Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Public charter
Ogden, UT
Students enrolled: 911
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Davinci Academy 1

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
This school is very subpar if your child is hyper active or has any kind of learning disabilities. The faculty are only looking for the best and brightest students so they don't have to do the hard work involved with teaching. It also makes the school look better since those are the only students that they show off to the public. They need a more strict curriculum and need to enforce their anit - bullying policy since they absolutely refuse to do anything about it. My child reported being bullied there and they turned it around on her and said my child was doing all the bullying. They just didn't want the black eye in the media. The faculty are grossly incompetent and have no clue how to do their jobs educating children but they do know how to sell DaVinci Academy ' s image. If you don't mind letting your child go to a school that alloys it's students to sing and dance in the hall in the name of art instead of studying then this is the school for your children.

Davinci Academy 5

Posted March 12, 2015
- a parent
Davinci is a wonderful school with a great staff being led by a FANTASTIC Principle. The students are eclectic and unique and all treat each other with dignity and respect. There is very little to NO bullying and all the theater kids are the "cool kids" unlike most schools where its only about cheerleading and sports. ALL the kids seem to get along and help when one struggles. My oldest daughter went from struggling in school to a high honor roll student taking AP classes and my youngest very gifted child went from a gifted program she disliked and found boring, to being fully engaged with tons of challenges and friends. This mom couldn't be more happy with Davinci Academy. The kids here love you based on your kindness and talents not your religion or outfits.


Davinci Academy 5

Posted July 26, 2013
- a community member
It's a really good school and the classes have a small amount of students allowing more one on one time between the student and teacher.We have a very good band,orchestra,theater,etc. Our science groups are amazing also the robotics club:)

Davinci Academy 5

Posted May 21, 2013
- a community member
This is my second year at DaVinci, and it has been positively amazing. This school is only growing in excellence. If any kids are having a truly terrible time with either middle school or high school, they NEED to go here. There is literally no bullying and everyone, especially struggling students, are given attention. The theatre program has grown immensely and kids are given huge opportunities. This is the best school I've ever gone to.

Davinci Academy 5

Posted May 23, 2011
- a student
This school is amazing. The connection between the teachers and us students is amazing. They truly care about your success. Seeing a student who is failing a class will instantly spawn a group of both peer and teacher tutors to help. They have so many different classes (Both A.P. and honors and normal level) and have a deal with Weber State for ATC and classes to gain college credits. The faculty, Board of Directors, Principals, and the student body all work together. The school has amazing art classes including Performing Arts and Music and the one of the best Science divisions in Northern Utah. This is my third year as a student and deciding to come here was one of the best choices I've ever made.


Davinci Academy 4

Posted March 11, 2011
- a parent
This school is really working hard both for their students and their community. As they add to the grades and complete the facility, I frimly believe that they will consistently rank as one of Utah's best educational locations. I am confident in this as they have a good foundation going for them now. The school works with their students in a manner where provided the student has even a small interest in his/her own success then, they will achieve some level of that success. In my interactions with the faculty, I have been pleased with only a minor complaint with how the communication system between parents and struggling students needs to be maintained at all times. Administratively, I admire what they are working to do. Student body wise, I can recommend this location to anyone who is seeking a structured program that is designed to push their child to excel. Keep up the good work and good luck in the future. (if we were not moving, we would still have at least one of our children here)

Davinci Academy
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
I with my daughter are completing the first year in DASA and have found the experience one that was unforgettable. The low student/teacher ratio is favorable thing for students to receive individual attention. The administration and board are at times not working well for the betterment of the teaching process but that's continually evolving into better outcomes as the year with the adding of two grade levels concludes. There are exceptionally devoted professional educators offering the students their best efforts to instill a love of learning at this charter school. Although the enrolled students are not offered PE facility presently, construction of a campus gymnasium for the coming year will make that situation different in 2010-11 school year. Professional development of staff is recognized as important for DASA's mission to be accomplished. Lunchroom staff are largely providing both faculty/staff with well balanced school lunches each school day.

Davinci Academy
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
Excellent teachers. They let your kids shine and truly understand adolescents.


Davinci Academy
no rating

Posted March 13, 2010
- a parent
As a DaVinci parent of one child who graduated from DaVinci (he was offered scholarships at multiple top colleges) and a second is going there now, I have been pretty satisfied. DaVinci provides a level of rigor but also the space for my kids to find their interest and passion in education. It invites active participation by parents at any level they can engage. The teachers are there because they want to be and are committed to students. The school is trying to be innovative -- from project-based learning curriculum, alternative schedules, core interdisciplinary classes etc. Some of it works some doesn't but I appreciate the attempt.

Davinci Academy 4

Posted March 12, 2010
- a parent
We are very impressed with the education my 7th grade son has been receiving this year. They are especially known for their math & science, but all areas of academics have been really strong. (Note: for the 09/10 school year, the school expanded to include grades 7 & 8, and they have plans to include younger grades in the future). The administration of the school seems somewhat disorganized, but overall it's been a very good school for our son.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Davinci Academy
2033 Grant Ave, Ogden, UT  84401
(801) 409-0700
Last modified Davinci Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Davinci Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top