Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Murray High School 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
I went to Murray High as well as all my children. Four went on to BYU and 1 went to University of Utah. Some were able to get scholarships to help them through college. The great thing about Murray High is that the children all grow up together ---through the community sports programs and other things. The elementary schools feed into the 2 Junior High school and then they all go to the one high school. It enables the children and parents to know each other by the time they are in high school. There is a great sense of community and the kids are generally very nice and well behaved. Our family has had a great experience at Murray High. They all have good jobs now and are well adjusted, respectful kids just like those they went to school with.

Murray High School 5

Posted July 16, 2013
- a community member
As someone who has been attending Murray schools my entire life, I feel that I have an accurate knowledge of the ongoings of Murray High. MHS is a really small high school compared to others in the valley. It's a beautiful building and most of the teachers are fun, entertaining, and helpful in the classroom, which is a bonus for students AND parents. There is a wide arrangement of AP and Concurrent Enrollment classes offered. MHS is also very highly involved in performing arts and extra curricular activities. The administration was recently changed abiut two years ago and some think the school is still adjusting to this change. Overall, Murray is the safest and most well-rounded high school in the Salt Lake Valley and I recommend parents seriously consider it for their students.


Murray High School 5

Posted March 15, 2011
- a parent
As a graduate of and parent of current student, I have a great respect for this school. Murray High School offers its students the means to accomplish more then just your standard education, they offer life skills and social development. Clubs, Athletics, Mentoring, Internships and community involvement enhance the overall experience. Not only are the students and parents fully involved, but the community as a whole. The ability to keep our schools outside the Mega-Districts has assured our kids an education by allowing funding to stay in our schools and go towards the needs of the children, staff and buildings. I would not want my children to attend another school.

Murray High School 4

Posted October 03, 2010
- a student
Murray High is a great school. There is a wide variety of classes, including AP and concurrent enrollment classes, and a decent amount of clubs. The student government has been very strong, but the administration is lacking and often leaves you running around in circles trying to get something done. The office staff is super helpful though. The majority of teachers are great and are very passionate about what they teach; however, you will definitely run into at least one teacher who is not on par with the rest of the staff. One big issue has been enforcement of policies, though. The dress code is not strictly enforced (except for wearing hats in school). The attendance and U policies are very strict, supposedly to encourage students to make a better effort to attend classes and not misbehave, but it mostly just frustrates students into transferring to a different school.

Murray High School 3

Posted February 22, 2010
- a parent
Great funding, facility and parental / PTA support. Wide range of faculty from mediocre to above average. The counseling department is wonderful. The administration is below average. Student body very cliquish, high pregnancy rate.


Murray High School 5

Posted December 16, 2008
- a parent
The school is an amazing school. The city of Murray has remained independent of the rest of the valley, so has the school district. As a result of that it is free from the problems the other mega districts are facing. They can use the funding for their own students and not have to ship their money to other high schools like the other school districts do. Academically they offer a wide variety of courses. A full share of AP courses is complemented by a lot of concurrent enrollment classes where students earn college credit at the high school They also offer off campus opportunities for the students to take technical training classes. The administration is very caring and very involved. Parents are also highly involved in this school As a result of that there is not much problem at the school. No gang or drug problems.

Murray High School 5

Posted May 10, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Murray High School 5

Posted March 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Murray High School 5

Posted February 29, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Murray High School 4

Posted November 25, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Murray High School
5440 South State, Murray, UT  84107
(801) 264-7460
Last modified Murray High School is a Public school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Murray High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top