active PTA that is always striving to improve things for our students. We have a new principal, I believe this is his 3rd year, that the kids love. He is very active in promoting a non-bullying program and to have the kids see their inner value and how they can make a difference. The curriculum has changed also in the past 2 years with the new district implemented guidelines. It is outlined at the beginning of the school year. I also know that I can go to the school or call and talk with any of the teachers if I feel there is a problem. As for the appearance, please remember the school is over 50 yrs old. They installed new evaporative coolers this year which is a huge improvement. They have also worked on other cosmetic issues that are within their means.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2011

I attended this school several year ago for 4-6th grade. My family moved a lot as was a requisite for my fathers work and it was surely one of the worst schools I have ever attended. The neighborhood surrounding the school is very run down and their was a huge bullying problem at the school. According to other reviews, there still is. The principal then did not do anything about it either and even when teachers witnessed bullying they did not do anything about it unless someone went to the hospital. A few years ago my husband and I were looking for houses and there was a very reasonably priced one that had just been remodeled not too far from the school. We seriously looked at it but when I realized that it was in this schools boundaries, we passed- especially after seeing that many of the same teachers are still there. We ended up buying a home in west Jordan, which was more expensive but well worth the cost as my daughter is in a far better school.


Posted July 7, 2009

My child attended this school for a few years because it was our neighborhood school. After a few years we were completely fed up with the facilities, the principal, and some less-than-motivated teachers. We transferred to another school and the difference between the two has been night and day. Maybe things will improve with the district split, but that is doubtful. The school needs to be renovated, the classrooms need air conditioning, and the principal needs to work with the teachers and parents rather than attempting to be the monarch of the school. On a positive note, if you want your children to have an easy, slow time of it, this school would more than qualify.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2008

My husband and four children have attended or currently attend Midvalley. The PTA and most teachers are very good especially with limited resources. I have been disappointed with the principal; she seems unwilling to take a firm stand on bullying behaviors. Several of my children have been the victims of bullying by other students, which is unacceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2005

My children have attended Midvalley for three years, and my experience has been nothing but positive. The school has an active PTA and a 'hands on' pricipal. I have been pleased with the discipline/reward program, which is clearly spelled out so the children understand exactly what is expected of them. The school also has a wonderful reading incentive program. I was also asked to leave for a few moments during my childrens' kindergarten eval, so the teacher could establish emotional readiness for school and test without my 'hovering'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2004

I'd say this is school is iffy at best. My daughter is starting school here next week and I am uncomfortable because the teacher who was doing the k screening was evasive when I'd ask her questions concerning my child and she even tried to get me to leave the room midway through the screening. I am already looking into transfering.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2003

The class sizes are high, but the faculty and staff are incredible. They are very will organized and have good discipline / reward programs. The teachers are top notch showing enthusiasm, commitment and a general love for the students. I have three children in this school and they are all excelling.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:55 am
School end time
  • 3:35 am
School Leader's name
  • Jeff Nalwalker
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Union Middle School
Hillcrest High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

217 East 7800 South
Midvale, UT 84047
Website: Click here
Phone: (801) 826-8800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Midvalley School
Midvale, UT


New Tyme
Midvale, UT


Midvale School
Midvale, UT


Rivers Edge School
South Jordan, UT


Midvale School
Midvale, UT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT